We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem of a hotel”
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Destina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from 11 nights at the Destina and what a fab time we had. As stated in earlier reviews the rooms are small but are kept spotless as are the grounds which are stunning. The food could be a little repatative but there was always plenty of choice and lots of it.The desserts were a work of art and the pizza and burgers at 3pm and cakes at 5pm meant that you we're never short of something. The waiters were great and the entertainment team were brilliant, Gadget and Gismo were a riot. You didn't feel pressurised into joining in and I never thought that I would be doing pool aerobics but really enjoyed it as they made everything such fun. The Turkish bath is well worth a visit as are the beauty salons in nearby Hisaranu. We went on a jeep safari with Focus Tours, with a Jack Sparrow character and had a brilliant day for £14 including a lovely lunch. I won't give too much away but buy a water gun at the garage and you will have a lot more fun. Last point, go to the liitle shop on the way to Hisaranu for the best exchange rate - much better than getting your money in the UK. I would go back to this hotel for sure !!

Room Tip: We stayed opposite reception (were the free wi-fi is) and apart from some inconsiderate visitors sla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scousejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    255
    104
    37
    31
See reviews for
212
454
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in early June, with my boyfriend and another couple, had a wonderful time, staff are wonderful, food was amazing, will be retuning to Turkey again. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! Hotel was relaxing and really lovely. Gadget and Gizmo were hilarious! Only problem was the TVs are very old and out dated, and the pool and resturant don't stock normal juice, other than that, amazing!!!! Go into town for excursions, and do the mud baths/turtle beach!! Definitely have a turkish bath in the hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vjplum413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've just got home from the second time of being at this hotel & would definitely go back. Fab hotel & fab entertainers. Had an amazing holiday there last year & again this year!! Gadget & gizmo make the hotel! Best holiday yet!! Can't wait to go back, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laureneastoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just got back from the Destina on 7th of July with my partner and 1 year old son.The resort is spotless with amazing views of surrounding mountains and sunset at night from the dining area.

Hotel - Very clean and well kept. Rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed everyday, all the maids were really friendly. Pool area was kept clean and tidy. If there are more than two of you in your party then you may have problems getting more than 2 loungers at the pool if you leave it until after 9am.

I have seen a few reviews that moan about noise at night, we didn't encounter this but we were staying down the very end of the hall way although we had a group of 3 couples move in across from us who were in and out each others rooms banging the front doors in the morning but we were up and ready for breakfast so didn't wake us.

Food - The food was excellent, plenty to choose from and was something new every night for the whole two weeks we were there. There was things that were cooked almost daily like chips, spag bol, etc but plenty to chose from and unless you are really fussy should have no problems. Waiting staff were really pleasant, especially one young guy who was really good with our son, didn't catch his name as he was the only one with no name badge.

Entertainment - Was a bit repetative during the day and from 2.30 - 3.30ish you couldn't get in the shallow end of the pool for water volleyball and polo everyday, didn't bother us (i joined in :) ha) but may some people. We had a few acts on whilst we were there but bingo and karaoke are repeated every week and Sunday is Gadgets night off so nothing happens that night. Gadget and Gizmo are a couple of characters (especially Gadget), pair of them are really funny and make the place what it is. Was rather disappointed that through the world cup there was lack of showing the games, especially the night time game but Gadget assured us it was the managers choice and not his fault. He did come in every morning and made a point of coming to tell me the score which was nice.

Bar - The pool bar is the only bar that serves alcohol all day and at night when the entertainment is on. It was never overly crowded so could get served pretty quickly but do be aware it is pretty much a free for all as the staff serve whoever is standing in front of them and there are folk who'll jump in instead of saying you're next.

There was a couple of staff, not all though who weren't the best when taking orders or being sufficiently quick, had the bar been busier then this would have been a problem.

The holiday overall was amazing but we did have a couple of issues which won't be a problem for most people. As our son had just turned 1 we asked for a cot in our room which we did get however we did not use this as the sides were so low when he stood up he could easily fall out, the beds in the room are so big the 3 of us slept comfortably in it. Also when eating at the dining area we had to request a high chair which we did get but would probably have been safer sitting him on a chair as there was no straps and didn't look very safe, we watched him like a hawk and sat him in between us and he didn't try to wriggle or get out so we were ok. If we had a choice to go back we would, a few very small things could be done to improve but nothing major to take away that fact that we really enjoyed ourselves however this hotel isn't aimed at young families, had our son been a few years older we'd probably look into somewhere a bit more kids orientated.

Hope this helps

Michael

Room Tip: End of the corriders, less folk to walk by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went back to Destina again for the 4th time, my son who is 19 came as well ( his 2nd time) it was better than last year .the first thing the owner asked me was what do you think about the food, I told him it was better. I dont know what it is about this hotel that makes it so special! Think it has to be the staff they are so friendly even the little man who cleans round the pool. My son went on the night club trip with Gadget and Gizmo and also went off to play football at midnight. There were alot of people there who had bin there before. Destina is a very special place, yes the rooms are small, but you only sleep in them! There is a limit choice of food, but there is plenty and its fresh. I love this place and will definitely be going back. Well done Destina you definitely are happy peoples place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

destina hotel is amazing views to die for had a great time with family gadget and gizmo are fantastic all staff are so nice waiters cleaners etc will return next year for a nother great holiday just sitting on a night watching the sun go down drinking wine

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annestewart_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As this was my first time to turkey I was a little bit unsure but It was the best holiday I have ever had! We arrived at destina in the middle of the night and we had a warm welcome from the staff who greeted us and we was given sandwiches which was a nice touch.

The house keeping were very good cleaned our room every day n replenished towels and water in the fridge.

Pool was big and lovely beautiful views of the mountains everywhere you looked. As any hotel there was the issue if having to get up at the crack of dawn to secure Sun beds but the staff were always good at helping you find somevif you woke up late.

Food was lovely and very tasty and there was lots of choices. The snack bar also offered pizza chips and burgers.

I would recommend the Turkish bath in the hotel. I had this on my first day and was amazing the men were very professional and good at what they do. I felt so pampered and relaxed after and my skin was really smooth.

Finally, the icing on the cake was the entertainment staff; gadget and gizmo. They made everyone feel do welcome. They make the effort to come over and introduce themselves, ask where your from etc. They got us all involved in the activities; water polo volleyball water aerobics etc. They gave us tips . On the best excursions and what bars to go to in the town. They do a club night every Wed which was good, only 5 l for the mini bus there and back and free entry to the bars. After lots of cocktails and dancing they take you to McKebabs before going back to the hotel. Literally best kebab we ever had and we returned a few more times!

Gadget recommend the jeep safari and offered to book us with the best company and best driver. This was the best day if our holiday! Ask for animal.

This hotel was just right for a relaxing holiday. Wasn't too quiet with entertainment such as Turkish dancing and karaoke but st the same time we could take a taxi into the town for the lively bars and shops.

I would definitely come back here and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Thanks hotel destina for the best holiday!!! Miss you already, from Kent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
1.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#7 of 103 in Oludeniz
448 reviews
1.0 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
887 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.7 mi away
St Nicholas Park
St Nicholas Park
#21 of 103 in Oludeniz
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Property: Destina Hotel
Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing