We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of Celay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Celay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was our first trip to Turkey. The plan was to chill out for a week, just relaxing in the sun by the pool. We chose Celay because it's not in one of the main tourist areas that way there wasn't going to be loud music and massively drunken people treating us to karaoke at 3am. The celay is a good spot for this. It has a good sized pool, nice bar and the resturant is good too. Ok the breakfast is is a basic fruit and coffee type thing, if you want something more you can pay for a fry up that will cost you a couple of quid. There are plenty of other restaurants within 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel so you don't have to catch the bus if you fancy a change. Jimmy's resturant was close and good.

Buses run amazingly often are air-conditioned and are very cheap. The walk to the bus stop takes around five minutes. This will take you in olu deniz in around 15 minutes.

The staff were really nice, no one was pushy and seemed to be enjoying their job.

We upgraded to the new luxury room, this cost £10 a day and gives you aircon, a safe and a tv. The rooms are finished to a great standard for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TackyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    151
    42
    17
    8
See reviews for
254
434
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Have been going to Hisaronu/Olu Deniz for the last 8 years once or twice a year and this is best hotel I have stayed in. We upgraded to a deluxe room which was well worth it -Large and airy with fabulous bathroom (great power shower), always spotlessly cleaned when we returned in the afternoon. Aircon included (this is always an extra charge in 3* in Turkey), with flat screen tv (never had that before)! and safe in the room (saved a lot of "tooing and froeing" to reception). Only rated the sleep quality as very good, as a couple of nights we were disturbed by some very inconsiderate noisy neighbours (why are they always drunk)!! as the accoustics in the new block are very "echoey"

Great, large pool with plenty of sunbeds - hotel was full but still never had a problem getting one. The ones in the best positions (i.e. sun from am to pm) always went first and some people did put their towels on these so they could go shopping in the morning and come back to the best spots in the afternoon. But that's ok if they don't turn up after breakfast, fold their towels nice and tidy and leave somewhere where they won't get wet for them to collect later in the day - simple!!

Half Board was okay - nothing spectactular (don't expect "masterchef") - but always very tasty and portions big enough.

Yes it was a bit of a walk to Hisaronu - If you want to be in the centre of the bright lights and all that goes with it - loud clubs, loud bars, loud music, lairy people, falling over at 4am - the Celay won't be for you but for us it was perfect - far enough away that we didn't
have to experience Hisaronu even if we didn't want too! We did walk into town a few times (it's downhill) but got a taxi back!

The Owners and staff at the Celay were the most professional, courteous, polite and well behaved I have ever come across in Turkey - absolutely first class - Orhan and Ondur/Ernie - you are a credit to the Celay, keep up the good work - Thankyou!

We had a great week and will definately stay at the Celay again. For those people who complained that the owners/staff never waved them goodbye at the end of their stay - Would you expect this from a hotel in UK? - thought not!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekesuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I have been going to this hotel since it first opened and i love it,it feels like my second home. Staff and owners lovely,Very clean,very relaxing,location fab just far enough away from more lively resorts but near enough if you want them.beautiful scenery surrounding hotel,gorgeous pool,food v good,lovely coffee at bar! Whenever i have been there the other guests seem very pleasant.I didn"t find it noisy at all.I have recommended this hotel to some of my hairdressing clients and they have loved it .Fetiye is lovely for shopping and eating out,bus service is so easy they will stop where ever you want providing its on route .Can"t wait to go again .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The Celey Hotel itself is really nice, couldnt fault it at all. The staff were really nice and friendly, nothing was to much trouble. We went for 2 weeks half board and i have got to say the food was excellent, the service could have been a little quicker as the evening meal started between 8 and 10pm we got down for 8pm and it was 9:45 by the time we was coming out. i would have prefered it to have started around 7pm (hey but you cant have everything can you) The worse thing about the Celey Hotel was its location, its out in the mountains and up a very steep hill, there was no dolmus (bus) stop outside the hotel so you had to walk for about 15-20 mins down the hill to the main road to catch one. Someone has put on their review that it only takes 20 mins walk to Hisaronu....take it from me that is completely untrue, we tried it the first night we got there and it took us a good 45-50 mins walk (NEVER AGAIN) So if you have walking difficulties i wouldnt bother with this hotel unless you take plenty of money for taxi's which we ended up using for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevnMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Just got back from a lovely relaxing holiday, the Celay is worth going to, its clean, quieter than most hotels ive been in and clean. The staff are really friendly but not in your face, and love to have a laugh and a joke with you. There was a couple who brought there problems with them which did wind us up a bit, but its not the fault of the hotel.
I agree with the rest of the comments from this months reviews. I think Jalal and Ayten have got it made. Hope I spelt your names correct! If your reading this (Dave Evans) ive lost your details, hope you still have ours. x

Thank you for a special holiday. Miss you lots. x love Julie 106.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Celay just recently and it was really nice. We got a very good rate and decided to upgrade before we got there from reading the reviews which in hindsight was worth it for the TV, big power shower and safety deposit box in the room (you have to put your valuables in the safe at hotel reception otherwise which could mean allot of back and forth!) Aircon was not included on our deal but we didn't need it because there was a nice breeze coming into the room during our stay. If you book through your agent before you arrive you might find you make a considerable saving on the deluxe room as opposed to upgrading on arrival.
The rooms were quite big, clean and to a very good standard for the price, nice balcony overlooking the big pool, they were cleaned daily and the bed and pillows were ok.

The Bar staff and waiters are really friendly and would do anything for you. We also heard some really unfair reports about this place regarding loud music and chavs staying at the hotel but this wasn't the case during our stay. Nice mix of people we thought. I would suggest taking a torch for one of the connecting roads to take the dolmus because 50-100m can be dark at night (just to avoid a twisted ankle on the odd rocks scattered when walking down it at night)

We thought the Turkish people were extremely friendly (even when they were not selling you something which makes a nice change to other countries) and this made our stay even more memorable.

Do visit the Blue Lagoon and Billy's Beach for a cheaper alternative around the corner (you have to pay for sun beds and entry as it is a natural reserve but not Billy's). The tours on offer are excellent value for money and I would recommend the Jeep Safari and Blue Cave boat tour. Avoid the sunset tour if you prefer not to dance around a camp fire at the end hen you get off the boat for an hour and a half to music that would only be appropriate at a funeral.

Overall we would probably go back to this hotel and would definitely recommend it for location. You have the option of three places to visit. Stay in Ovacik for little local restaurants, go to Hirasonou for a bit more lively nighttime entertainment (bit chavvy though we thought but people watching can be fun) and our favourite was Fetthiye because of the harbour and fish market which we visited several times for some excellent sea food meals that simply cannot be missed if you love fish like we do. Meals in Fetthiye are cheaper and better in our opinion but we did have lovely meals in all the places mentioned above. Its not cheap but cheaper than UK and anyway you are on holiday after all! Oludeniz beachfront is around £50-60 for two. Fetthiye fish market £30+ for two big seafood meals or less if you eat in the local district just before Fetthiye £15 for two local turkish cuisine which is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b123basset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a what value for money is all about. This hotel is clean, beautifully presented and very relaxing. All of the staff are friendly (without being creepy or letchy) and professional. The owners are constantly wondering about the hotel keeping an eye on things so standards are very high for a budget hotel. We booked this as a delayed honeymoon.

Breakfasts are Turkish continental but nice. They do a full english or pancakes or fruit salad for about £2.50 and it is all nice and fresh. The bar snacks are great value and very tasty. The evening meals - well all I can say is they have a great chef. Portions are on the large side (may be because I am pregnant and short of space!) but everything well cooked and not once did I come down with 'holiday belly'.

All rooms overlook the pool. In the past, in other hotels in this region, that would be a major problem. Apart from on Turkish night (Thursday) music is kept to a nice background level and does not keep you up.

The grounds are all beautifully maintained and there are several tortoises about too!

As for location, when leaving the hotel if you take the first dirt path on the left downhill you get the first main road quicker. Cross over the road and walk down the hill past the cemetary to the main Ovacik road. There is a dolmus stop right there. Rides for two into Hisaranou take a few minutes and cost about 2 lira 50 (about a pound). Olu Deniz is not much further, maybe 20 minutes. Loads of really good scooter hire in town as well. About £25 -30 for 3 days and well worth it. Walking into the main strip of Hisaranou is hard in the heat and woudl take at least 35+ mins, but with Dolmus's every few mins, there is no need.

All in all this is a great hotel in a great location. This is one hotel myself and my husband are very keen to experience again and again. FIRST RATE!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.4 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#14 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,257 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#8 of 103 in Oludeniz
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Gokcen Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celay Hotel

Property: Celay Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mevki Oludeniz, Ovacik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ovacik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celay Hotel Fethiye
Celay Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing