We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Far Out!!!!”
Review of Celay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Celay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Too Far Out!!!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The Celey Hotel itself is really nice, couldnt fault it at all. The staff were really nice and friendly, nothing was to much trouble. We went for 2 weeks half board and i have got to say the food was excellent, the service could have been a little quicker as the evening meal started between 8 and 10pm we got down for 8pm and it was 9:45 by the time we was coming out. i would have prefered it to have started around 7pm (hey but you cant have everything can you) The worse thing about the Celey Hotel was its location, its out in the mountains and up a very steep hill, there was no dolmus (bus) stop outside the hotel so you had to walk for about 15-20 mins down the hill to the main road to catch one. Someone has put on their review that it only takes 20 mins walk to Hisaronu....take it from me that is completely untrue, we tried it the first night we got there and it took us a good 45-50 mins walk (NEVER AGAIN) So if you have walking difficulties i wouldnt bother with this hotel unless you take plenty of money for taxi's which we ended up using for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevnMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    151
    42
    17
    8
See reviews for
248
424
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Just got back from a lovely relaxing holiday, the Celay is worth going to, its clean, quieter than most hotels ive been in and clean. The staff are really friendly but not in your face, and love to have a laugh and a joke with you. There was a couple who brought there problems with them which did wind us up a bit, but its not the fault of the hotel.
I agree with the rest of the comments from this months reviews. I think Jalal and Ayten have got it made. Hope I spelt your names correct! If your reading this (Dave Evans) ive lost your details, hope you still have ours. x

Thank you for a special holiday. Miss you lots. x love Julie 106.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Celay just recently and it was really nice. We got a very good rate and decided to upgrade before we got there from reading the reviews which in hindsight was worth it for the TV, big power shower and safety deposit box in the room (you have to put your valuables in the safe at hotel reception otherwise which could mean allot of back and forth!) Aircon was not included on our deal but we didn't need it because there was a nice breeze coming into the room during our stay. If you book through your agent before you arrive you might find you make a considerable saving on the deluxe room as opposed to upgrading on arrival.
The rooms were quite big, clean and to a very good standard for the price, nice balcony overlooking the big pool, they were cleaned daily and the bed and pillows were ok.

The Bar staff and waiters are really friendly and would do anything for you. We also heard some really unfair reports about this place regarding loud music and chavs staying at the hotel but this wasn't the case during our stay. Nice mix of people we thought. I would suggest taking a torch for one of the connecting roads to take the dolmus because 50-100m can be dark at night (just to avoid a twisted ankle on the odd rocks scattered when walking down it at night)

We thought the Turkish people were extremely friendly (even when they were not selling you something which makes a nice change to other countries) and this made our stay even more memorable.

Do visit the Blue Lagoon and Billy's Beach for a cheaper alternative around the corner (you have to pay for sun beds and entry as it is a natural reserve but not Billy's). The tours on offer are excellent value for money and I would recommend the Jeep Safari and Blue Cave boat tour. Avoid the sunset tour if you prefer not to dance around a camp fire at the end hen you get off the boat for an hour and a half to music that would only be appropriate at a funeral.

Overall we would probably go back to this hotel and would definitely recommend it for location. You have the option of three places to visit. Stay in Ovacik for little local restaurants, go to Hirasonou for a bit more lively nighttime entertainment (bit chavvy though we thought but people watching can be fun) and our favourite was Fetthiye because of the harbour and fish market which we visited several times for some excellent sea food meals that simply cannot be missed if you love fish like we do. Meals in Fetthiye are cheaper and better in our opinion but we did have lovely meals in all the places mentioned above. Its not cheap but cheaper than UK and anyway you are on holiday after all! Oludeniz beachfront is around £50-60 for two. Fetthiye fish market £30+ for two big seafood meals or less if you eat in the local district just before Fetthiye £15 for two local turkish cuisine which is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b123basset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a what value for money is all about. This hotel is clean, beautifully presented and very relaxing. All of the staff are friendly (without being creepy or letchy) and professional. The owners are constantly wondering about the hotel keeping an eye on things so standards are very high for a budget hotel. We booked this as a delayed honeymoon.

Breakfasts are Turkish continental but nice. They do a full english or pancakes or fruit salad for about £2.50 and it is all nice and fresh. The bar snacks are great value and very tasty. The evening meals - well all I can say is they have a great chef. Portions are on the large side (may be because I am pregnant and short of space!) but everything well cooked and not once did I come down with 'holiday belly'.

All rooms overlook the pool. In the past, in other hotels in this region, that would be a major problem. Apart from on Turkish night (Thursday) music is kept to a nice background level and does not keep you up.

The grounds are all beautifully maintained and there are several tortoises about too!

As for location, when leaving the hotel if you take the first dirt path on the left downhill you get the first main road quicker. Cross over the road and walk down the hill past the cemetary to the main Ovacik road. There is a dolmus stop right there. Rides for two into Hisaranou take a few minutes and cost about 2 lira 50 (about a pound). Olu Deniz is not much further, maybe 20 minutes. Loads of really good scooter hire in town as well. About £25 -30 for 3 days and well worth it. Walking into the main strip of Hisaranou is hard in the heat and woudl take at least 35+ mins, but with Dolmus's every few mins, there is no need.

All in all this is a great hotel in a great location. This is one hotel myself and my husband are very keen to experience again and again. FIRST RATE!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

what can I say one of the best places to go in this area, 2 nd time this year ,hotel very clean and tidy ,rooms are cleaned every day. good and friendly people , the new buld is great well worth the up grade,at the hotel staff will do anthing for you to make you happy , big T V to watch the footie or F1 in my case , table foot ball if there is no one to play with one of the staff will play [but you wont win] pool .snooker,ping pong, and there is always the pool one of the bigest around, if you want lots of air beds around all free, now the good bit the bar. open from 8 am if it dont close, bar staff seem to come alive at night and some can dance or so they think [ rember the kiss kiss song ] they can make any drink you want [ but have trouble with the new coffie mc ] who wants coffie anyway, stop there the over half says it very good, do know did not try it myself, the music goes down a bit at midnight which is good for anyone who has got to go on trips the next day, but is still loud enough to party on til 3 or 4 am,
all the food is well priced and very good, restrant is very clean ,the turkish night is very good but you must take part in the danceing to make the night ,

one small prop the small amount GUESTS the take there props on hols with them{ DONT leave them at home you only spoil it for everyone else, dont they( SORRY NO NAMES } but it takes 2 to tango,

we had a great time and are going again, meet a lot of new friends there and most are going back the same week next year, so hope to see you all again;

I think this hotel is great its away from all the noise of the town but easy to get to the night life,about £ 4 taxi 2 min , or bus £ 1, or walk we did most of the time, plenty of bars on the way if you need to stop for a quick one or two,but taxi back, or if you eat free lift home from most restrants,

best places to eat 3 cheers bottom of hill,free lift home,
town. suesannes turkish restrant ,eat early the clubs are next door and the music gets loud;

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We have just returned from a one week at the Celay Hotel and I have to say I couldn't fault it. The staff were lovely, the hotel beautifully clean and the pool was huge and often empty! The hotel is nestled in the hills of the village of Ovacik and this is what we loved about the hotel. Yes it is on the outskirts of the village and yes it is a 10 minute walk (maximum) to the dolmus stop but it really isn't far and to be honest it is quite nice to have a little walk before sitting down in a bar or restaurant all evening! Plus, when you are at the hotel, there is no noise from surrounding hotels and no traffic noise so it is lovely to relax in. You can easily walk into Ovacik for a meal and we would highly recommend 3 Cheers restaurant whose food and service is superb. You can also walk into Hisaronu (25 mins walk) or get the dolmus. Hisaronu is a lively resort full of bars, restaurants, fairground rides and karaoke bars. It is quite full on and not for everyone but makes a nice change for an evening if you want a livelier night out! We found a restaurant there called 4 Seasons which was also very nice. It is also really easy to get into Olu Deniz and Fathiye on the dolmus (both are about 20 mins away). Olu Deniz is a beautiful beach resort, quite and relaxing. We would highly recommend the Help bar in Olu Deniz. Their food is superb and the cocktails are fantastic!
All in all, I thought the Celay was great. The staff were really helpful, the bar snacks and breakfasts were really good and there were only a couple of kids there and no chavs so it was really relaxing. The pool is really big and I never saw more than a handful of people in the pool at any one time. There are more than enough sunbeds to go round and despite people putting towels out on the sunbeds at the crack of dawn, there were still plenty free all day. This was our first visit to the Celay and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moffbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed here for a week starting on the 3rd of September, didn't get there 'till around 4am after a 4 hour flight from Birmingham, but was met and shown to our room, which they upgraded us (FREE) to the newer Deluxe rooms, as the standard rooms were full.

Aircon' costs around £4.00 a day, but well worth it, rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, and were left clean with fresh towels, breakfast is, as it say's in the brochure, Turkish, bread, jams, meats, cheese, etc, but you can pay around £2.00 for a English breakfast, which I did a few times, and is well worth it, tea, coffee and fruit juice is free

We stayed B&B, but did eat at the hotels restaurant a few times, we found there was a good choice of food available, and not bad on price either.

The hotel is slightly out of the way, but only a short walk to find the Dolmus, or you can get a taxi from the hotel, but we knew this before we booked and was just what we wanted, no noise, and after 11.30pm the bar turned the music down, and was never a problem sleeping.

If your looking for a nice clean hotel with friendly staff and a super sized swimming pool, then you really can't go wrong with the Celay ....

We can't wait to get back next year .....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeBee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.4 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,238 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 103 in Oludeniz
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.5 mi away
Tunacan Hotel
Tunacan Hotel
#8 of 19 in Ovacik
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celay Hotel

Property: Celay Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mevki Oludeniz, Ovacik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ovacik
#1 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celay Hotel Fethiye
Celay Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing