We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night”
Review of Garden Court Sandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Court Sandy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worst night”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed the night of the 10/09/13. There was major road resurfacing from 11pm until 4-30am in the morning and after I asked for a quiet room on booking on the Monday!! No notification that the work was going to be going on to give me the option. So no sleep whatsoever might just as well have not stayed away to be fresh in then morning for a major meeting.

The bar food was I think 8GBP for a Chilli but was so small I went over to the Supermarket afterwards. Staff were very pleasant and room comfort and amenities were good but afraid no apology, no refund and a one star.

Room Tip: Even without the major road works some rooms are right by the main road on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_o_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Man_o_Kent,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured that these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    39
    81
    65
    86
See reviews for
40
74
17
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed with you 7th and 8th sept with my family,
all was maid very welcome service very good, breakfast could have been a little warmer butt no big deal.must say lady receptionist who was there sat and sunday morning was the best I have ever met three star hotel five star staff.
Well done
the pay family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacriston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good points: Staff all very friendly, food very good, especially evening meal. Very convenient location, right on the A1. Road noise not too bad despite no soundproofing. Everything appeared clean. Communal areas pleasant, if a little quirky. Wifi worked OK.

Bad points: Bed was poor, and room was very outdated (possibly 1980s?) and beginning to look scruffy. Bathroom urgently needed a refit.

For a hotel carrying the Holiday Inn brand, it was below average. If the bedroom and bathroom had been fitted to the same standard as a Premier Inn for example, I would've rated the hotel as "very good".

Message to the owners: INVEST SOME MONEY INTO THE PLACE!! Until you do, I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Greg S,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear you found our staff to be very friendly and the food served during your stay lived up to your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandy hotels

S. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Only stayed one night, but great local staff, good breakfast and well maintained rooms. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. The food in the breakfast hall was of a very high standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room away from A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail&DaveS.Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

As a platinum rewards member, I popped in to have a quick breakfast.
I was charged £ 11.75 and given a plastic card for use in the conference hall located nearby.

On arrival I was greeted by a tired seventies style room with table laid out for 10 people, no chance for a quiet breakfast.
I was shown to a buffet style servery where I was offered a luke warm sausage, a rasher of bacon, cold tomatoes and beans!
Only tepid scrambled eggs were available, no other choice!!
The cereals were limited to only 4 choices and the fruit salad consisted of only melon and some pineapple chunks.
I was also somewhat disconcerted to see a rat trap on the floor in the corner!!

For a Holiday Inn this is simply not acceptable!!
Somebody needs to either completely renovate this tired place or just close it!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PanchoBedfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear PanchoBedfordUK,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback.

I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken to ensure our members continue to enjoy superlative levels of service and comfort that they expect when staying at our hotel. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When we arrived we were given a room key and went up to our room - only to find an unmade bed with someone else.s hairs in it, and a totally disgusting bathroom complete with towels on the floor. We left our bags and went down to reception, where a very unsincere person told us they were very sorry and that they would give us another room and move our bags (as we were going on to our event).
We returned quite late, to find a different person on reception who knew nothing about the room mix up - so we stood, and stood while he served another person and tried to find out where our bags had gone. Eventually he decided he thought it might be a certain room, and gave us a key to go and check...what a joke!
The room itself was average, but the breakfast the following day was another bone of contention. Its suposed to be a buffet, but the buffet area had been trashed by a group load of japanese school children. When we arrived there was half eaten melon still in the bowl, and a bite out of an apple that had then been replaced. The area was disgusting - but at least the two ladies on duty that morning were making an effort to clean it up and they were very nice. There was no tea or coffee out, nor any of the normal buffet stuff - we were served, so could only have what we were given. If I hadnt paid on check in for two nights I would have moved hotels, as I feel this once good hotel is now being run by people who don't care - and it certainly wasnt worth the money I paid.

Room Tip: Room 28 and 29 are classed as quiet rooms but they are right above reception - so other hotel guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Kath,

I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay and the hotel. I would like to apologise for the breakdown in communication that led to you being checked in to a room that had not been cleaned. We had a late check-out from that room and the housekeeping team had not been in, so it should not have been allocated to you. I am also sorry that the night porter was unsure of which room you had been moved to. This has been addressed with the staff on duty.
With regard to breakfast, it was very unfortunate that you arrived just as the large group of Chinese school children had had their buffet breakfast. Thank you for your comments about our waiting staff, as they had a difficult job with the children trashing the buffet and putting half eaten food back and our team were clearly doing their best to clear this up and provide a good service to our other guests. We generally serve tea & coffee to order so that it is freshly made, rather than putting it out on the buffet and the rest of the buffet was in the process of being replenished.
I am very sorry that this experience had a negative impact on your stay and we will certainly take your comments on board to improve our service in future.
Kind regards,
Rebecca Cresswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This review is a bit hard to write, since overall the experience was great, but the room was actually below average. My wife and I were there for a surprise 50th birthday party that was held in the hotel’s function facility. The food and service at the function was excellent, but the service and rooms in the hotel were not so good. The hotel was frequently understaffed causing long waits at the bar or reception. The rooms we reasonably clean, but the sheets on the bed were worn through in a few spots and there were some bugs squashed on the wall over the light in the bathroom. We were there for three days, and so were the dead bugs. I would recommend having a function there, and the hotel is adequate for people to stay the night for the function, but they shouldn’t expect more than a place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding the party you attended in our function suite. I have passed your comments back to our team, as they always appreciate receiving such positive feedback. We are all very pleased that you had such an enjoyable evening.
With regard to your room, I have discussed your feedback with our housekeeping team to ensure that this is not repeated. We have also spoken to our linen supplier with regard to the quality of the linen. We strive to offer the best possible service and have clearly fallen below standard on this occasion. Feedback is very important to us to enable us to improve the service we offer our valued guests, so we appreciate you sharing this with us.
Regards,

Rebecca Cresswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
5.1 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,720 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
705 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#9 of 18 in Bedford
147 reviews
8.3 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
324 reviews
7.8 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandy

Property: Garden Court Sandy
Address: London Road Girtford Bridge, Sandy SG19 1NA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court a1 Sandy-Bedford Hotel Sandy
Holiday Inn Sandy
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Garden Court Sandy Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing