We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well above average all round”
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Destina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well above average all round”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just had 14 nights at the Destina Hotel and it punches well above its weight for the price.
Rooms are basic but well maintained. Food is good quality, varied with plenty of options and the all inclusive local drinks more than hit the spot.
There are plenty of activities during the day in and around the pool hosted by "Gadget" and "Gizmo" who though fairly rehearsed are most entertaining, but it has to be said that there is little or nothing in the way of children's activities at the hotel, defiantly a place for teenagers upwards.
Far enough from the bars and shops in Hisaranu to be peaceful but close enough for a ten minute gentle downhill stroll to the center and its only a 10 lira taxi back up the hill if you don't feeling like walking home.
Well worth considering if your looking for an all inclusive venue in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goeastgocheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    258
    105
    37
    31
See reviews for
215
464
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the destina in early july and i can honestly say if you are looking for a great holiday experience then look no further.This was our second time here and it did not disapoint.The hotel is set on the side of a mountain overlooking the lively town of hisaronu and in the evening you can eat on the balcony and watch the sun set.The rooms are quite small but are very clean and tidy and the cleaners work very hard to keep you supplied with clean linen.The gardens and pool area are well kept as is the rest of the hotel.In the restaurant there is a good selection of food to choose from and don't be scared to try something new,you might just like it.At the destina you will find some of the best staff you have probably ever met from the cleaners up to the hotel manager,everybody is cheerful and always happy to help.Special thanks to yunus,gadget,recep,shane,murat,bartman we miss you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We travelled as My Husband, myself & our two daughters aged 18yrs & 16yrs.
Having read so many good reviews I couldn't help that worry we were setting ourselves up for disappointment!!! We were so wrong!! The hotel is great! Food not a huge amount of choice but what there was, was always well cooked & plentiful! Breakfast, pancakes, omelettes fried eggs, meats, cheese, cereals, the usual all inclusive choices. Lunch same as dinner really meats, pasta, lots of salads lots of puddings. Not a place for families with young children as there is very little for them to do there & no children's clubs or dances etc.......Families with teenage children ideal.
The entertainment team is Gadget & Gizmo, where do I begin with these two?? If I could bottle their laughs I would make a fortune, their great personalities & enthusiasm is infectious!! They chat to all holiday makers & not just the people who join in on everything!!! Our first week we really just chilled & the second week wanted to join in on more things!!
we went on the jeep safari, Thomas Cook wanted £30 per person but if you walk into Hisaronou (downhill on the way there 20mins, uphill on the way home or 10lira for a cab which is well worth it!!!) go to pioneer travel it will cost you £13 for the exact same thing, only you don't have to visit the carpet factory (PHEW!!!!) Only advice is they say you do not need to take money, but actually you do there's lots of extras there if you want them for example drinks, gorge entrance money (5lira) doughnut rings on the river & a stop before home for the professional photographer to sort out his shots for you to purchase for £20 a cd with 120 shots on.
The biggest bit of advise I can give is take ear plugs if you want to sleep well as the rooms are really bad for sound proof & you can hear people coming & going most of the night!!
Gadget & Gizmo also take all the teenagers into Hisaronou on a Wednesday night from midnight til 3.30am to a couple of clubs & bars where they secure the door & so all kids are safe & have a kebab before cabbing back!!! My girls both went on this & loved it!!
We went to Barumba a couple of times, a very loud upbeat great bar/club where the fun is endless, also do a great fishbowl.
Go with a relaxed mind & you will love it!!!
This is the only holiday all four of us have wanted to return to, so watch out Gadget & Gizmo you may very well be seeing us again!!!!!!! The Secker family!! XXX

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Wow. I travelled to this hotel with my boyfriend and his mum for a 2 week stay in August this year after reading some pretty good reviews. We were not disappointed! On arrival (at 6am Turkish time) we were greeted by friendly staff and a man was waiting to take our suitcases to our room and did not hang around for a tip like some bell boys often do. When we got up later that day we headed straight for the pool, yes there is a SLIGHT shortage in sunbeds at times, but we sat ourselves down with a drink and a few soon became available. It was pretty obvious who Gadget was as soon as we saw him! Very cheery man who likes to try get everyone involved in everything! I can't agree Gadget and Gizmo left out people over 25 as there were plenty of over 25's joining in with allsorts whilst we were there so all I can say is...get yourselves involved!
If you're ok with loud music then sit near the shallow end but if not, over near the deep end of the pool you can barely hear the music!

THE POOL: Was very clean, a man went round every single night cleaning it. Plenty of space even when the hotel is at full capacity.

DAYTIME ENTERTAINMENT: Wakey Wakey Destinaaa! Water aerobics / Volleyball / Water Polo / Killer pool / Several random games involving a surfboard or two!

NIGHT TIME ENTERTAINMENT: Bingo / Music Quiz / Turkish Dancers / Magician / Karaoke / Break Dancers / Acrobats / Mr/Mrs Destina / Best Couple / etc!

FOOD: Fab fab fab and so yummy! There was basically food all day long :) DON'T BE PICKY alot of the things taste so good - but I heard a few people complaining because it 'looked a bit odd'

STAFF: All the staff here were very friendly, helpful and well presented. They really put the icing on the cake! Special shout outs to Musa, Jan [the main bar barman], Sahin, Kermit and of course Gadget and Gizmo!

ROOMS: So clean. YES not massive in size but are you really going on holiday to 'swing a cat around'?! They have everything you need in them including a fridge with two bottles of water replaced when used [massive bonus compared to other places I have stayed] and towels are changed everyday providing you leave them in a pile on the floor so they know you want them changing. Added plus is the cleaners are absolute gems and always have time to give you a cheery Hello!

We met some great people in our 2 week stay of all ages and walks of life! If you're going on holiday - have some fun! People need to remember this is still only a 3* Hotel and shouldn't find the need to complain about minor things. Forget about criticising everything and just enjoy what's on offer. For the price we all were overly impressed and shall definitely be returning.

THANK YOU DESTINA!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1966 and could not hear music from there. No lifts in hotel so be aware of that on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed in Turkey before 5 yrs ago at the Ova resort didn't think anything could match it but hoped Destina would!
Family holiday 14yr, 11yr old along with 20yr old and 41yr old. The entertainment team, bar staff and waiters make this hotel! They were absolutely amazing, special mentions to Kermit, Sahin, Erol and Batuhan! They kept us smiling all day. Gadget and Gizmo did their very best. Gizmo's still learninng and always got us dancing. Gadget was awesome took us on nights out along with a kebab after and looked after us very well and kept us laughing all day. The entertainment is more adult based so that wasn't good for the kids but they did their best as they're used to singletons and couple guests so it was great for us adults. We always joined in the fun and kept the atmosphere going helping them.along.

Food was nice and edible not like some people have made out.in these reviews, some.nights were better than others. Breakfast was good. However, it did get abit boring after the 10th day. We just headed to.the.main.road.for.a 5lira massive turkish pancake.or.kebab and that was yum!

Hotels very clean very classy and.uptodate. Rooms are reasonable size if.your single or.double. Family rooms are quite.cramped. The shower area is pretty small but it doesn't squash yoj to death lol not.like you sleep there. The water.pressures very good. Hot water is.limited at peak times though.

Would defo go back with the friends. Met some amazing people!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 11 nights would not stay its one of the best or worse basic as they come really. Rooms were ok a little on the small side but the Mauds kept them really clean they do work really hard with very little thanks. Don't except to get much sleep but if you do manage I will assure you, you will be woken by the door banging late at night and than again very early In the morning as there us a rush to put towels on sun beds. All staff did work hard but if u r over the age of 30 forget it they really are not interested in you. Gadget and gizmo were only interested in the guys that are In your face and if you don't want to joi. In there games they are not interested in your party. Entertainment was very basic and had far better fun at other places we have stayed in. Can't say it was a pleasant stay food was below average u less u liked cold food same food nearly every night just slight chances and goodness they certainly don't like to waste food cause I will promise you it will be recycled cold. So I can stay that there is no chance I will NOT be revisiting and those of your that keep going back spread your wings there is some wonderful hotel out there go experience them

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was our 7th time to turkey and we booked this hotel due to the excellent reviews and we were not disappointed.
THE ROOMS:- are very clean ,cleaned every day. Fresh bedding and towels and everyday two bottles of water are placed into your fridge.On arrival there was little toiletries like shampoo,soap a sewing kit and cotton buds there was also a hairdryer in the bathroom.The size of the room was fine for the two of us .There is a gap under the doors but I took another travellers tip and rolled up a blanket and placed it by the gap.The hotel is a little noisy but this is due to people being noisy and not the hotel itself but you get that in hotels anyway.
THE POOL :- was big and beautiful cleaned everyday there is also a small children's pool and a pool up above the bar which has a fantastic view of the mountains .Also aerobics was great fun with gizmo and they played volleyball and other games too.
GADGET AND GIZMO :-They are so friendly and funny I could watch them all day and gadgets laugh was so funny too,these guys are a real asset to this hotel and they work all day and night as do most of the staff.One night I won twice on bingo and I ended up in the pool !!! .The entertainment was a Turkish belly dancer ,breakdancers bingo, karaoke and some fantastic African dancers.
FOOD:- First of all the views are absolutely beautiful from the restaurant and at night time there some gorgeous sunsets ,at breakfast there was omelettes fried eggs,pancakes fruit,bread jam eggs meat ,cheeses scrambled egg,beans,yoghurt.
DINNER :- there was some gorgeous soups spaghetti bolognaise,salads wedges,chicken dishes and lovely desserts.
AFTERNOON SNACKS:- pizza burgers chips
AFTERNOON TEA :- tea coffee biscuits
EVENING MEAL:- Soup,salads various chicken dishes, fish, steak diane, casseroles,doner kebabs ,chips a lovely potato dish with cheese on ,curry, rice,& lovely puddings.
BARS:- there is one by the pool and one by the restaurant which serve wine ,beer ,vodka,raki, brandy etc and soft fizzy drinks and juices tea& coffee and there was a water cooler.There is a bar behind gadget the dj but this is a paying bar for imported drinks.
WIFI is free but you can only really get it in reception.
There is a little shop on site which sells crisps ice cream etc
The views are fabulous from the hotel and the grounds are very nice too they are always cleaning up and maintaining everywhere,
We walked down the bank to hisaronu which is about a 10-15 min walk away but we caught the taxi back and it was only £3,as its a bit of a steep bank to walk back up.We also got the dolmus from hisaronu to olu deniz and it cost 8 lira for three of us which is about £2,40 .We also did a jeep safari and a boat trip but book them down town as they are loads cheaper the jeep safari was so good and funny but you do get wet.It cost us £14 each for all day and lunch included and it was well worth it.
We are looking to book the destina next year as we had such a good time,and a lot of people were regulars I would say that the hotel caters for English and turkish .All of the staff are so friendly and there is a lovely atmosphere everyone says hello to one another And when we were going home a lot of the staff came up to us to say goodbye. I so didn't want to go home !! .A big thankyou to all of the staff at destina we had a wonderful time and hopefully we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jod71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
1.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Hisaronu
914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Property: Destina Hotel
Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing