We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Restuarant”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Sandy B&B and Inns
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Restuarant”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

As it is the only pub in Sandy that serves food, it is a shame that it does not have a listing as such, visited there last night as read on FB that they were doing food again.

Good to see that Mark the chef was back after his recent trip away :) Little touches like soft butter and not a chilled slab makes the difference :)
Good selection of starters, main courses and puddings. Had three courses and 4 pints of beer, came to £26

As I live in sandy, no need to comment on the rooms :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveLiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    3
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winkleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Basic accommodation at a basic price. There were no frills but there was a friendly welcome and an (unexpectedly) comfortable bed. Yes there is some road noise but it certainly did not stop me from sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The previous reviewer had a bad deal. In a way I see where he was coming from. But I actually don't agree. Yes, this place is 'quirky'. Yes, they don't know what they're doing and could be thought to not care, but it's more complex than that.

If you're a smoker, the chalets are perfect, as they offer you a porch on which you can smoke. And the chalets aren't 'sheds'. They may not be to everyone's taste, but mine was perfect. I had the best night's sleep I've had for years, 10 straight hours of it. And it was clean, and cared-for.

Didn't get the promised and paid-for continental breakfast, but got a kind of haphazard 'takeaway'.

The place could earn its living with just a bit more effort from all concerned. Right now it's a beautiful disaster, but well-meaning and full of potential.

I give it 3 stars - 2 for what it is now, and a potential 4 for what it could be with a small amount of pulling-finger-out by both father and son. Get to grips.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drbeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The people are very pleasant, which makes it more difficult to write this. But frankly this place really is pretty grim and in keeping with the "inn accommodation" stereotype.
Upsides: modest price, hanging basket outside each "chalet", pleasant people.
Downsides as follows. the "chalets" (large rendered sheds) might have double-glazing but the paper-thin "walls" transmit the considerable noise from the nearby main road in such a way as to guarantee a bad night. Badly maintained: shower only gave stone cold water; no latch on one window at all (security?); unwanted furniture thrown immediately behind the "chalet" windows not taken to the tip; set-top aerial for TV useless - can't really watch television because no signal. There are other points but let's leave it there.
As for Sandy itself, a night spent in the armpit of a meths-drinking vagrant would probably be more pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArkwrightZoborodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
4.8 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#2 of 2 in Potton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highfield Farm Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 27 London Road, Sandy SG19 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family orientated country pub just off of the A1 offering real ales and a selection of lagers. Food is served Friday, Saturday and roasts on Sunday. We have regular live music events and karaoke the first Friday of every month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Sandy, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing