We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cromer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Runton Camping and Caravanning Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having just returned from this site, I am missing it already. The location is superb for Wildlife and peace and quiet. The many walks from the site are ideal for dogs and ramblers. From the highest point you can look down through thousands of foxgloves to see the coast below.. Fish and chip van visits twice a week. Plenty of hot water in large shower/ toilet blocks which were kept immaculately clean. The local bunnies are in abundance around the pitches and always there to watch. The staff keep the whole site clean and tidy. The only downside is the access road to camp. Beware and take it slow. Shall definetely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just got home after spending a week in our caravan on this site. We took our dog who loved it too. Its so peaceful and friendly and the facilities are spotless with plenty of room and lots of hot water too! My husband enjoyed a few nice runs around the area and we also marvelled at the beautiful views overlooking the coast and the countryside which were only a five minute walk up the hill. It is so central for Cromer, Sheringham, Wells next To Sea and many other lovely little villages etc. The only down side was the steep, narrow, bumpy lane that leads down to the site but it is well worth it when you get there. We will definitely we going back to this little piece of Heaven. Thank you to the team of workers who keep everything spotless!

Room Tip: Ask for a pitch away from the entrances to the dog walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnaSharples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location for exploring the coast of north Norfolk.wells next the sea 20 mins away and all the beautiful little coastal villages are a stones throw away.cromer is 10 mins away with a large supermarket and petrol station.very clean site.large site with one play area.if you have children I would recommended requesting a pitch if possible near to it.meals at the local pub are worth a visit,but booking the restaurant in the summer months is essential.however,pub becomes very quiet once the rush of meal service has completed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrshkarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at this excellent camp site. Loaded the car and within a few hours we have arrived and shown the pitches to choose from. We had pitch 168 which is right in the bottom corner by the gate which leads to the walks. I have to say that once again in the 3 times we have been to the norfolk coast the weather did not dissapoint! Beautiful blue skies and sunshine the whole time we were there.The site is quite large and accomodates caravans, tents and motorhomes. Dogs are welcome and there are walks all around the site for them. All dogs must be kept on a lead and i am pleased to say that i did'nt see anyone bending the rules! Usual barking around the site but very quiet after 10.00pm. All we could hear was the owl hooting. My kids 5 and 7 were off on thier travels as soon as we arrived and soon came back with a handful of friends. My son who is the youngest, wandered around the site to his hearts content introducing himself to everybody and became quite a popular little soul! We dont normally let the kids out of our sight so we did keep checking to make sure we knew where they were. Toilets and showers are very clean and plentiful. 2 blocks on the site and never once were they busy. private cubicles to wash in but never heard any pan pipe music as someone else had stated in another review!! lol. Spectacular views via the walks to east and west runton beaches. Would definately stay here again. Everyone was really talkative and friendly. Only downside is that the shop is only open for 3 hours a day! 9-10am and 5-7pm. Freezer blocks are £1 each deposit and 50p per freeze. Non members welcome but have to pay the £7+ per night. Great camp sight, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnysprack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a very large site, we go here at least once a year. It's a lovely site, and within walking distance of the sea. A day trip to Cromer is well worth a trip. It is possible to catch a bus to Sheringham, and it's a beautiful seaside town.

Very popular with families and can be noisy by the children's play area. There are quiter spots also.
And not forgetting the Fish and Chip van that comes twice a week

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely site two weeks ago with our 23ft caravan. After driving down the long track through the woods we wondered what we were coming to but it was a lovely oasis through the trees. Well kept, well run site. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean shower blocks. Absolutely no complaints at all. Fish and chip van was very welcome, Saturdays and Wednesdays. Nearby Sherringham very nice. Would deffinitely return and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Troyboymayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Site very clean and well looked after. Only used the facilities at he top of the site and these were very clean and well equipped. Site is ideal for walking. The beach is approx 25 minutes walk. You can walk to Cromer of Sheringham along the beach or cliff top. At Sheringham you can catch a steam train to Holt on the North Norfolk Railway. The Village Inn pub at West Runton has a huge garden and serves real ales.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
759 reviews
2.0 mi away
YHA Sheringham
YHA Sheringham
#2 of 3 in Sheringham
89 reviews
24.0 mi away
Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
#1 of 1 in Burnham Deepdale
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Runton Camping and Caravanning Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Runton Camping and Caravanning Site

Address: Holgate Lane | West Runton, Cromer NR27 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cromer
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
West Runton Camping And Caravanning Site Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing