We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back for a 3rd year”
Review of Celay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Celay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going back for a 3rd year”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We first visited in 2012 and were delighted to have found the perfect hotel, friendly, clean, quiet, relaxing, great food and an all round brilliant location.
A nice walk into Ovacik takes you to a great selection of restaurants, the 3 cheers being our favourite along with the Yasaroglu but you could go to a different one everynight and not be dissappointed. The Turtle and Teras are great for lunchtime snacks as is the hotel bar.
The reception and bar staff really look after you, the Turkish night is a great night for food and dancing!! and the cleaners keep the place spotless.
We have spent weeks looking for somewhere for our holiday for 2014 when we realised we couldnt think of anywhere we would rather be, so its back to see the folks at the The Celay for us, happy days.
ps
The weather is fantastic in September.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    151
    42
    17
    8
See reviews for
248
420
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just booked to return to The Celay for the 3rd year running. We first went in 2012 having never been to Turkey before and I cannot believe how lucky we were to find this gem of hotel in a perfect location. We were shown our room on arrival and although this would have been fine, we decided to upgrade to a room with a gorgeous view, lovely big bathroom, air conditioning etc. Breakfast is a typical Turkish affair, with bread, jams, cheese, fruit and salad and is the perfect start to the day.
The hotel is absolutely spotless with the rooms being cleaned daily. There are more than enough loungers around the pool area which is also spotless.
The hotel is only a short walk away from the main street of Ovacik which has numerous bars and restaurants all of which offer set meal at unbelievable prices…. Try the 3 Cheers, Angora and Aubergine although the food in the hotel is amazing.
We returned last year, this time for 10 days and we were treated like old friends so much so that, although this year we toyed with the idea of Italy or Greece, we decided that for us there is no where quite like The Celay. We’ve booked independently this year and Ugur could not have been more helpful.
So to sum up, if you want a perfect relaxing break, in a perfect hotel in a perfect location The Celay is just for you.

Jacqueline & David

Room Tip: All the room have balconies but the upgraded rooms are worth that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jac-DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

just booked two weeks in August back at celay. this will be our eighth time hear. On our first holiday here we were met and treated like one of the family by the owners cellal. and ayten and by all the staff and it has been the same on every visit. The hotel has been heavily invested in and is a very modern clean friendly hotel.restaurant and bar are excellent great choice on menu and food you could die for. The swimming pool is cleaned every morning and plenty of sun loungers and parasols. See you all in August can't wait Keith and glo. Pattison

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keithglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My partner has been here a few times and wanted to take myself and my son, which we did in September 2013.
Best holiday in years!! The staff are amazing, hard working and kept us entertained every day. The Managers always on site and friendly, (plus turtles), always helping with any questions or information. Nani, Joseph, George thank you we had a lot of fun and memories. Food good and service brilliant, hotel always clean and tidy. The Celay hotel is up in the mountains, very reasonable priced, always peaceful, the taxis or buses are a short walk away. Beautiful views. Recommend the Celay to anyone. Going back next year, cant wait!!!!

Room Tip: The new rooms are the better ones with the balconies and air conditoning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We wanted a cheap hotel to use while we spent our time sailing in October 2013. We were so amazed and pleased to find the Celay Hotel offering far more than a 3* service. We found the staff very accommodating, they would do anything for us. Thank you to George who took us by car to Ovacik to our boat and spent a good while helping us find where we needed to get to. Thank you to Nani and Ogur and the rest of the staff for a good stay and keeping us entertained. The room maid was charming and gave us the added treat of the swan towels sculptures (how do they do that!). The only downsides were the rather poor quality of the coffee and 2 very noisy guests who disturbed our sleep (could happen anywhere). Hotel so bright and clean and a pleasure to be there. Lovely location away from noisy traffic, good transport anywhere you needed to get to. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool pick up more noise and music from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamelaG824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Returned to the Celay this October after a very enjoyable 10 days spent there in May/June last year.
Quieter this September, which suited us fine. Welcomed back by the owners and staff like long lost friends.
Again couldn't fault accommodation, food and service. Whole hotel very clean. Although we returned to the more reasonable room we occupied last visit there are some very desirable rooms in the new block which we intend to book for next year.
All the staff cannot do enough for you.
The owners are on site all day around the pool and maintain a very high level of service.
Considering the very reasonable rates, even for half board, we feel it is very good value indeed and hard to match.
The Celay is up a hill away from the main area of Ovacik and therefore is quieter, with lovely views of the mountains and valley.Although we are not young any more the hill form the main road and transport was not a great problem but could be for any with severe mobility problems.
Local restaurants and even the hairdresser sent transport for us and taxis are reasonable if the walk back seems daunting after a few drinks.
The Dalmush minibuses are within walking distance, reliable and reasonable.
Recommend the Celay and the area without reservation.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are very clean and contain good basic amenities. No TV. There is a new block with top q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTURNIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have stayed at the Celay hotel in Turkey two years in the trot and intend to re book for 20014
it is clean and great value for money The staff are friendly and cant do enough for you any one going to Turkey for the first time would have no worries in booking the Celay

Room Tip: book the Delux rooms I would also book direct with the hotel it is better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.4 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.5 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#8 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celay Hotel

Property: Celay Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mevki Oludeniz, Ovacik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ovacik
#1 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celay Hotel Fethiye
Celay Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing