We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”
Review of Mercan Restaurant

Mercan Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 52 Restaurants in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Turkish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Best restaurant in town
essex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We were recommended the Mercan by a friend who visits Turkey regularly.
The staff were lovely, nothing too much trouble and the food was enjoyable.
I would have liked to have seen the fresh dough (for puffy bread) covered up though as there were lots of flies about.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rich2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    11
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One not to be missed... Lovely food and hosts”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed close by and decided to give it a try for breakfast. Food was all cooked fresh and delicious, the owners and their team very friendly. Needless to say, we went back several times for both breakfast and evening meals. No frozen chips here... Potatoes of your choice or fresh hand cut chips. Relaxed atmosphere, dining under those huge grapevines. Give it a go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunlubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We ate at the Mercan several times during our holiday in July 2014. Every meal was excellent. We are a family of 4 and went for breakfast, lunch and dinner over the 10 days we were in Turkey. The waiter Adam was a lovely man, very attentive. We can highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“strange”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Mm struggling with this one.Visited this restaurant after reading positive reviews on trip advisor. We arrived at about 7.45PM and apart from us there was only one other family in, it was lacking in atmosphere but we decided to stay. We ordered our drinks, starters and mains swiftly. Our drinks arrived and after a short wait some complimentary bread. Then we waited and waited and waited and waited,no food of any description arrived even though there were three members of staff in the kitchen. We asked the waiter for a wine list he didn't understand so he gota lady (which i presume is the owners wife) to attend to us, she brought the wine list and i'm still waiting for her to come back to take our order(its about three weeks ago ). We were just thinking about leaving when the starters arrived, after a wait of about 1hr 20mins, rather strange as by this point there was no one else in the place. I cant fault the food, very good quality and lovely presentation when it eventually arrived but the customer service lets this place down Left feeling like i'd experienced a very strange evening !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty_44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous - Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic holiday staying in an apartment near the Mercan restaurant. Had met Nihat, the owner before a few years ago and he was always so friendly and welcoming. We booked to stay in our friends apartment this year but as we couldn't move in straight away we booked a few days in the Cennet hotel also owned by Nihat. Our room was basic but very clean and with air conditioning and fridge. The pool was lovely too and even when we moved into our apartment we still used the pool as Nihat told us we were like family and could treat it as our own. Nihats lovely wife Sirpil always had friendly chat with us and everyone including their son Khan and Adem, the waiter made us feel very welcome no matter what time of the day or night.
The food is fabulous and very well presented. I would definitely recommend the Chicken Emmense, delicious! We ate here more than a few times and always called in for a nightcap on the way home.
Nihats special cocktail Sunbeam, is a must for any cocktail lovers and was fabulous!!
It is a little off the main strip at the top near the roundabout but is definitely not to be missed!!
Looking forward to my next visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercan Restaurant also viewed

Ovacik, Mugla Province
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 
Ovacik, Mugla Province
 

Been to Mercan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing