We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Farm Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 4 Sandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My family and I stayed at the HighField Farm's Acorn Cottage for 2 weeks. It was perfect for our needs. We have 3 young children with food allergies and my Mother in Law also joined us on our trip. It was a great place to stay - private, spacious, clean, comfortable and well stocked with all the necessary supplies. We will definitely recommend the farm to our friends and plan on staying there again on our future visits to England.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomOf3LittleGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2009

I have visit Highfield Farm four times now, and I find it as a wonderful place.
My stay have been for the reason that I go to Old Warden and to see the yearly
airshow in September.
It is not so far to Duxford Airfield, so if you are a devoted frieds for aeroplans....this its the place.
Simple the best
Tore Almgren, Lidingö, Sweden

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beethoven_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2007

We rented two self catering cottages at Highfield Farm for the month of August 2006. Compared to hotel prices the GBP500 per week was extremely reasonable (there were six of us in each cottage) and well worth every penny.
The Codd family couldn't have been more welcoming and nothing was too much bother. We booked late and only managed to get the 2 bedroom cottages but as soon as we mentioned we were families of six they organised an extra bed in each cottage.
The cottages were beautiful. Both furnished to a high standard, they were well equipped and spotlessly clean. The views from the patio were superb and even though the weather was hot the cottages always seemed very cool. The motorway is quite close by but the noise was minimal and hardly noticable.
We found Highfield Farm to be a perfect base for all that Bedforshire and Hertfordshire has to offer. Sandy itself has some shops and Milton Keynes is close by for the serious shopper. Milton Keynes also has a Ski Center, numerous cinema's and theatre's.
The trains to London run every 20 minutes and it is only a 35 minute journey into central London.
At the end of the month we wanted to keep one of the cottages for an extra week and the Codd family organised that for us even though it meant them reorganising other bookings they had.
We cannot fault Highfield Farm in any way and wouldn't hesitate in recomending this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Windmill64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

My family of 4 (two children 2 and 4 yo) stayed at this B&B recently. The price was 90 pounds for a room with a queen bed and a single bed. Let me begin with the positive points of our stay. The place really is clean, modern, simple and tasteful. Our complaints arise from the character of the owner and the location of the establishment.
First off, we never received a confirmation by mail. There are no details on their web site about when to arrive or meal times...etc. We arrived to drop off our suitcases and ask for meal suggestions and were greeted with a huffing, puffing, " Are you aware that you're not supposed to arrive until 4:30?". Well, no we wouldn't be. We just want to drop off our things and ask about the food in the area. "Well this is MY family time. From 10 to 4:30 that is what we do."
So, that was rude. The hostess did show us to our room and present us with a sheet of paper with a list of local pubs. She asked when we wanted breakfast the following morning and we suggested 9am. She countered with, "How about 8:50 because we go to church and have to get ready". Personally, we were fine with that, but are all people on holiday ready to be up bright and early on a Sunday?
Overall, we felt unwelcomed, which isn't what you want at a B&B, is it? We could have stayed at a hotel if we wanted a tidy room, right off the motorway.
OH YES! The motorway! It is RIGHT OFF (You can hear the constant WHOSH). the A1 south and I wouldn't be suprised to hear of a serious accident occuring here as there is no signposting until you've passed it and you must go from 60mph to 15 in about 100 metres to make the corner into the drive.
PS: Very little FARM envirnment! There were a few birds, but no other animals in sight. That was disappointing for the little ones.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JudsonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Very nice B&B farm. Very friendly people, comfortable rooms, large sitting room, good English breakfast. They feed the birds during breakfast, so that guests have something to look at when they look through the window during breakfast. But without the birds, the view was fine too. Also good Self Catering possibilities. Very centrally situated at the A1 about half an hour from North London. Also close to Cambridge.

---

9  Thank Ersyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Highfield Farm Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Farm Accommodation

Address: Highfield Farm Tempsford Road, Sandy SG19 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sandy
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Farm Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Bed and Breakfast and holiday cottage accommodation in peaceful location on our farm. Safe parking. Great breakfasts and friendly hosts. Business guests welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highfield Farm Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Farm Accommodation Sandy, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing