We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too short a stay ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Lodge at Sandy

The River Lodge at Sandy
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The River Lodge at Sandy
Ranked #4 of 5 Sandy B&B and Inns
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too short a stay ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

On a business trip to the RSPB in Sandy, I stayed a single night. The accommodation was of a high standard. The bedroom, though quite small, was well appointed with all that was needed for a good night's sleep. Breakfast was ample and tasty, and Terry a most welcoming proprietor. What a pity I then had to move onto a hotel booked for me by RSPB training - it didn't benefit from the comparison. River Lodge won on all scores and was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
46
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I had arranged to go down and play golf in the businesses annual golf tornament but as it was a 2 hour drive I had a look at local stop overs. I'm really pleased I did as I found this little gem that is just 10 mins from the course. I arrived mid evning and was impressed with the setting and the building. I has a warm welcome and was shown to my room. All very tidy and homely, exactly what you don't get in a hotel. The room was plenty big enough, furnished well with a comfortable bed. I was up early in the morning but the breakfast was advertised as being served at 730am. I spoke to Terri and she agreed to have breakfast for me at 6:45am, an amazing touch and an amazing breakfast. Best power shower I've yet had! Many thanks and will stop again. Thanks

Room Tip: If any of the rooms are as good as the one I was in then I shouldn't worry which one you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraigy_Needs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for the first time last weekend and was made welcome as soon as we arrived found room clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent, nicely cooked,can recomemend this guest house and will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoppyBarking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We regularly come to River Lodge when visiting family in Sandy, and have been many times. Terri and Keith are wonderful hosts - truly make us feel at home and always look after us very well indeed. The rooms are very comfortable, always spotless. There is always plenty of choice at breakfast whether its a light contiental style or a full freshly cooked breakfast, all is delicious and cooked well. The location is in a lovely quit lane near to the river, and the garden itself runs down to the river. We always look forward to returning, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at River Lodge for 2 nights this last week for a short break. We found a friendly welcoming atmosphere as soon as we turned up. Terry and Keith were the perfect hosts. and their breakfasts were absolutely incredible. The room, (Sage) was wonderful, a lovely size, and very comfortable with added touches of quality.We wish we could find a mattress just like that one as we had a wonderful nights sleep. Although we were limited to curries in Sandy we found a wonderful pub called the Wheatsheaf for our evening meals in the next village. Would we stay there again? Absolutely YES. I would recommend River Lodge to anyone visiting the Sandy area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Many thanks to Terri and Keith. I have been staying at the River Lodge since September 2012 during a relocation from the north of England. The River Lodge is a beautiful house built in 1900 with lovely grounds. The proprietors, Terri and Keith are warm, friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

My review is based on the sequence of my visit.
Arrived to find ample off road parking, nice welcome from the owners, nice room which was very clean and had everything I could wish for.
Sound nights sleep, followed by a nice breakfast.

I was staying for business and very happy with everything.

See you next time and I will no longer have to stay at the Holiday Inn Sandy!! :D

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Highfield Farm Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Potton Nest Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 1 in Potton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
5.0 mi away
Taylard House
Taylard House
#1 of 2 in Gamlingay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lodge at Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lodge at Sandy

Property: The River Lodge at Sandy
Address: The Lodge Mill Lane, Sandy SG19 1NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sandy
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lodge at Sandy is your ideal retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and your convenient base for any business or leisure activity that you wish to pursue. Single rooms available at just £45 pppn. Doubles at £55 prpn based on two sharing. Prices include a full English or continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The River Lodge At Sandy Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing