We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in ages........”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best meal in ages........”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stumbled across this restaurant whilst trying to find a decent looking place in Cromer. Thank god we did! What a delightful meal! It's been a long time since I enjoyed something so much! The food was amazing as was the presentation. We had a lovely table by the window so we could overlook the sea. The service was prompt and good. We all enjoyed it greatly, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosegrove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    197
    51
    24
    20
See reviews for
87
454
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is superb. It has bags of character and very helpful friendly staff. We stayed 2 nights as an escape without the kids and after booking were greeted with comments on how ropey Cromer itself was from friends and others who had been there! Its best known for crabs we were told! Undeterred, but with some trepidation, we arrived at a rain lashed Cromer and checked into the red lion. The hotel is right on the sea front, with steps down to the beach, however the wind had whipped the surf into a frenzy presenting a very good reason to stay inside the bar and enjoy the fire and decent local beers. Wherry was a particular favourite, reminding me of some of the best Cornish ales - must be something about the sea air. The staff were superb throughout, very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a standard room, which was at the rear of the hotel but it was very clean and well kitted out (tea making, iPod dock, etc.). We were a bit worried given the purported dog friendly marketing of the hotel but the place was really well kept, benefitting from recent refurbishment. The high Victorian ceilings and quirky layout of the rooms were great, as was the spacious bathroom of our room.
The food was fantastic too. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it excelled both in quality of ingredients and choice. Meats at breakfast were top quality, with locally sourced produced and nice thick cuts (no cheap sausages or bacon). Evening meals were standard pub restaurant fare but well presented and again used good ingredients (it's amazing how many restaurants and pubs fail on the quality of produce). Average price for an evening meal was £13 for a main course but it compares well locally. We've stayed in many places around the UK and this compares favourably with any of them, I would even place it in my top ten.
The appalling weather and decidedly average town couldn't dampen our enthusiasm for this highly recommended hotel. It's just a shame that the area itself doesn't give us an excuse to return, as the hotel certainly does!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Walsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have been to the Red Lion many times before and had excellent meals. NOT last night, I ordered off the specials board and had the seafood cocktail which was delicious (the only thing which was) for my main course I had Crab thermador which was awful, they had bought in a dressed crab which the waitress informed me, the chef had scraped the crab meat out and made a tasteless cheese sauce and mixed it together and put back in the shell, so it was only half the crab meat put back and the first mouth full I get shell and the 2nd! and 3rd! this was served with rice which was over cooked and stoggy with not taste. I really could not eat it, I told the waitress and she came back and told me that they would tell the supplier! ok good for future customers but not me. The manager came and said the same but they wouldn't charge me plus I could have a dessert at no charge. I ordered the trio as hungry! very dissapointing too. fruit crumble not cooked and the other 2 dessert not wonderful. the staff were all very young but pleasant, there needs to be some more mature staff. I will not be returning for a meal again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have visited Cromer a few times over my life and about 5 years ago had visited the Red Lion a few years ago but not been that impressed as I found it to be a bit dark and dingy and outdated. So before my visit this year did some research on the web to find out that it now had some good review. So I thought I might as well give it go and also thought that I'd splash out and stay in what they called the 'Superior Room'.

When I arrived the first thing I noticed was that the bar area seemed as though it had had a complete revamp. It was looking quite swish with sofa's dotted about and new tables and chairs in the restaurant it was looking very comfortable and welcolming. Then after being taken to my room I was blown away by it not only was it big and luxirious but it also had this amazing view which kept on reminding me that I was still actually in Cromer as it was hard to believe. The bathroom was also amazing with a picturesque view of the sea that you can view from the bath this was more like staying in a Hilton or a Mariott than staying in Cromer and I could've stayed there all night.

We then went down for dinner which was nice. I was a little disappointed as we weren't allowed in the restaurant as it was being redecorrated at the time but the food was generally good with a nice selection to choose from. The breakfast that we had in the morning though was one of the best that I have had from a hotel and would reccomend to anyone.

When it comes to rating this hotel I am going to put full marks for evrything. Even though there is going to be areas it can improve on I think for Cromer it is superb. The area is really calling out for somewhere nice to stay that does good food and isn't outdated as I feel this is something that has been lacking in the past. I would definitly reccomend anyone visiting Cromer to stay there and was very happy with the service that they provided with friendly staff and absolutely amazing view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My partner and I visitied the Red Lion in January and it was a perfect way to spend our anniversary. For the occassion we stayed in the Superior Suite, which definately lived up to it's name: the room was very comfortable, the bathroom was very luxurious and the view/balcony made the room stand out. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and found the food very nice and the service was pleasant.

The only dissappointing part about our stay was the weather, as it rained which prevented us from going for walks.

Room Tip: Definately book a room with a view. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed in the superior room last October which had an amazing view of the beach. We absolutely loved the bathroom which was modern & spacious and also had a great view of the beach/sea. Would definitely recommend this room if you enjoy a hot bath with a drink (optional & luckily also available in the room) while looking out onto the sea.
Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were friendly and very attentive. 
We loved our stay at the Red Lion and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laila28Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I have always had fond memories of Cromer growing up as my Auntie and Uncle had previously run a bed and breakfast on the crescent. Since they left a couple of years ago, I had always remembered my auntie recommending The Red Lion as not only a great place to eat but to have a pleasant stay in too!
My friend and I 18 months ago had both needed cheering up and decided to book in at The Red Lion on the tail end of the carnival week for the bustling weekend period. We were lucky enough to get a last minute cancellation; we were greeted in the carpark on arrival and shown our own space which was all very easy!
We loved the comfortable welcoming atmosphere at reception, felt like the staff really took an interest in what our plans were for the weekend. I think its always about taking that step further in customer service; especially as there were details about the carnival that we needed to know about.
As an overall summary from the many stays we have had; the rooms have always been fresh with decor, comfortable with some fantastic views. However there has sometimes been the odd thing here and there that we haven't been happy about- but something that has been dealt with straight away. My friend especially enjoys the basket of food and drink goodies, nice touch :)
The quality of the food has been to an extremely high standard, just a shame sometimes that the restaurant is brimming meaning there are long waits on the main courses. Staff have been wonderful and we love the way they have remembered us on returned stays. It gives a whole personal element to the experience and makes you feel quite special!
My most recent stay was on New years Eve 2011 which again was lucky through a last minute cancellation. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the breakfast was certainly appreciated the next morning (I am particularly partial to the homemade cereal, yoghurt!!! yum)
All in all I strongly recommend this Hotel, if you want a relaxing environment in the heart of Cromer- this is my top choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 7 in Cromer
323 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion
The Red Lion Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing