We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday and really good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Icmeler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Garden Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Really enjoyed my stay and staff was really friendly and made us really welcome. Was that enjoyable booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel1985Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Palm Garden Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2010

First of all, when arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by two moody men, one called Ali (manager) and the other Ali's nephew. While still in England we asked for a lower floor via First Choice, but were put on the top floor in the attic, which was very hot . We got and air-con, which costs us about 50£ for 10 days, we paid in Turkish lira, as they get better rate when exchanging pounds than tourists. Paying all this money, as soon as we got there was a bit of a shock. As well the air-con is only located in the bedroom, and works when the balcony door are locked(!!!!!!!), so if you have children sleeping in the living room/ kitchen they will roast!!!! (Ali saving money)
Ali was pressuring the staff to SELL SELL SELL drinks and snacks, so they bother you all the time when u relaxing around the pool. Also their Turkish nights meals and entertainments are 'advertised' all the time, and are not worth the bother as they are crap and boring!! They have a lottery during those evenings with prizes such as fish bowls of cocktails, bottles of wines, free meals for two! But it's a con. We won the first prize, because we spent nearly 100 liras the night before on the meal and drinks. It took them 5 minutes to decide what we won. Sasha consulted Ali and we got ONE FREE DRINK between us, which is a joke!!!! Meals for 2 etc go to large families who don't leave the poolside and spend a lot of money in the hotel. They don't even bother to pick the 'lucky' numbers from the hat, they just picked them from a list of guests, which has markings of who to pick (people that spent loads of money)
First few days we felt like we had to sneak out from the hotel (the way out leads through the bar/restaurant area) as the staff was watching us and asking where we were going, and encouraging to stay in the hotel. It took a lot of strength to just relax and enjoy ourselves. They left us alone when new people arrived, and we learn to ignore their nagging. They become rude towards us, not even saying hello, making us feel unwelcome!
In the second week of our stay they started to open the slides late and closing them earlier, (about 1 hour on each) which was another way to save money.
More, around the pool you are not allowed to have even your own water. We bought the 5 liter bottle from the bar, and were told we can't drink that either!!! You have to hide it in your bag and look around if anyone is watching you when you want to drink it. Feels like your in prison.
THE FINISH OF THE ROOMS ARE VERY CHEAP AND BREAKING ALL THE TIME. KITCHEN CUPBOARDS DOOR FALLEN OUT FEW TIMES. ALSO THE HANDLES ARE MADE OF PLASTIC AND BROKEN OFF. THERE ARE ALSO BUGS COMING OUT IN THE BATHROOM DURING THE NIGHT.
ALI (MANAGER), YOSHI, ALI'S BROTHER AND COUPLE OF OTHERS ARE VERY RUDE, UNHELPFUL AND FORGET ENGLISH WHEN A PROBLEM OCCURS.
ON THE UP SIDE, THE HOLIDAY MAKERS THAT STAY IN THE HOTEL ARE FRIENDLY AND WANT TO RELAX, SO DON'T MAKE NOISE. THE VIEWS FROM THE TOP FLOOR ARE NICE. SASHA AND ALI (WAITER) WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE THERE THAT WERE POLITE, FUNNY, AND DIDN'T HASSLE YOU!
THE CLEANING LADIES ARE NICE AND SMILEY.
ME AND MY PARTNER THINK THAT IF YOU WANT QUIET AND RELAXING HOLIDAY WITH SELF CATERING OPTION- FORGET IT. WITH GREEDY ALI-MANAGER IT'S IMPOSSIBLE.
WE MADE OUR HOLIDAY ENJOYABLE, BY EXPLORING ICMELER'S MANY BARS, AND GOING ON TRIPS. HAVE TO TRY TURKISH BATHS ON THE FIRST DAY OF YOUR STAY!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank littlebeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is our second year at Palm Gardens. I travelled with my husband and daughter (7). We were at these apartments last year and really liked them for their location and the way they were set out. My daughter couldn't go anywhere where we couldn't see her. We decided to return again this year as we all had such a good time last year and all I can say is we have no regrets.

Apartments - The apartments again were really good. They are needing a lick of paint, but we requested a room overlooking the pool and weren't disappointed. Our room was big and airy - only complaint re room was again that there is no furniture on the balcony - you have take the table and chairs from inside to the balcony - no great hardship but would recommend that perhaps First Choice could get Ali to invest in plastic table and chairs for balcony. Our maid was fantastic. Our rooms were cleaned every day (okay maybe not to 5 * standard) but the bathroom was cleaned and the room swept every day. Towels and bedding were changed twice a week. I witnessed this happening as sometimes they maid would appear when we were still sitting on balcony. If you don't want them to come early just place your Do Not Disturb sign outside and she will come back later. Our maid used to make the towels into swans and place flowers on the bed, lovely touch. Our daughters bed was always made with swans, boats and flowers left on it. Have stayed at 5* all inclusive before and haven't had better service.

Pool - was once again brillilant - very clean. The area surrounding pool was tidied up and washed every nite. We witnessed this being done very nite as we sat on our balcony with a drink and spoke to the boys doing this. Inflatables etc were put together and placed next to WC (this wasnt done every nite but most nites).

Food - we have never been bothered by staff either eating/drinking by the pool or going out for something to eat. Saying that we did spend money at the apartments by attending BBQ nite, lottery nite etc. These were both really good value for money. During the day we did buy ice creams etc but mostly went to room and made lunch. We ate out most nights and on leaving the complex staff would ask where we were going and when we replied to recommended places and told us to have a good time. We mostly returned to complex at midnight and had a drink at bar before going to bed. I think if they notice that you are not spending enough time/money at the complex then they will say something to you but I agree with other comments this is a self catering complex and you book this type of accommodation to have the freedom to do what you like when you like.

Staff - we found the staff very friendly although we did know alot of them from last year. Cameron (bar) was new as was Ryan. Found Ryan a bit aggressive but could handle him. Cameron was lovely and my seven year old took a real shine to him. She used to help him behind the bar. Young Ali is a real gentleman. Sasha can come across aggressive but I can honestly say this is not the true Sasha. If you find him really nice one day and aggressive the other check to see whether Ali (the owner) is about as he sometimes gives Sasha a hard time i.e. the way people are playing on the slides etc. Yoshi, Oz and the rest of the gang are really good and make your holiday special.

Owners - both Ali and Sebastian are great people. Any problems (which have been few) have always been sorted with no problem by both.

Icmeler - is a great place to go, especially for first time in Turkey. I have been to Marmaris but love Icmeler. The apartments are in a great location, close to main square and beach. If you want to book trips then to Adam, next to Vince's Restaurant. We booked quite a few from him and they were great. He even overcharged us for the waterpark and when we went back to speak to him about it he was so apologetic and refunded us the full amount - cant ask for fairer than that.

Turkey has went up in prices but still not quite as expensive as the euro (although getting closer). They also don't haggle as much as they used to.

On a whole I love Icmeler and the Palm Garden Apartments and although wont be back next year will definately be back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottyMacfarlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

It was my first stay in Icmeler, Turkey.
The Hotel was very nice; the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Ali, Sasha and the other staff were so friendly, nothing seemed too much effort or trouble for them. Of course, even though it’s a self catering hotel, they try to, invite you to drink eat and stay for the entertainment in the evenings. The prices at the hotel are similar to the rest of the restaurants in Icmeler. However the second week the same events are repeated, so after we stayed for the mummy dance, the magician, the break dancing, the Turkish dancing, and the popular barbeque etc we naturally done our own thing in the evenings mainly in the second week.
So don’t feel pressured into staying even though they politely and nicely ask you to stay.
The hotel is situated at a good location not far from the main roads (which is less than a 2 minute walk away). At this point I must say, that it was one of the most pleasant enjoyable stays that I have ever had at any resort or hotel, I think due to the relaxed atmosphere and extremely friendly attitude from everyone. The rooms are quite small but to be fair they are mainly only used to sleep in. The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, the shower head was mildew.
Mind you I was a bit concerned that the Germans would have beat everyone else to the sun loungers, (joke) I was wrong it’s not the Germans you need to watch. There were no Germans there when we were there.
Even though the notice says not to place towels before 07.00hrs, there were towels on the loungers at 06.15hrs or earlier even. So be prepared, its dog eat dog as far as it goes if you’re a sun worshiper. Also even though there are signs clearly displayed around the pool area, saying not to use air mattresses, not to eat, drink near the pool or not to dive in the pool, people did all those things without any problems at all. The slides are fab for the kids (including me).
Even though there is not supposed to be any haggling from the staff at the bars and restaurants around the resort, they still do, but it’s nowhere near as bad as other parts of the world, so a polite “no thank you” usually does the trick.
The trips are good, relaxing and fun to go on, as I personally like to do things, not stay by the pool all day, but if that’s your cup of tea then it’s a perfect place to stay, at the Palm Garden Apartments. Even though it resembles a hotel more than an apartment. It’s not as cheap as I thought it was going to be, and people we met who were returning to Turkey over a period of say anywhere between 9-20 years, even they said it had more than doubled in prices in the last few years. This applied to most things there.
The resort as far as I’m concerned is cleaner, and there are not any derelict spaces where buildings would have once occupied. Not like at Marmaris. I’m well chuffed we stayed there in Icmeler; we definitely made the right choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imaging4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

this was our 1st visit to turkey an palm garden an was very impressed by both! had heard that they dont like you goin out an can be bit funny with you but we went out every night except bbq night an they were fine! (bbq night was great fun an food was fab value). the pool an pool area cleaned every night, apts clean, the food in there restaurant was good although we only had breakfast or snacks which was good price an wasnt worth us buying food in or walking out anywhere except for eve meal!! will definately be goin back nxt yr at same time as was no prob with gettin sun bed ect as was little quieter! all staff were great! ally, sasha, yoshi, cam,seb, ryan an hope will be there when we return!!! roll on next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyw1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

this is our 2nd visit to palm gdns and i must say they really were laying down the law to us for daring to eat out. sasha even followed a guest to see where he was eating breakfast and he was furious that he hadnt eaten in the complex restaurant so we all got told off. i thought self-catering was all about freedom of choice as to where you ate, apparently not. my daughters bed was infested with ants and ali wasnt interested also i found a scorpion in the bathroom and he just shrugged it off and said cant happen here. needless to say we wont be returning and i agree money is all that matters to ali

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank amy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

After a long day's travelling with flights and 3 hour transfer (advertised as two in the brochure) we arrived at the Palm Garden Apartments and were met by Ali the owner, who immediately relieved us of 95 lira for the use of the safe and air con. Thankfully one of the bar staff helped us carry our cases up 3 flights of stairs, which felt like Mount Everest in 47 degrees. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of our room, however when we opened the patio doors to stand on the balcony, we were met with a five foot wall, even Peter Crouch would of had to stand on a chair to enjoy the view. This wall only applies to the roof top apartments, so don't worry. We were still fairly happy at this point though and decided that this would not spoil our holiday. Sunbeds! You have been warned, my husband felt like he was on his usual 6 til 2 shift, as unless he got himself out of bed at 6 to join the convoy of towel bearing holiday makers running down the stairs,we would not get a bed. Sasha ( waiter/ barman) would always do his best to try and find you a bed but it wasn't easy, Don't let this put you off as me and my husband found this quite entertaining. After reading other reviews we were a little worried about hassle from staff if you wanted to leave apartments and go out for the evening, i can honestly say we had no trouble, once we said we were off out, that was that and they were fine.We ate a couple of times at the apartments, breakfasts were lovely, do try.
Cleaners worked hard in the heat and cleaned our rooms 5 out of the 7 days we were there. Ok, floors could of done with a mop, not just a sweep but they had a lot of rooms to get through and we only ever seen two girls who looked shattered! Can't really comment on the entertainment because we went out every night into Icemeler, which is a fantastic place, just lovely. Beach was great, clean, warm sea and plenty of sunbeds, we loved it. If you like good food, go either to The Majestic or The Mandolin, genuine staff and excellent service. Overall a very enjoyable time in Icemeler and yes ,we would return to these apartments, Ali (owner) just needs to sort out air con, as it was set at 18 degrees which sounds cool but it really isn't in that heat, especially when trying to sleep. That comes from someone who loves the heat so it's not just because we like to complain about anything. If you are thinking of staying at these apartments, then i am sure you will have a lovely time and we would use them again but ask for a lower level room with a balcony that you can actually see through!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesters12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.2 mi away
Babadan Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Faber Apart Hotel
Faber Apart Hotel
#24 of 77 in Icmeler
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#16 of 77 in Icmeler
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golmar Beach Hotel
Golmar Beach Hotel
#29 of 77 in Icmeler
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#32 of 77 in Icmeler
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Apartments

Address: Golenye Mahallesi Golenye | caddesi No:7, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Icmeler
Price Range: £12 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Apartments Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing