We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I had emailed the hotel to enquiry about booking a table for lunch,, making sure we could take our dog and would enjoy a sea view. The hotel were so helpful by emailing back promptly and answering all my queries. Booked a table for today and it was lovely. Very obliging staff and a wonderful atmosphere. Just what was needed after a brisk walk on the beach. We will definitely return,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    196
    48
    24
    20
See reviews for
82
445
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We only ate here last week (twice) once at lunch time and once in the evening on the Wine and dine for £25 a couple winter offer. A limited menu on this deal but definitely imaginative and excellent value. Lovely open fire and views over the sea.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at The Red Lion last night, we stayed a few years ago when the old owners had it and it was a disgrace, however my sister stays regularly and when we saw the out of season offers we thought we would give it another go as we loved the location and views, thank god we did! From the night we made the booking with manager Liam who was so friendly and helpful on the phone and also offered us a complimentary up grade to checking out with owner Jo it was fantastic. Our room 5 (billiard room) was amazing, we stay in many hotels but this room has to be the best ever, it was huge, and I mean huge with a seating area, separate shower room and roll top bath in the bedroom, so relaxing laying in the bath with a glass of wine watching TV! It was all freshly renovated and a tasteful mixture of old and new, the hotel has so much charm, as someone who has worked in hospitality most of my working years I normally find something that hasn't been cleaned properly but for once I can honestly say it was immaculate. Breakfast this morning was also great, fresh fruit salad, delicious homemade muesli bars, eggs Benedict, homemade jams and marmalades excellent quality food. We really didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back, we visit North Norfolk regularly and this is where we will be staying, check out the out of season offers on rooms and food, they have some great deals. Well done Liam, Jo and your team, Thanks and we will soon be back.

Room Tip: Phone reception and ask for the offers on rooms, sea views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This was our second visit, we were not disappointed. The hotel is exceptional, staff are very friendly and the menu is first class. On arrival we had an upgrade of room with a sea view, this was complementary and very much appreciated. We will be back,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margeret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Just back from a family reunion and holiday over New Year's where we stayed in 4 rooms for two nights. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating than they were with whatever requests we had for our group of eight. Breakfast was very good value and we even got spaces in the Campari for our three cars! We will be back!!!

Room Tip: It is worth the upgrade cost to the Superior rooms. Room 10 is above kitchen and you feel the vent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Loved our stay at the red lion. The rooms were lovely and very well maintained. The food amazing. They catered extremely well for all of our large family (2 adults and 4 children). Staff were friendly and we felt we received great value for our money. Would def return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This was our second stay at the Red Lion and was even better than the first.

We were given an complimentary upgrade (thank you) which had a sea view. Room was large with a sofa by the window so you could sit and look out over the sea. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom good size and spotless.

Room had flat screen tv, hospitality tray, including hot chocolate, complimentary toiletries, wi-fi etc.

Staff are really friendly and helpful.

Good location on the front.

Hotel has a good bar and excellent restaurant. What more could you want!

This is a wonderful hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#6 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion
The Red Lion Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing