We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome relief” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Runton Camping and Caravanning Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cromer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Runton Camping and Caravanning Site
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcome relief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

After being turned away from other campsites we came across this.
Set back from the coast in a lovely clearing, with plenty of space. Told that company policy meant we couldn't be turned away even if they were full (as we were backpackers) was a relief.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, toilets and showers are among some of the best I have come across, although possibly not quite enough of them for busy times.
Not many local facilities, but direct access onto the Norfolk Coast path and a nice walk into Cromer.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    17
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
32
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good points - Lovely setting, lots of pleasant walks direct from the site. Lots to do in this area of Norfolk. Would recommend the Golf Club and Village Inn at West Runton for good food and service, both are dog friendly.
Bad points - The access to this site is down a long, steep, unmade road with lots of bumps and pot holes. Not good when towing a caravan!
The ladies showers need some attention as the flooring is damaged and water does not drain away from showers properly. There is no temperature controls on the showers(too hot!)
Wardens were very unsympathetic when our awning flooded after a heavy rain downpour. Poor attitude at a time of need! Worth noting - the hardstand pitches on the opposite side of the road to the West toilet block (first 3 pitches from the corner going down towards the reception) flood when there is heavy rain!
We would not return to this site, mainly due to the poor, unfriendly attitude of the Wardens.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank PGMardlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently spent 11nights in our caravan with two other groups of friends. The site is a great location within walking distance to east and west Runton and Cromer. We enjoyed lovely walks and views of the coast with our three Labradors and the weather was lovely. The site was quiet and toilet blocks were clean. Good food could be eaten at the village inn and also the nearby golf club restaurant.
Now for the bad bits. The road down to the site was very steep with lots of pot holes and very worrying in case you met another caravan or car coming the other way. On our last evening it rained heavy for about 10 minutes. We were on hard standing opposite the west block toilet block with our friends on either side of us. Within minutes of it raining all three awnings were flooded with three inches of water where the water ran down the hill and had no where for it to go and because the perimeter of the hard standing was higher than the ground the water stayed for a couple of hours. We went to inform the site manager who was not interested at all telling us that he never built the site and he couldn't predict the weather and that he wasn't even on duty. Not one of the wardens asked or showed any interest or concern to the fact that all our belongings were wet and soggy. There is obviously a problem with the hard standing pitches as I'm sure this wouldn't have been the first time this could have happened and as for the wardens a little common courtesy would not go amiss. We will not be returning to this site.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank 507Landrover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The two main things that make my camping experience enjoyable are clean facilities and a peaceful night's sleep. This site delivered both...in spades! The showers, toilets and washing up areas were cleaned thoroughly daily and were immaculate. The site is very pretty, surrounded by trees with short walks off the site to beautiful views. We enjoyed waking up to birds singing and bunnies hopping around the place.

Only negatives are; showers were too hot, my 8 year old son could not stand under them, I had to splash him with the water (I found them too hot myself). Also, lights were not working over two of the shower cubicles. Another disappointment was that the rules were very strict regarding playing near the pitches, which was a shame as I'd hoped to be able to sit outside the tent and relax while our children played. Instead they had to go off to the (very small) play area.
Overall though, we had a very relaxed and peaceful stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lovetoshop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this site at all especially for families. On entering we were not made welcome in fact just shouted at which continued throughout the week. We pitched up with family who arrived the night before even though we made our booking with them we struggled to pitch next to them and when we eventually did there was nothing but issues ... Too close to other campers, wind break too close, no ball games allowed, one car next to your pitch, etc etc however this did not seem consistent throughout the site! A disabled family member who could not walk from the car park was very rudely told to not park at the pitch even though her car was the only one there - she was only unloading shopping!

Even though there is a play area for children it is very sparse, there really is not much to do for children and due to the strict rules children are not suppose to play near pitches which is disappointing.

Having read the previous review about the fire - I lit one and no-one complained!

I write this with regret as it was suppose to be a great week but was ruined by the way the site is run, a few manners would not go a miss by staff. It did not make it a pleasant experience going back in the evening. However facilities are very clean and the site is well placed. If you like rules and have no children it would be a great site!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank I W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Dreadful experience, will not be going back. Inconsistent and unfriendly staff sums it up.
The inconsistency regarding the "rules" between the various members of staff was a joke!
Couple of examples -
Taken to a pitch by one member of staff - another turned up 5 minutes after the first had left and told us we were too close to the pitch next to us!!??
Put up a windbreak - told it was too close to pitch next door. Yet other pitches had windbreaks between them.
We put a firelog into a bar b q after we had finished cooking - told to put it out. Ok, if they are the rules understand them - yet the people on the pitch next to us had done the same thing and nothing was said??!! The pitch next to us even commented on it as they heard us being told to put it out!
Clean toilets they may have, but friendliness and consistency - forget it
I suggest you go to Kelling Heath nearby which is much better and friendlier!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 582Wards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived to a very clean and organised campsite and enjoyed our first couple of days thoroughly.
However things changed when we witnessed the way a young couple with 2 children arrived and were treated by the wardens. Disgraceful!
The crime? Wanting to pitch near some family who had already arrived the day before.
We saw one of the staff shout aggressively at the man as he walked to look at a pitch next to his family. A confrontation then occurred and subsequently what can only be described as systematic bullying by all the wardens took place as they targeted the poor family over the course of the day telling them that they were" Too close" to others- when we had seen one of the other staff actually placed them in the position they were in 5 minutes before....! "Move your windbreak" - really is it such a crime to put up a windbreak?
We are disgusted and will not return!
Run by

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
2.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Pantiles
#26 of 28 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 4 in West Runton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#13 of 28 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Runton Camping and Caravanning Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Runton Camping and Caravanning Site

Property: West Runton Camping and Caravanning Site
Address: Holgate Lane | West Runton, Cromer NR27 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cromer
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
West Runton Camping And Caravanning Site Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing