We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD CLEAN HOTEL - GREAT VIEWS - WE LOVED IT !”
Review of Club Aquarium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Aquarium
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Firstly. The rooms really arent that small. I expected to be squeezing around sofa beds etc but it really isnt that bad at all. - Plenty of room for myself,my Wife and 2 kids aged 12 and 7. The hill up to the hotel is not a hill - its a gentle slope and nothing much either.
I heard that the higher rooms had a better view of the Town so 1 week before we went I phoned the hotel and asked if I could get a room on the top floor. Receptionist named Boulent said he would try his best. upon arrival Boulent wasnt there but he had arranged for us to get a top floor in the middle of the Hotel and the views were amazing. Even the 2nd floor would have done. The Hotel is really nice and clean. rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed daily too. The Bathroom is fully tiled and quite modern. There are two armchair sofa beds in the living room and 2 single beds in the good sized bedroom (armchairs are in front of the air conditioner which was great!! We had to get up between 6.45 and 7.45 every morning to get a sunbed, it was a bit ridiculous but in the height of the school holidays what can you do. Some days were worse than others but we always managed to get 4 together. The walk into town was nice. through the residential houses in front of the hotel and down the main road toward town. 5 minutes walk and you arrive at the first supermarket on your left, one minute past that and you come to the first restaurant called De-ja-vu. We never ate there but it always looked busy later at night. another 5 minutes and you come to the main street with more restaurants, keep heading away from the Hotel and more streets all full of places to eat and shops. Everything from the Beach back is in blocks and every road and back street has places to eat you really will be spoilt for choice and the place is very safe to walk at night no matter where you are. Everywhere had nice food and if you go in about 8pm and sit after your meal you will catch the shows which most restaurants have (start around 10pm) usually a visiting act doing the rounds. eg Michael Jackson, Robot Dancer, Bar jugglers etc. really nice to sit with a drink after your meal and be entertained. So about a 20 minute walk from beach to Hotel but with plenty of shops etc to look t along the way. A taxi back to the hotel is 8 lira.
The hotel gives you a velcro wristband which you credit with money and use in the hotel shop or at the bar. we got two to start off with but changed back to one. if the kids or wife wanted to use it they just shared the same one. a decent sized cooked english brekky was 5 lira in the hotel and a pint of Efes was 4 lira. A large Coke was just under 6 lira. Hotel was peaceful through the day and the slide and waterfall came on at 11am and 3pm for half an hour. The pool is rather deep for young kids and my 7 year old couldnt stand up in either the top or bottom pool but we gave him armbands as did many of the kids and he had a great time.
There is a tiny shop on site which sells the essentials, it is slightly more expensive than others but for all you buy anyway its handy. There is a shop in Icmeler on the main street called Tansas which is cheaper and open until midnight.
The staff in the Hotel are all good fun - Osgur and Adem are very nice as are the 2 receptionist guys Bulent and gatekin. Look out for Ozzy (tour rep) on the way to the town for any trips you want to book. He booked us the Atlantis waterpark a few times (75 lira for 4) and we waited at his stand while he phoned the free bus to take us there (Marmaris).
A dolmus to Marmaris is 2 lira each which we used 2 or 3 times for a change of scenery.
The Grand Aquarium really isnt that grand - One pool with the sunbeds getting covered by shade mid afternoon because of the way its laid out. We went up for breakfast and found it no where near as nice as the Club.
All in all this was a great holiday - remember and get Air conditioning (£30) per week because you'll need it!. oh theres free wi.fi too around the pool and bar area
The coach from the airport takes about 1 hour 45 mins depending on what drop off you are. it does stop on the way but only for 15 minutes and you really do need a bottle of water or kids need the toilet so it wasnt as bad as I feared.
I am sure we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevvyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

Club Aquarium is the smaller sister hotel to the Grand Aquarium. It was ideal for us. The area is reasonably quiet but only a 5 minute walk down the hill to the nearest restaurants. The hotel itself is very pretty with stuning views across Icmeler and the surrounding mountains. There are two pools with waterslide between the two - great for kids. The room was gaudy but very clean and well maintained. The only slight downside was that the aircon unit was in the living area - great for kids sleeping on the pull out sofa beds but it leaves the bedroom very warm.
The staff at the hotel were great and could not do enough for you, nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and reasonably priced altho there wasnt a massive amount of choice it was perfect for lunchtime snacks - we ate at in town everynight so cant comment on evening meals.
If you go walk into Icmeler you must try Deja Vu bar, its one of the first restaurants you come to as you walk into town from the hotel and its fab. Great food, good value and fantastic atmosphere with the friendliest staff in town and shows everynight. We had some cracking evenings here.
All in all a fab holiday and we plan to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosegod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Myself and my 11 year old son and my friend and her 11 year old daughter have just returned from our second visit to the Club Aquarium in the beautiful resort if Icmeler. We received a fantastic welcome and we were very pleased to see that Osger and Adam were still working there. These two special guys really do complete your holiday. The are great fun and nothing is too much trouble for them - they are both hilariously funny! On our last trip to Club Aquarium my son split his head open (trying to be clever by doing back-flips in the pool!) Upon hearing that we had returned even Ruhi (the owner) popped by to see us to see how my sons head had cleared up. Its little things like this that make all the difference at Club Aquarium. The rooms are a bit dated but they are spotlessly clean - your maid comes in every day to change towels, empty bins etc. The pool area is also very clean and has anti-slip matting around it to stop people slipping.
Now to the food - an excellent choice of snacks for the day which includes a full english breakfast to die for - for just over 2 quid! The evening menu has a fantastic choice and the food is excellent. The water slides make it great fun for the children, these are turned on twice a day. Staying at the Club Aquarium feels like being home from home and my son and I are always sad when it is time to leave. We have the best fortnight ever there and would highly recommend it to anyone. People staying at the Club can also use the amenities at the slightly larger Grand Aquarium which is just 5 minutes ride in the shuttle bus that they put on for you free of charge. There are more activities going on there plus a Fitness Room and Health & Beauty Spar.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Stayed at the club Aquarium from 21/5/2010 for 10 nights 2 adults and 2 boys aged 11 and 13 , this is the second time we have stayed here and both times we found it to be an excellent place to stay

The views from the hotel must be the best of almost any hotel in icmeler , the whole hotel , pool , bar and restaurant are set out lovely , the staff are very friendly and helpful , Ozgur , Jimmy and adem were great and realy make your holiday one to remember , they realy go above and beyond there job to ensure you have a good time

The rooms are a bit on the small size for 4 people , but do the job just fine and it’s a happy compromise for the many other positives this hotel offers

A very relaxing pool area with 2 great pools , compared to other hotels in icmeler this is quite private and cant be over looked or viewed from any other hotels or roads again another big positive as many of the hotel pool areas around icmeler are like goldfish bowls overlooked from all angles

The food at the hotel bar is very nice and priced competitively as are the drinks , large Efels Beer = 4lira , full English breakfast = 4.95 lira , lunch meals = 6 to 8lira , we ate at the hotel mainly at breakfast and lunch around 8 or 10 times and we always happy with the food we got

The hotel as a wristband system were you load money onto it and then use it to pay for meals and drinks etc etc which is good as you then don’t need to carry cash around with you ,(handy when lazing around the pool) just pay some cash onto it every few days
(Tip don’t pay English money onto the wristband as the exchange rate is very low at the hotel , exchange your money down in icmeler and then pay in lira)

for the best exchange rates I found that the small supermarkets gave the best rate , infact the very first supermarket you come to when walking from this hotel down into icmeler gives a very good rate , they don’t have any signs saying that they exhange money but if you go in and ask they will do



About a 10 min walk down into icmeler were all the bars and restaurants are
(Tip if you have a few drinks at the bar each night before going out make sure you use the toilet before you go as you will be busting by the time you get down there)
loads and loads of bars and restaurants to chose from Jasmins was a favourite of ours among others but my best advice regarding bars/restaurants is to just find the ones that you like best yourself or visit the trip advisor forum

A very good hotel which I would be more than happy to return to

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank i-am-evil-homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed the first 2 weeks in June. This was our 2nd time here and enjoyed it as much as the 1st. We were surprised at the amount of people we met who had returned from the same time last year. Same excellent staff, service, and meals. I think we were quite lucky, as the 2 weeks we stayed We met some really decent people.
Big shout for Oscar and Adem who can't do enough for you, and the chef for his "more than enough" helpings. Not forgetting the security guard. He's a genuine guy.
Now a couple of slight negatives. The doors of the rooms bang very loudly. I know of 2 families who had trouble having an afternoon nap because of certain people banging around. Also, when you get a lot of kids the poolside can be quite noisy. And when you hear the same name being called (****come here, **** stop that, etc,) it can be very annoying. So families with unruly kids....GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.
All in all, We had a great time and will probably be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jefdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Myself and my partner Terry (Joseph) stayed at Club Aquarium for one week 3rd to 10th May 2010. We had a brilliant time it was early in the season so was quiet and relaxing; ALL staff were very friendly yet very professional. The food was excellent and reasonably priced, drinks were priced the same as in the centre of Icmeler. We would especially like to thank Ismail the restaurant waiter (see photo) for looking after us, we missed saying goodbye as the bus arrived earlier than we expected. We would definitely return and will recommend Club Aquarium to friends and family.

Best Regards

Florence France and Terry (Joseph) O'Donnell

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Not sure if the reviews are getting mixed up, hence the differing reports. We stayed at the Club Aquarium and had a great time. The Club Aqaurium is self catering and much smaller and quieter than the its sister complex the Grand Aquarium, which is more geared up for families, with its entertainment, large restaurant and bigger pool. The two complex are approximately 1/2 mile apart . The rooms in the Club are ideal for two people, but to small for families and larger parties. Having seen the Grand Aquarium rooms these are larger and more suitable for parties of more than two. However, as we stayed at the Club Aquarium we can only comment on this complex. At the Club all the staff, both in reception and in the snack bar, were extremely friendly and helpful. The views from the balcony are excellant, although if you like being next to the coast and the noisier bars, this might not be the place for you as it's a 20 minute walk to the beach. Yes, the furniture is a little dated so, if you like the trappings of a 5 star complex perhaps you need to look elsewhere. The bed was comfortable, the room cleaned daily and the electrics and fridge were safe and worked. What more do you need whilst on holiday. Teenagers and kids would quickly get bored here, but would highly recommend for adults who like a quieter location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filbert414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.8 mi away
Miray Hotel
Miray Hotel
#50 of 77 in Icmeler
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#18 of 77 in Icmeler
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#49 of 77 in Icmeler
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Life Apartments
Life Apartments
#52 of 77 in Icmeler
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faber Apart Hotel
Faber Apart Hotel
#27 of 77 in Icmeler
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Aquarium

Address: 128 Sok. No: 4, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Icmeler
#6 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
#6 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: £11 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Aquarium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you feel home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Club Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Aquarium Hotel Icmeler
Aquarium Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing