We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Days Inn Sandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Sandy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This has got to be the very worse place I have ever stayed in !! Don't believe that the room we stayed in had seen a hoover in a long time!!!! Carpet was very dirty food particles by the bedside cabinet from previous guests!!!! Dust and fluff all around the edges of the carpet. Shower was so poor that you chasing the water lol. Would never ever stay at this place again .... Even. As a freebie and certainly not worth £70!!!. As a big chain holiday inn thought you would be better. Have stayed in much better premier inns and bed and breakfasts establishments!!! Very very disappointed :(

Room Tip: Choose anywhere else literally!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayleighkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear kayleighkins,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We chose this hotel as it was close to where my husband had business, I tagged along so it was business for him and pleasure for me. We arrived in the evening and were greeted in a very welcoming way. Reading some reviews we expected a run down hotel but as it was for only one night it wasn't really too much of a problem. We were very surprised as the room was very acceptable, a little dated maybe but very clean and had a lovely feel..... we were more than happy. We settled in and went down for dinner, a young man handed us 3 menus; standard, bar, and A' la Carle, he informed us that we could have our meal either in the restaurant, lounge, bar or room..... this instantly made us feel relaxed. The meal was lovely, and we ate in the restaurant. After dinner we sat in the bar which was small and quiet, just what we wanted after a long drive...... We then went back to our room as we had a long day the next day. The nights sleep wasn't so good. It was really hot in the room and we had to turn on the fan and open the window. When we got into bed the noise from the A1 was so loud I got out of bed to shut the window, it was so hot I didn't want to shut the window but had no choice. Later I was woken by the fan making so much noise so had to turn that off, the heat was terrible...... the noise wasn't the fault of the hotel as they had no control of that, but they had address it with a fan so that the window didn't need to be opened and also provided ear plugs....... we were unlucky that it was a hot day. So as people have stated before, it's a good idea to ask for a room overlooking the car park. All in all......... the hotel did absolutely everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.......... lovely hotel, lovely attentive staff.........

Room Tip: As everyone else says............ a room over the car park would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service your received to be of such a high standard.
It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with the exceptionally hot weather, but thank you for acknowledging that we had tried to overcome this by providing fans for our guests.
I hope that if you are in the area again, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards
Rebecca Cresswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Location wise just off the A1by Sandy it is very convenient and for 1 night it is OK despite this there was no discernible road noise but I was overlooking the car park. It would best be described as tired the carpets are worn and it needs a lick of paint but it is clean and the staff courteous and helpful. The room I stayed in was clean but needed decorating and the pillows were a bit flat. The bathroom was clean but the shower lacked any power and the water was in danger of evaporating faster than it was falling! The bar area is small and as described in a previous review. The restaurant was small and reminded me of the one in Fawlty Towers but the food was quite good if a little expensive for what it was. Breakfast was self service for tea, coffee, toast and cereal but you can order a cooked breakfast which is 1 up from the HI Express. Overall it is a 5/10 - don`t expect luxury and you won't be disappointed but it is one of the worst IHG hotels I`'ve stayed in and I use them over 100 nights a year. Won`t be rushing back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divepetem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear divepetem9,

I appreciate you sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. I was very disappointed to learn of your experience with our hotel and I wanted to extend a personal apology. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a good stay at this hotel and were given directions in a friendlynway. The check in was friendly and staff were helpful in the evening when we couldn't get wifi to work on our iPad and when I asked for a peppermint tea bag!
The location is easy to find near Sandy and we found it easily and used it as a base to get to Bedford.
The room smelt unpleasant when we entered but fortunately the weather was warm so we slept with the windows open to air the room. The shower just trickled out and was difficult to adjust so was disappointing. Generally the rooms need updating and are looking tired.
Breakfasts can be different depending on the amount of people staying in the hotel. On the first day a full hot buffet was available but the next just toast, small selection of cereal, no muesli, no fruit or pastries! Not much of a 'continental' breakfast!
There was a misunderstanding with the charges for breakfast as our rates were not explained when we checked in. This was solved by management with the minimum of fuss so I was able to leave the hotel on a good note.
Although preferable to a Travelodge, we will use Premier Inn or a Holiday Inn Express next time, as we know what standard we will be getting.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank terrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear terrijay,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Booked this hotel as my husband wanted to visit Biggleswade for a flying show and this was on their recommendations for places to stay. The room was clean, shower was extremely good although nothing special. When we arrived there was a sign on the reception desk to say that due to the large volume of guests staying on the night we were there, breakfast on Sunday morning would be over in their conference building which was across the car park. We did hear comments from other guests who were very unhappy about their breakfast on the Saturday morning so alarm bells did start ringing slightly then. When we went for breakfast there were a few large tables for guests to sit at which were covered in grubby white tablecloths, the 2 waiting staff there completely ignored us, not even a Good morning, so we just assumed we helped ourselves, tables were not even laid, no salt & pepper on them, sugar, cutlery, absolutely nothing!! The cooked breakfast was placed in large silver trays with burners underneath to supposedly keep the food warm, nothing was hot and some of it was cold, the sausages were laying in cooled fat, beans were cold, mushrooms luke warm and the bacon nearly broke one of my teeth it was so hard!! What horrified me most of all though was the waiter picking up a piece of melon that had fallen off the tray it was on and putting it back on the tray with his bare hands!! After we had nearly finished our breakfast one of the waiters realised the burners under the trays were not working, don't know what happened after that as we left.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuarita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Tuarita L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience at breakfast. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as this will definitely be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

my Daughter held her wedding here on the 25/05/2013
i cannot express how wonderful the day went and without a hitch . Everyone worked so hard to make it very special for her, the sit down meal was exceptional out of 56 people sitting down for a meal their was NOT ONE complaint, the food was lovely and hot. the service was quick and very professional from the beginning to the end.
The hotel rooms were lovely fresh clean modern and comfortable again 30 rooms were used for the wedding guest and NOT ONE complaint.
the breakfast was amazing and the service was outstanding.
A big thank you to ALL THE STAFF which made my Daughter's wedding perfect and our stay very special.
A special thank you to Rebbecca , Micheal, lucy, and sheila for all their hard work. kind regards from Anne-marie jupe, Iris ( Grandmother)and the bride and groom Vicky and Jamie




Reason for Visit:family wedding




ProsAtmosphere, Location, Room Cleanliness, Amenities, Facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Anne-Marie,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your grand-daughters wedding. We are so pleased that you all had such a wonderful day and that all your guests enjoyed the wedding and their stay at the hotel.
I hope that Vicky and Jamie are happily settling into married life. Please pass on our best wishes to them.
Kind regards
Rebecca Cresswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

clean hotel the staff,food and price were great,on a charity bike ride and the staff looked after the bikes,food was really good and reasonable,room was spacious and shower really powerful, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
5.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
7.8 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#17 of 18 in Bedford
77 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Biggleswade
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
10.6 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sandy

Address: London Road Girtford Bridge, Sandy SG19 1NA, England (Formerly Garden Court Sandy)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court a1 Sandy-Bedford Hotel Sandy
Holiday Inn Sandy
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Days Inn Sandy Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing