We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to standard as I expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court Sandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Sandy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not up to standard as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The room is very dated not as clean as I expected, the bathroom needs upgrading was not clean and I had to clean prior to using, no spare pillows in bedroom or blankets , the cups were stained with milk not good at all , having stayed in many hoiliday inns this is poor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tricky1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear tricky1771

Im sorry to hear that you did not find your recent visit to our establishment to a good standard, we are aware of some of the issues mentioned in regards to certain aspects of our establishment being dated, however we do have a on-going maintenance programme in place in order to ensure that we decorate and freshen up certain areas of the business that is in need of doing so. I have shared your comments in regards to the bedroom standards with the relevant team and we thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is these comments that enable us to better our service and product that we offer.

N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    38
    79
    61
    78
See reviews for
36
71
17
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Value? Ticked. Character? Ticked. The staff? Perfectly in character of the Englishness of the place. The female staff member (anonymity protected) dresses precisely as she should and wears precisely the right amount and style of makeup to suggest "Englishness, village life and a little disdain for the kind of people who stay here". And I love it. The barman fulfills every role and even changed attire between barman and room service waiter. No irony or fakery. This is real and should be enjoyed as such. The taxi driver that drove me here said, "for your job and employer you should stay in <name of swankier hotel outside of Sandy withheld>.

Nonsense I say, if you like value and character then stay here. Yes it's a little sad but it's 100% real and that is very precious nowadays.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MikeFromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mike

Thank you so much for your delightful review in regards to your recent visit to our property. Its great to see that our facilities and service met all your needs during your visit and that you found our team members along with our facility very characterful.

I have shared your review with the team and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

For the price it wasn't bad - but not really up to the standard expected from Holiday Inn. Didn't eat an evening meal there - because of previous reviews I had seen. The breakfasts were OK - but poor value. The vegetarian sausage advertised as part of the vegetarian breakfast never showed up - and the next day the continental selection was little more than cereal and toast. My bathroom in particular needed refurbishment. Paid more by booking direct than a colleague did via Booking.com - so there is a lesson there as well - don't expect the best deal on their web site. The room was facing the main road - but wasn't not as noisy as I feared - I was able to leave the window open.

Room Tip: At the back looking towards the A1 (south) is not as bad as you might think. The colleague who had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purton_Stoke_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Purton_Stoke_Travel,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

We sincerely apologize for the food served during your visit did not live up to your expectations. We constantly strive to provide the best accommodation and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
716 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and cannot fault the place, the staff members are friendly and efficient and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Although the room overlooked the A1(M) motorway there was very little noise.

On this particular visit I had a good welcome given a wifi activation code and I was given a room on the first floor. The room was ideal with comfortable bed, flat screen TV with freeview channels. The bathroom was fairly large with good shower and wall mounted soap dispensers.

This is a well placed hotel and in pleasant surroundings, I hope to keep returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Paul

Thank you indeed for taking the time to post your review in light of your recent visit to our hotel. It is great to see that you found our staff very helpful and friendly and its great to hear that the your bedroom met all your requirements.

We value all feedback and I have taken the time to share your review with my team who were delighted to read your comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Plenty of other poor reviews, so brief comments. Incredibly close to the A1. Room chemical enough to trigger my asthma,, but if you open the window - traffic noise. Trickle shower. Tiny, scaffy bar. Tired look. Restaurant like a trucker's caff. They should pull it down and rebuild at the far end of the land available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damist38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Damist38

Thank you for recent review on our establishment. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our facilities. Unfortunately due to our location, there is some road noise involved as we are located on the A1, however we do have car park facing rooms that seem to be a bit more peaceful. I'm delighted to inform you that our restaurant has had a refurbishment and new menus have been implemented.

We are currently working on a programme for our bedrooms.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future to share these changes with us.

Regards
N. Wilkinson.
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandy hotels

Hergenrath, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked two rooms for the family for a stopover on the way to the Dover. Was very disappointed.
The greeting at reception was rather cold - ok it was just before 11:00pm but even still. My rewards status was also not recognised. On arriving in our rooms Nr.3 & 4 were a little surprised at the standard - rather tired looking and needing a good "doing up". In my room Nr.3 the bathroom floor had 3 broken tiles that had been taped up. In room Nr.4 bathroom there were hairs in the bath and in the toilet. The general cleanliness could have been a lot lot better.
I`m sorry but the family did not feel comfortable during our stay. I expect a lot more from a Holiday Inn. Will not be staying here again.This hotel was way below standard.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel - it`s not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear John G,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Member and taking the time out of your busy day to write us a review. It is regrettable that this stay was a disappointment. We have sent you a private message to discuss.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for one night only, thankfully. Hotel is very tired,rooms are a little shabby. Bar area is the size of a broom closet. Restaurant, small and cramped. I had breakfast which was not the best in the world, slightly well done and pretty tasteless, reminiscent of a transport cafe. Think twice before booking. I won't be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jeffswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear jeffswork,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
5.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
7.8 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#16 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
18.4 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#17 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandy

Property: Garden Court Sandy
Address: London Road Girtford Bridge, Sandy SG19 1NA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Garden Court Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court a1 Sandy-Bedford Hotel Sandy
Holiday Inn Sandy
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Garden Court Sandy Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing