We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first holiday in Turkey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garden of Eden
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our first holiday in Turkey”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We arrived here in the dead of night, our first holiday in Turkey and were met with the warmest of greetings. We chose this hotel as it was advertised as family run, we were not disappointed.The hotel rooms are simply furnished, with all basic needs catered for. Any small problems we had with the room were dealt with promptly and with no fuss, and usually sorted whilst we were out through the day or evening. The adjoining restaurant served a very good standard of food and we enjoyed the Turkish night and the choice of Mezes were extremely good. Turkish breakfast is included, but over a two week stay it got a bit samey.A greater choice for breakfast would be favourable, or a buffet style maybe?
The swimming pool has no shallow end so is not really suitable for young children, although the Turkish children seemed ok with it.
The family are all lovely and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The location is great,nice and quiet at night apart from other noisy guests and Hissaronou is easy to reach on foot.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollysnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Having read the fantastic reviews of this small family hotel I thought I would be in for a real treat!. I have never gone for a 2 star establishment before and foolishly thought I would be experiencing a little gem, however this was not the case. The hotel is indeed family run and we were greeted warmly. The room was pleasant with newish furniture, the bathroom however was very tiny and could do with a complete refit. The shower was a poor wet room style with torn plastic curtains which did litlle to prevent the toilet and floor of the entire room getting soaked. The hot water to the 'shower' took ages to come through although the basin water was quick. The shelf above the basin was broken and the toilet seat almost broken...very wobbly. Breakfast was the normal turkish bread, olives tomato and cucumber although eggs of any description would be cooked to order, fruit was extra as was an extra cup of tea, during our few days there we discovered cereal and toast were also available. The menu for dinner boasted chunky cut chips but these were frozen normal chips, we ate in the restaurant once encouraged by the regular use by outsiders, but found the meal to be pretty mediocre. Air con and safe deposit were extra also. The pool area was pleasant with trees and umbrellas for shadeand plenty of sunbeds. All in all a very bsic but clean 2 star. We found a beautiful hotel a few yards away much better value and quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dioamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

A very friendly family run place which we have been to many times and will be returning to in August. Place is always clean and tidy. All staff will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Food is very nice with a good selection. Situated about five minute from town centre so it is quiet at night. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CougarNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned home after a three week stay at this hotel.The hotel and Almond restaurant are run by two cousins,Zafir who seems to have more to do with the hotel,and Murat who runs the restaurant.Firstly the hotel.Zaf , his wife Funda and daughter Tuana are a lovely family and nothing was too much bother if you asked for anything.The rooms are basic but are a decent size.Bed linen and towels are excellent quality and are changed regularly. The only thing that I would criticise is that the beds were not made every day and the bins were not emptied daily,especially the toilet paper bin which should be done purely for hygiene reasons.Next is the Almond restaurant which Murat manages.He is a lovely guy who takes great pride in the Almond and particularly the new menu,and again nothing is too much bother.We ate in the Almond five times and the food was excellent.The mezes at the Turkish night were the best we have ever had in twenty years of going to Turkey.Chef and his kitchen staff have to be congratulated for their hard work.But there are problems in the Almond.I have never went down for breakfast in the mornings and have had to wait on the staff getting up or arriving for work.This occured on many mornings even as late as eight thirty and then being asked by Musti the bar manager why we were up so early!The biggest problem is a lad called Zee who is new to this establishment.He is extremely rude to guests, talking back.and being cheeky.He has to be asked repeatedly for either bread ,butter or anything else he has forgotten then he takes the huff and mumbles away in his own language.He dropped his phone one night breaking it and hurled it out of the restaurant onto the road in front of guests which Musti found funny,very professional!He also helps himself to guests cigarettes whenever he has a chance.These actions generally happen when Murat is not around.Other guests stopped eating in the Almond as we did because of this individuals manner and bad atmosphere he created.We spoke to Murat about him.and Zaf on our last morning as he "accidently" spilled the milk over our table.as he knew we had a problem with him.We were leaving that morning around 11am,but before we left Musti approached me to say that Zaf had told him we had complained about Zee and aked what the problem was as everyone liked him.This turned out to be untrue as other guests including ones who have been staying there for many years felt the same way .In fact Musti sat on a bar stool one evening when this Zee was talking back to guests being cheeky and did absolutely nothing.Once again Murat was not there to witness this as it would not have happened if he wasThe actions of this one individual could damage all the hard work Murat has put into the Almond and we would be very sorry to see that happen as he is such a nice person.Overall we had a very good holiday, met some lovely people.(Sandra remember it is called Britain) Sam next time there is an earthquake remember your teeth.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGOE, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Garden of Eden, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guests

Firstly thank you for your comments, we appreciate all customer feedback and are always striving to ensure a great customer service. We have made a note of all of the feedback given and enjoyed to hear the positive aspects of your review as well. We have taken action on the feedback given and I would like you to know that we have also made changes within the staff team. Again we were aware of your comments before you left but we confirm that these did not fall on deaf ears. I apologise for any bad feeling or inconvenience you may have felt and hope that the actions we have taken will help you feel that there has been some resolve. Again many thanks for all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My son and I had such a lovely time in August.Perfect weather-great location for various amenities-clean,friendly,great value hotel,with yummy food.7 days were not enough!The staff really made us feel at home and are so pleasant.My mum recommended this hotel and there are alot of people who go time after time.In fact we are going back!-My husband wants to go now too.Thanks again to all of you at the Garden of Eden and have a lovely rest-You deserve it.x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HelenC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks holiday at this True Gem of a small family run hotel
The wife and i now feel that we have extended our family to include all the staff at the hotel
They were all truly great, but keep your wits about you with Musti [ only joking mate]
Rooms clean ,food excellent, bar and service exceptional
I beleive planned improvements to rooms and pool area are to be carried out this winter ,so should be even better next year Can,t wait
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roger p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I have once again had a great stay at the garden of eden. Murat, Zaf and Musti were all brilliant as always. The accomadation is clean and comfortable, but basic this is reflected in the price. The resturant (cafe almond) is fantastic, the food is of high quality, erol the chef is brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daryn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.4 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ramos Hotel
Ramos Hotel
#55 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Apart Hotel
Sea Breeze Apart Hotel
#43 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden of Eden

Property: Hotel Garden of Eden
Address: Kirancagil Mevki Babadagi Yolu Fethiye Merkez, Ovacik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
#9 Family Hotel in Ovacik
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garden of Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Garden of Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden Of Eden Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing