We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Days Inn Sandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Sandy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Staff great, food excellent!
The rest, awful!
Men's room at the restaurant has both a urinal and a toilet. Normal, except they are in one room and there is no cubicle!!
Room furniture dated and old, my desk looked as if someone had tried cooking on it!
Pod taps in the bathroom and a toilet seat that looked like barbed wire used to be fixed to it.
Not what I expected!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the time in order to place your views in regards to our property online, Im delighted to hear that the staff and the food was to your liking, I can confirm that we are currently undergoing a a maintenance programme to give the hotel a refresh via painting, decorating ect.

Im very sorry to hear that the facilities have let you down,
Regards
N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ideally located on the A1, hotel is simple and tired, and definitely in need of an upgrade.
Restaurant could do with modernising, and a more extensive menu would not go amiss, but overall good value for money
Receptionist was particularly helpful with advice

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibfmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views in regards to your recent stay here at Sandy. I am delighted that you found the staff and service to a great standard, Im sorry to hear that you did not find certain aspects of the room facilities to your satisfaction and can confirm that we are currently running an extensive maintenance programme in order to better our current facilities along with changing the restaurant menu on a 3 monthly basis.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Thank you for your time,
Regards
N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently visited for a celebration meal involving almost 90 guests, we arrived after a tiring day - albeit 30 minutes, early to find there was no bar available on site until our scheduled arrival time! We then discovered that they had no draught bitter and the stocks of other drinks was very limited.

The meal started reasonably well, although there was some lack of organisation, the starters were generally acceptable.

The roast chicken on the main course, which represented a significant proportion of the orders was so overcooked as to be virtually inedible.

Arrangements had not been made for special dietary needs which had been notified in advance, a member of our party had to visit a local supermarket to obtain additional items.

Finally, no fresh cream was available for the fresh fruit salad, despite this being on the menu!

All in all not a pleasant experience which we are unlikely to repeat!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Unox85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Unox 85,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your celebration dinner, Im sorry to hear that you did not find the event fully to your satisfaction. We had very positive feedback via email which I am more than happy to share with yourself and all guests on trip advisor but feel that we need to clarify a few points in regards to your comments.

1. To find no bar open on your arrival:
Your party arrived 45 mins earlier then scheduled without any notification via telephone or in person. Unfortunately with no pre notification, we can not get the correct staffing for any unforeseen arrivals, however we did manage to open the bar 10 minutes earlier than planned. The agreed contracted time in regards to room hire was as of 16:00PM. Annabelle did explain that the party was more then welcome to enter the ballroom and called upon the staff to open the bar earlier.

2. Special dietary requirements:
We followed the requested dietary requirements and provided a meal option to cater for all dietary needs. Melon, plain chicken and vegetables followed by fruit salad for dessert - as agreed. The only item that did not accompany the meal was gluten free gravy and this was obtained by the customers request from the shop over the road.

3. Lack of organisation.
During the booking stages of this party we have requested a seating plan from your party however this was declined and we were informed people could sit where they want. Upon arrival people were not happy with where they had to be seated as their preferred places were taken up by other guests and that resulted in our team members having to set up another table on their request, causing a delay in service as well as no organisation. I'm sure you can appreciate that this was no error on our behalf but that the requested table plan would have been a much better option. Table plans always help improve the flow of service.

Constant check backs were carried out and although we had no complaints about the food directly to us nor in any of the feedback request emails shared with us, I have taken on board your comments and have dealt with all relevant team members in relation to the food preparation.

We value all feedback and would like to thank you for your time in submitting your thoughts.
If I could be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Regards
N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court Sandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy is located right next to the A1 so is handy for travellers. The hotel has free parking out the front too.

The overall appearance of the hotel looks quite dated, which carries on into the rooms. Check-in was excellent - staff were very friendly and helpful, it set a great first impression for the hotel.

Unfortunately things started to go downhill after this. My room was rather old fashioned, which isn't much of an issue, but the chair was badly stained and the sofa was quite worn.

Rooms facing the A1 are quite noisy, and the mattress in my room was at the end of its life which didn't make for a good nights sleep. In the morning it became apparent that there was no hot water and as there were no spare rooms to swap to, not a lot could be done to resolve this.

Breakfast is served in a small restaurant area. Coffee/Tea is self-service and cooked breakfasts are waited service. I was impressed by the breakfast, it was cooked well and service was pretty quick too.

When checking out I told the receptionist about the conversation I had earlier in the morning with her colleague about the hot water. She said "Oh no, not another one!" and apologised. I understand that the hot water tanks are each shared between two rooms, and so far (at 0715 AM) I was the fourth person checking out who had no hot water.

Whilst there is nothing that the receptionist could do to help this, I would have appreciated a token rate reduction on the room to have been offered, rather than me needing to raise and push for it.

The HIGC Sandy is a cheap roadside motel which is quite a mixed bag of good and bad points. However due to the issues with the hot water supply I would not risk returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the A1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Johnny_c-l

Thank you for taking the time in order to share your views on our establishment, Im delighted to hear that you found the staff and the service provided along with the food quality and quantity to an excellent standard.

I'm very sorry to hear that there were issues with the hot water on the morning of your departure and we are currently looking at a way of resolving this issue.

Thank you once again for your feedback as we find all feedback very valuable.

N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden court Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The room is very dated not as clean as I expected, the bathroom needs upgrading was not clean and I had to clean prior to using, no spare pillows in bedroom or blankets , the cups were stained with milk not good at all , having stayed in many hoiliday inns this is poor

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricky1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear tricky1771

Im sorry to hear that you did not find your recent visit to our establishment to a good standard, we are aware of some of the issues mentioned in regards to certain aspects of our establishment being dated, however we do have a on-going maintenance programme in place in order to ensure that we decorate and freshen up certain areas of the business that is in need of doing so. I have shared your comments in regards to the bedroom standards with the relevant team and we thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is these comments that enable us to better our service and product that we offer.

N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Value? Ticked. Character? Ticked. The staff? Perfectly in character of the Englishness of the place. The female staff member (anonymity protected) dresses precisely as she should and wears precisely the right amount and style of makeup to suggest "Englishness, village life and a little disdain for the kind of people who stay here". And I love it. The barman fulfills every role and even changed attire between barman and room service waiter. No irony or fakery. This is real and should be enjoyed as such. The taxi driver that drove me here said, "for your job and employer you should stay in <name of swankier hotel outside of Sandy withheld>.

Nonsense I say, if you like value and character then stay here. Yes it's a little sad but it's 100% real and that is very precious nowadays.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank MikeFromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Mike

Thank you so much for your delightful review in regards to your recent visit to our property. Its great to see that our facilities and service met all your needs during your visit and that you found our team members along with our facility very characterful.

I have shared your review with the team and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

N. Wilkinson
General Manager
Holiday inn Garden Court.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

For the price it wasn't bad - but not really up to the standard expected from Holiday Inn. Didn't eat an evening meal there - because of previous reviews I had seen. The breakfasts were OK - but poor value. The vegetarian sausage advertised as part of the vegetarian breakfast never showed up - and the next day the continental selection was little more than cereal and toast. My bathroom in particular needed refurbishment. Paid more by booking direct than a colleague did via Booking.com - so there is a lesson there as well - don't expect the best deal on their web site. The room was facing the main road - but wasn't not as noisy as I feared - I was able to leave the window open.

Room Tip: At the back looking towards the A1 (south) is not as bad as you might think. The colleague who had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purton_Stoke_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Purton_Stoke_Travel,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

We sincerely apologize for the food served during your visit did not live up to your expectations. We constantly strive to provide the best accommodation and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
5.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
3.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Biggleswade
34 reviews
7.8 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#17 of 18 in Bedford
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
12.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sandy

Address: London Road Girtford Bridge, Sandy SG19 1NA, England (Formerly Garden Court Sandy)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Price Range: £48 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court a1 Sandy-Bedford Hotel Sandy
Holiday Inn Sandy
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Days Inn Sandy Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing