We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really relaxed holiday”
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Destina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Don't know what people see wrong with this hotel. Lovely setting and comfortable rooms with some of the best chambermaid service l have ever encountered. Clean and sparkling rooms, well serviced, gardens trimmed daily, pool cleaned every morning. Food terrific! Very Turkish - which we love .Omlettes, waffles cooked to order. If you must have a full english,enough places you can get it - or stay home! Drinks plentiful and well served; local but that is why you go away to try other cultures. Must admit the entertainment was awful!! But we walked into Hisaronou most nights - 15 minute stroll. We had such a great holiday last year we are going back this year and really looking forward to it. Roll on September!!!.

Room Tip: Away from the pool at the back of the complex. Quiet and cool surrounded by shade in the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddeereuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was my first time in the Destina hotel and I will be definitely returning. When arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by a warm and friendly receptionist who spoke good English and a porter who took our cases.We were staying at the hotel on an AI basis and we arrived at the hotel late (after the evening meal was finished) however we were given a sandwich to substitute this. The hotel is nice, clean and suitable for all ages, also it is a nice size and located in a stunning setting and it is only a 10 minute walk into Hisaronu where there is plenty of restaurants and nightlife.There is plenty sun loungers situated around the poolside, all of the staff are so friendly and helpful cannot fault them at all! The food is really nice and there is always plenty of choice. The entertainment is good and varied evening entertainment incudes entertainment such as bingo, acrobats and dance shows etc. Whilst staying at the Destina I would definitely recommend a Turkish bath and massage these are both lovely and very relaxing and are reasonably priced. I would definitely return to this hotel and I am hoping to return next year thanks to all the staff for a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having often taken late deals, we set with optimism and hope for the best. We were delighted to find that the good reviews on tripadisor were very true. The staff and their attitude, make a huge difference, its as if the feel good factor rubs off onto the holiday makers and nearly everyone is happy and easy going. The food is excellent, plenty of choice and the deserts are to die for..so pack stretchy pants. The entertainent team are energetic and friendlym including those who wish to join in and not pestering those who just want to chill. Yes, the rooms may be a little small - but you spend very little time there and they are cleaned beautifully. Nesled in the mountains, you enjoy your dinner on the terrace to spectacular sunsets. The free coach is available daily to take you to the beach where a free bed, umbrella and mattress await at the blue lagoon. The rooms are spotlessly cleaned. We are voting with our feet and will be back soon. Would recommend to everyone wanting a relaxed, chilled out holiday where you really do not have any worries. Not really for children - would suggest one of the resorts with the plumes and mini-clubs. Also not really for those younger ones looking to party hard, they would be better off neaer the main drag. This is fantastic for couples of all ages, looking for some quality down time in a beautiful setting with friendly staff, great food and no drama.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger, over looking the pool is also very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeidiHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived at Destina around midnight and were welcomed by a porter who took our cases, a warm and friendly reception and a receptionist who spoke fairly good English... we were given a sandwich (cheese and some thick ham), an information sheet and our room key. Our room was appointed on the ground floor with a tiny outdoor seating area. It was full of large insects because it's in lush, landscaped gardens, so if you're scared of wasps, bees, bugs, spiders, be prepared not to be able to sit out. Aside from being tiny the room was fine, though I would have liked an extra pillow and some sheets rather than the strange rug type blanket! The air con is free in the rooms and works well. There is a TV with English channels. There are plenty of power points, near the bed and mirror/dressing table. There is also a mini fridge which is filled with two small bottles of water every day. The en suite was fine too, the shower door was a bit funky but we managed... the towels are huge (so unusual!) And the shower was really warm and powerful which I loved.

The next morning we went to breakfast. Breakfast is 8 til 10 and you get plenty... omelette, pancake, eggs, beans, fruit, cheese, pastries and bread, washed down with coffee, tea and juice. The restaurant is clean and the service is second to none. Then we went to the pool. Plenty of sunbeds, clean and tidy toilet with plenty of loo roll, hand wash, etc. The pool is clean and inviting... as is the pool bar, although it doesn't open until 11am which means no drinks (soft or otherwise) between 10am and 11am.

Lunch and dinner were great, as other reviewers have said we were a bit nervous the food would be rubbish, but so long as you're not too fussy and recognise you're getting what you pay for you'll be fine; chips, wedges, chicken (chicken kebab was immense), meatballs, bolognese, spaghetti, rice, salads, spices, oils, breads and the most fantastic desserts!

Snack time (burger, pizza, chips) was a bit weird and wonderful... and tea time (mini biscuits/cakes and coffee) was ok-ish, but we were usually stuffed from breakfast and lunch.

The all inclusive drinks wise is local drinks 11am until 11pm... but you can purchase others. My only wish was for a cocktail or two to be added to the drinks that were included. It got boring sticking to one drink all night. In other resorts I have stayed in there's maybe been a couple you can choose from made from the local spirits and wines. One thing which is super annoying... all inclusive is only in the pool bar, not the main bar, which as it's name suggests is the main bar where the entertainment is. However, they're not tight on giving you drinks and you can usually take it in turns walking and 'getting the rounds in'. The main bar has a pool table, dartboard and there's table tennis by the pool. The entertainment is, as usual in these places, random; however Gadget is great, he's not cliquey like some animation people... he gets to know everyone and helps out all day long pretty much. His English is fab and he is a little more mature than some animation teams so he caters for everyone.

We were unlucky enough to have terrible weather. And there's nothing at all in the Destina to do indoors. On wet weather days we either paid to go out somewhere or we crowded in to reception to use the wifi in there... you couldn't even sit and have a coffee / play cards really anywhere indoors unless you went to your room.

The Turkish bath is lovely... we've been to quite a few and would really recommend it. It's a tenner for the Hammam works, and you'll come out feeling so relaxed. Really recommend it! And Kathryn who runs the bookings is English with a fab local knowledge. The onsite shop is convenient but overpriced, but there is one down the road, Ces supermarket, half the price.

It's a really good location for town and to get out and about exploring. There's a free shuttle to the beach which otherwise would cost around 30tl in a cab. There are also guest books in reception from all the tour operators with lots of tips and ideas for making the most out of your stay, free to anyone to read. The resort itself was great... much better than Icmeler where we've stayed twice before.

We met some fab people who we'll hopefully keep in touch with, however toward the end of our stay, there were more and more younger people who wanted to party. Fair play, but show some respect for other guests in the echoey hall way.

Really recommend the Destina for what it is intended to be... a budget all inclusive get away in the sunshine. If it doesn't thunder, hail and lightening instead... ;)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived early hours on friday to find a a friendly welcome and a sandwich.
On first impressions of our room i didnt think it was anything special as it had a few faults.
IE. light on the wall kept turning upside down due to being loose and it had a a few cracks in the walls but all this aside it was comfy and adequate as its only used for sleeping LOL.
THE STAFF.
Well they are all amazing.
Nothing is too much trouble for them and they welcome you like youve known them for years.
Joey essex and carlos were great.
ENTERTAINMENT .
gadjet and gizmo were great in everything they did.
They get great reviews from everyone so i wont waffle on apart from say FANTASTIC LADS.
FOOD...
The food was good from breakfast to evening meal.
Nothing to complain about at all.
And the pizza and burgers at 3 till 4 were great.
POOL.
The pool was always cleaned every day and kept neat and tidy.
It isnt heated but if you jump or dive straight in you wont be cold for long lol.
I should know as i was swimming every morning at 7.30.
IN A NUT SHELL...
This hotel was fantastic for the money and any little faults are easily overlooked as by all of the many good things.
Would defo visit again and thats amazing as i never go to the same place twice.

THANK YOU DESTINA FOR A FANTASTIC HOLIDAY

JON AND CARROL

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrolandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is suitable for all ages it's got good entertainment bingo dance shows acrobats you name it they do it the staff are so friendly and helpfully all the time they can't do enough for you the hotel is a nice size and plenty of sun loungers you can have a Turkish bath and massage on site which is lovely and relaxing and reasonably priced the food is really nice with plenty of choice nice clean and friendly no wonder they call it the happy people's place see you next year destina also a mention about Ali he took some lovely photos of us all together which can be made into key rings magnets or just a photo and are reasonably priced thank you to all of the staff for another fantastic holiday

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank jojo198411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our first time to Turkey and we can now say it wont be our last. The Destina hotel is clean, comfortable and very welcoming, the rooms are a little on the small side but perfectly adequate. The shower takes a bit of getting used to, but again was ok. All the public areas are well maintained and kept clean and tidy.
We were a little concerned before our trip as some of the reviews are quite negative about the food, however in our opinion the food was of a good standard and there was always something to suit us. Our favourite was the night we had the kebab, it was delicious.
The hotel staff are a great bunch, always smiling and happy to help, Gadget & Gizmo are very funny and always make sure that they speak to everyone, every day.
Noise can be a slight issue, but people just need to be a bit more thoughtful when returning in the early hours.
All in all we had a fab time and met some lovely people (Tommy & Mary you were brill)
Can also recommend the hotel spa for a turkish bath, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.7 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
1.3 mi away
Gokcen Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Telmessos Hotel
Telmessos Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hisaronu
983 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tunacan Hotel
Tunacan Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ovacik
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range: £28 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing