We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“24th July -31st July 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Holiday Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“24th July -31st July 2014”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel. It was a cheap, last minute booking and in view of previous reports we weren't too sure what to expect. Family room was excellent with two bedrooms, a small shower room and luggage store area although the view was non-existent looking on to other buildings. The pool area was fantastic along with the poolside bar and staff. The food was plentiful with a lot of choice although not a great deal of variation from day to day. It did become a little tiresome toward the end of the week. The hotel is located toward the very edge of Ovacik, very peaceful but a good walk from the village centre and a lengthy walk from Hisaranu (the lively town with plenty of shops, restaurants, bars etc.). It's all downhill so get a taxi back, approx. £4 and well worth it. the hotel was quiet when we arrived but filled up with Turks shortly after. This did put a strain on the service. The hotel has recently been refurbished and extended and is still not finished and the staff are still trying to get their act together. Our room was only cleaned once during the week and we constantly had to keep asking for more toilet rolls. The shower also leaked although this was rectified the next day. Some of the drinks machines in the restaurant frequently didn't work or ran out of ingredients and the staff were slow to respond. Check out is by 12 noon and the charges for delayed checkout are expensive at £15 per person. In view of the cleaning issues, we negotiated with the deputy manager to clear our room by 12 but keep access to the food and drinks until our collection time. The evening entertainment was basic, we tended to go out to the town. All in all, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is not the best but neither is it that bad, ultimately, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the outskirts of Ovacik with no bars in the vicinity
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    115
    87
    41
    47
See reviews for
162
222
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have recently returned from a 7 night stay in the Sunshine Holiday Resort Ovacik Turkey., where we took our 3 grandchildren.
The family room is described as 2 connecting rooms, which to me would be two rooms with a connecting door and therefore two bathrooms also.
At the time of booking I asked if this was the case and although she was not certain, she presumed the same as me that it would be.
On arriving at our destination at 1am, we were checked in and shown to our room, we were not offered any kind of refreshment, and the bar was closed.
The 2 connecting rooms, with land view and balcony booked were not as expected
The room was 1 room with a second small bedroom inside, which had 2 single beds and no other furniture, which the 2 boys used.
The larger room has a double and single bed, small wardrobe with 2 drawers, table with mirror and a suitcase stand, which I, my husband and granddaughter used.
As there were 5 of us there was not adequate space to store our clothes and we had to live out of suitcases, so we were not impressed.
The balcony was only large enough for 2 people and the land views turned out to be the path to reception, from the patio door, and a wall with pipes running across it, about 6 inches from the boys bedroom window.
Things went from bad to worse.
The shower flooded the bathroom every time we used it. We reported this and it was resealed. It continued to flood, we reported it again and they replaced the door, but it continued to flood, which was dangerous as the floor was very slippery. We were supplied extra bath mats which we rolled up to try to keep the floor drier.
We asked for 2 key cards but had to keep going back to reception, on a daily basis, as they stopped working.
At this stage we asked to change rooms.
The room they showed us had only 1 door being the patio door, which we thought was a fire hazard,
but unfortunately it did not have enough beds for 5, they were working on the door lock, trying to get it to work and on checking the shower the same thing happened.
Next the air conditioning unit in the boy’s bedroom started leaking over their clothes in their suitcase, legionnaires disease sprung to mind, so again this was reported.
Then the bedroom wasn’t cleaned and no clean towels supplied, when this was reported, we were told by reception ‘It’s not my fault’. We later found out that there were only 2 chambermaids trying to clean the whole resort.
On speaking to other guests most had had to change rooms for one reason or another.
The resort stunk of sewers
At breakfast, on our first morning, I was making toast for us all, when the toaster stopped working. It kept tripping the electrics, so it was removed and never replaced.
Then the hot water urn was tripping the electrics, so that was removed, but did return.
The food in the restaurant got worse as the week went on, as there were not many people there was not much choice and it became very repetitive. Usually undercooked chicken, salmonella! rice,chips,veg ,fish and salad. Not really what children want to eat.
Then after 2 days the ice machine stopped working and was not replaced until the day we left.
Then in the early hours of the morning, the fire alarm kept going off.
On our departure day we were suppose to vacate the room at 12 noon , but as we were not being picked up til 7pm we asked if we could keep it on til 5pm. We were quoted £40.00, but I suggested that after all our problems, as a good gesture they could waive the charge. At this time a new manager,1 day, Mehmet got involved he said he would let us know by 12, whether we could keep the room or move to another with luggage to be able to shower and change.
At 2pm he found us by the pool, told us he had been very nice, but we had to leave the room by 3pm, not giving 5 of us much time to shower, change and finish packing and if we wanted it any longer it would be £25.00 per person. Big increase from £40.00!!!
At which time things got very heated, as he had completely changed what he had said earlier and we vacated our room.
According to the details you displayed on thewebsite, this resort has many facilities
Completely untrue, there is NOT:-
A Pool Snack Bar- not finished and not open
Different Shows in the Amphitheatre- as it isn’t even finished
No illusionist or Mini disco( Oh the barman does a fire eating act)
No Turkish bath-does not exist
Sauna-does not exist
No Fitness centre- does not exist
No animation team- therefore No daily sport activities
No Pool Games-no staff
No Pool Aerobics-no staff
No Gymnastics-no staff
No Darts-no board
No Room Service
No Hairdresser
No Shop
No Children’s playground-was being built
The only entertainment as such was a quiz, bingo,kareokee and the children ages 13,11 and 9 were given colouring books and play dough.!!!
It is obvious this resort is nowhere near finished
The pictures shown on htewebsite, are nothing like the actual resort.
Wouldnt recommend anyone to go here

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Arrive on July 24 yolu know what after reading below l was Linda execting the worst but rooms are lovely staff really nice chatty ABD helpful. ln respect of the food there was something to eat and evden the fussiet of people will find something .
The drink is also of a good quality . Efes beer and branded soft drinks Coca Coke . Location wise yolu are a 10 minute walk to Hisaronu and it only cost approximately 5 GBP in a taxi

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderbolt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived back to the UK this morning after staying at the hotel from 20th July-26th July. We were worried before we went after seeing the mixed comments on trip advisor but thought it can't be that bad so decided to give it a go.

We arrived at the hotel late on the Sunday evening. Check-in was fine and we were taken to our room and showed how to use the amenities in it. We went for a drink at the pool bar before going to bed. It was nice to see branded drinks like Efes and Coke. The drinks were fine, even the wine was drinkable.

The food was very basic and we had issues with the eggs not being cooked properly. Couldn't get toast for breakfast because the toaster kept blowing the electricity supply so it was never replaced. My partner lived on bread and chips. One lunchtime we were served raw chicken which completely put off our whole party from eating in the restaurant, resulting in us paying to eat out for the rest of our stay. when my partner said something to the waiter he just laughed and took his plate away. there were plenty of 'waiters' but you had to get your own drinks in the restaurant. No one in the hotel had any sort of uniform and the staffing seemed very disorganised. We asked for ketchup one day and it took 3 people 20 mins to get it?!

3 days into our stay we had a problem with the smell in our bathroom of raw sewage. We went to reception to raise our concerns and were told they would sort it. A couple of hours later we went back to our room and the smell was even worse. The kind of potent smell you could be physically sick with, it was disgusting. I went back to the reception and the lady behind reception said what do you want me to do about it your room is clean. At that point the housekeeper was having a go at me in Turkish. I explained it wasn't a problem with the cleanliness of the room, there was a problem with the drains. In the end we had 4 people in our room inspecting it to find out what was happening. After a heated debate we were moved to another room, which was much better. Or so we thought. The first night in our new room we got locked in! I phoned reception and got laughed at down the phone and he said someone would be there straight away. No one came for 10 mins and when they did the door worked on both sides! We then carried on getting ready and as went went to leave discovered we were locked in once again!! I then phoned reception again, to be laughed at again and told someone would be down straight away. when someone came they saw it didn't work and called for an engineer, which came 30 minutes later.
Our room didn't get cleaned one day and we phoned reception to ask for some clean towels and are still waiting for them. The day before we were coming home my partner asked the cleaner if they were going to clean our room that day and she looked at him as if he was stupid and said no tomorrow.

All in all we had a good start to our holiday but it went rapidly downhill. I appreciate the hotel isn't 100% ready but god help them when it's busy! whilst we were there there were a lot of complaints and there were no more than 70 people at one time staying there. The hotel is nowhere near a 4 star resort and from what I've seen they will never get there.

I would never stay in this hotel again. It definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it. Feel completely ripped off.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Highrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

we landed back down in England on the early hours of Friday morning after 11 days within this resort, within this review i was aware that the hotel had only been re-opened a matter of weeks yet it was not to standard in a lot of areas.

we arrived from the airport and on arrival the drive up to the front entrance was to that of a dusty long dirt road with first view being that of a shambles, this was with various building blocks around the entrance which made this hotel look "tacky" and this is what i has heard and the reviews of others were being proven right.

we were escorted up to our rooms by a very helpful gentleman who showed us the basics within the hotel room, the air con felt amazing during the night and the first nights sleep was going well until around 5am this is when water started to pour out at a fast rate from within the air con machine this was a shambles as we had to put the towels under to try control this as we rang the reception we had no reply even though i explained what had happened yet the lack of staff who understand English is next to none. the following day with the towels being drenched, the maids did not attend our room so we had to use the wet towels later on in the day after we have had a shower. 20 hours after first reporting the air con issue a handy man who came to fix it literally made it worse and claimed nothing was wrong, to then we went for dinner once the gentleman left. when we returned we came back to a room drenched in water, to this i went to kick off, i requested for us to be moved and this was the case we were moved down the hall to a slightly bigger room.

during the day there was none of the activities which are promised by the hotel i.e. (no gym, no sauna, no Turkish bath, no daily snack bar) this was outrageous and was disgusting as no arrangements were made to allow the customers any service to try compensate for the lack of availability of none of these. within the restaurant the food at breakfast was that of chips,beans,burnt eggy bread, salami in a tomato sauce and boiled egg. this was same every morning so this was disappointing, the dinner and lunch menu was simple up until our final few days after that all the food became outstanding yet all Turkish varieties and none for English holiday makers.

the only saving grace of the hotel were that of the bar staff around the pool area, Ali,ohhan and ramazan were that of excellent hospitality and loved to have a good crack with us and the holiday makers, the only other positive was that the holiday makers which were there during our stay made the evening entertaining as it was a high English orientation so all participated within the evening activities. yet the owners were always present during the evening karaoke with both their daughters who were utter snobs and seemed to look down at the others there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Harryscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Really nice hotel .Nice rooms always cleaned which we really appreciated .Food was freshly and suprise for me normally most of all inclusive hotel give cheap coke and beer but they were served coca coke fanta Efes .I cant compalin anythink but just they need more music .I will definitely retun.Thank you Sunshine ...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haluk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ordu, Samsun, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I would like to share my holiday experience with you.Having seen bad reports before we went the Sunshine holiday resort, Why people so negative , very nice place friendly staff. The food was excellent I will definately return

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tolga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
1.1 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
0.8 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
1,212 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Nicholas Park
St Nicholas Park
#21 of 102 in Oludeniz
529 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Holiday Resort

Property: Sunshine Holiday Resort
Address: Kocapirnal Cad 3, Ovacik 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you feel yourself in peace and tranquillity. You will enjoy sunbathing around the pool under the shining sun on a breezy plateau overlooking the village with stunning mountain view in daytime and sunset view in evening.The ideal location of this hotel provides you with the best weather you may find in this area as it leans against the forest on the skirts of Para gliders most popular mountain, this altitude makes the sunbathing here more joyful and pleasant compared to the destinations in both Fethiye and Oludeniz characterised by high humidity and scorching sun in high summer season.It is just 10 minutes drive (4 km) to the famous Oludeniz Beach at Blue Lagoon and at the same distance to Calis Beach in Fethiye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunshine Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Holiday Hotel Ovacik
Sunshine Holiday Fethiye
Sunshine Holiday Resort Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing