We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Me & my partner decided to stay home for a holiday this year and also bring our dog along with us because there are some loverly great beaches in Norfolk to walk
So we decided to book a room at the Red lion Cromer for two nights which is a dog friendly hotel. When we arrived we was greeted by a friendly member of staff who gave us how keys to the room and said it had a sea view.
When we got to our room we entered and was very happy indeed it was a very good size room which was light bright and clean and the decor was pleasing to the eye.
There was a sofa were you could sit there for hours just looking out of the window which looks out to sea & the beach (very nice) In the morning we both had breakfast which had options of cold and hot full English breakfast which was a good start to the day.
At the night time we stopped in the bar of the red lion for a drink the bar its self as a nice feel and a good place to relax at the end of a day.
The Red lion is a nice clean friendly place to stay with or with out your dog and me & my partner will
hopefully be stopping there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOMELIKEITHOT47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    195
    47
    23
    20
See reviews for
81
441
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

A really nice place to stay for a few days, comfortable room and excellent food, really good quality food with large portion size. It is the only hotel that we have been to lately where I have not tried the sweets menu , as we were always full before we reached that point.
The staff were great, couldn't do enough for you and they were great with our dog, there was a dog bed, towel and a food dish there waiting for him when we arrived.
All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have sadly watched the quality of the food here deteriorate over the past year. A year ago it was the best fish and chips in town and a great view. Now it is a great view. The last time I ate here (and I probably mean the last time I will) it took forever to get served, the kitchen couldn't cope with a half full restaurant, the food was cold on arrival, not cooked properly and expensive. What happened?

The staff are very nice and work very hard to make things OK but there is something about the place that makes you feel like they are more interested in your cash than you. A bit more a attention from the management on the quality of the food to reflect the prices they charge would be a good start.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here 25th & 26th april. Nice clean room, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Overlooking seafront and pier.Only minor gripe was the shower in our room was very slow but for a couple of days it didnt really matter. Cromer is quite nice but lacked decent pubs to eat, Sheringham had some really nice pubs, the crown and the robin hood were both good. Would probably stay in sheringham next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Really well situated hotel overlooking pier with nice rooms but badly let down by very poor service generally - particularly in the restaurant.
Hotel overlooked the little things that make all the difference - morning paper order "lost" - but still included on our bill - our pre-paid deposit also overlooked and the full amount charged on our final bill, bathroom not cleaned properly.
In the restaurant - run by Duty Manager Gary - during our visit we were served wine we didn't order but for which they later tried to charge us whilst the people at the next table twice ordered coffee which wasn't served at all.
Our third visit and with service declining each time, we were very disapointed. Received only a very grudging apology from Johanna - one of the Directors - who promised to write but, typically, never did!!

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I think whether you like this hotel (and Cromer) is very much down to personal taste. Yes, it is very characterful with stone flagged floors, subdued lighting and comfy sofas with dark wood panelling everywhere - great as a pub but I found it a bit gloomy for a hotel. Our room was at the back of the hotel so no views but it was spacious with a huge bathroom and comfortable bed but again it felt a bit gloomy (this could have been the dismal weather though!) The evening meal was very good so we were disappointed that the breakfast was not so good. From reading other reviews perhaps they were having an off day - we only stayed one night. There was limited choice at the self selection counter - great if you like muesli and yoghurt - but little else. The full english we ordered was substandard really - it didn't seem freshly cooked. Overall we had good service, staff were helpful and friendly, great to have parking in central spot ....... but it's basically a pub with rooms which was just not to my taste. PS: If you smoke there are NO facilities - guests had to stand round the back in the pouring rain with no shelter - a bit tacky!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stumbled across this restaurant whilst trying to find a decent looking place in Cromer. Thank god we did! What a delightful meal! It's been a long time since I enjoyed something so much! The food was amazing as was the presentation. We had a lovely table by the window so we could overlook the sea. The service was prompt and good. We all enjoyed it greatly, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosegrove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#6 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion
The Red Lion Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing