We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not anywhere near as good as expected”
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Destina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We came home from the Destina last week and for the first time ever we are so glad to be home.
Some parts of the holiday were good but there are a few things which really spoiled our holiday.
The rooms, bathrooms and balconies are very small, but adequate and clean.
The food was very limited, with only 2 meat options at dinner time. I have never seen so many meatballs in my life. The puddings were nice but quite often they were finished by the time you went for one and new ones weren't put out. The food was nice though, just not much choice.
The entertainment was dire!! We always enjoy the daytime activities when we are on holiday. French bowls, rifle shooting, archery etc, but there were none of those. The evening entertainment wasn't very good either, a game of bingo that went on for hours, a karaoke night with hardly anyone singing and on a Sunday night they played a film. On the last Sunday we were there, 2 people watched the film!! Now that definitely wasn't successful entertainment. There were 2 "entertainers" in the hotel who could be quite ignorant and rude, speaking to some people and not others. Sometimes one of them would dig people in the ribs during their meals!! They seemed to be more interested in selling CDs, DVDs and perfume than actually entertaining people.
Apart from those 2, the staff were friendly and attentive.
The noise in the hotel is horrendous. Inconsiderate guests banging doors and shouting in the corridors. Not great for a good nights sleep.
Sadly what is basically a nice little hotel is badly let down, but by a few very important things.
We would return to the area but not the Destina.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark_Young2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
There are newer reviews for Destina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend booked a late deal for this hotel and read all of the reviews on here before going. The small rooms did not phase us nor did the terrace which had many snails and slugs. The food was okay, breakfast was mostly eggs with not much meat for choice at all but the omlettes and bread was lovely.
The pool bar staff were very friendly and we could happily sit and have a laugh with the bar men there but there is a few waiters you have to look out for. We had a problem with one of the waiters who was young and usually was dressed in a less formal uniform than the others. This waiter would quite obviously speak about me and my friend in Turkish to another bar man, look at us and point and laugh while we were eating. He had also had a giggle with the same bar man when I ordered a coke and be suggested that I have diet (I have a average sized body and so does my friend but that still isn't the point)
Gadget was very friendly and we were able to chat and joke with him very easily. There entertainment on the night wasn't for us. The game if bingo lasted 3 hours and the banter in between and the music was more directed to the older customers that us.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday but we wouldn't come back and wouldn't recommend it for young people.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mahoganylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I returned back from the destina on may 22nd the hotel was brilliant.

Firstly the food. Always fresh and I could always find something I liked. Fresh pizzas were cooked in the afternoon for snacks.


Location of the hotel is abit out of the town which I liked. If you dont like walking then you would need to get a taxi down there which is pretty cheap anyway.

Rooms very clean abit small but not a problem. Only thing I can say bad about the rooms was that there is a gap at the bottom of the door about 3 inches and you can hear everything down the corridor as it echos. So not good at 3 in the morning when people are coming back.

Pool and grounds were lovely and kept spotless.

The staff at the destina were so nice they cant do enough for you. From the reception staff to the resturant staff. A special mention to murat captain and joey.

Gadget and gizmo the entertainment team made our holiday such funny men always looking to try and get you involved with the activities but not being pushing if you dont want to.

We will definitely be returning back to the destina later this year.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauraradforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

First ever holiday in Turkey, both of us really impressed.
Brilliant location for hotel, surrounded by mountains. View from our third storey room / balcony was stunning.
Room kept very clean for the week. Food was vey good , plenty of choice , soups were excellent , sweets were a treat.Drinks were good , local brandy was nice with Seven Up.
All the staff were very friendly & helpful. Gizmo & Gadget worked hard to keep everyone entertained and smiling.
Hotel is a nice size, which made it easy to make friends with staff/ guests. Hotel grounds were well kept with some really nice shrubs/ flowers
Hisaronu is a really nice town - only 10/12 minutes walk away , Olu Deniz - beautiful beach lagoon is a short drive away & also Fethiye largest town in the area is also worth a visit.
We would both highly recommend this hotel, excellent all round value in a peaceful , stunning location.

Well done & thank you to all Destina staff , hope to see you again .

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room , as it is quieter & you get amazing views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to the Destina and it gets better every time. Gadget and gizmo are the best and defo make our holiday better every year. The hotel food is great and always sumthin to eat even for fussy eaters. Will be back soon and cant wait

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Vicstrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned after another 2 week holiday at the Destina. From the moment you arrive until you leave (did not want to come home) every member of staff makes you feel welcome. There are too many staff to mention by name but I salute you all, you make the holiday experience even better by your friendliness and care. The hotel rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable with a very nice shower room, you even get lovely hot water at all times of the day. The food as previous reviewers have stated is good and plentiful, I personally would love to see more traditional Turkish food occasionally, but that does not take anything away from the food that is served to guests. Thank you for another lovely holiday. x P.S someone give Mex a biscuit.

Room Tip: Better views from some upper floors.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were transferred to the Destina after the hotel we booked didnt open as they had low guest bookings.
Our room was very small but was clean well furnished and had nice balcony with good views.
Staff were polite attentive and happy to chat away in Turkish and English.
Food was to a reasonable standard and plentiful.

Sadly its a pity that hotels cant choose or control their guests, we were greeted by a rabble of drunken sweary guests which almost prompted us to turn around and seek another hotel, their leader a boisterous english lady stayed for a further week with a laugh similar to someone machine gunning a hyena, we stayed and when the lady left the hotel was transformed into a much more tranquil venue.
We also witnessed what for us would seem to be a phenomenon south of the border is guests piling their plates high with desserts as their first course just in case there were no desserts left.

The activities team were very good and although we didnt join in they ensured that those who wanted to had a really good time.

Sleep quality spoiled by inconsiderate guests slamming doors and talking loudly in the wee small hours, for the management team I would suggest two things, put up notices to ask guests to consider others after midnight and also that staff should carry and not wheel cases after midnight.

Big question, would we stay there again? probably yes but not in October as the Hyena won a free holiday..

Room Tip: Top floor to the rear left of the hotel provided you can ignore cockerels.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arranshand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
1.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#7 of 102 in Oludeniz
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range: £38 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing