We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is one of the best dog friendly hotels we have stayed at, with extremely friendly and helpful staff. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel, but the breakfasts were excellent, apart from the plates being nowhere near warm, let alone hot. A very minor criticism which would certainly not stop us rebooking again.

Room Tip: We had Room 16 - a great view of the sea, but other buildings oblitered a view of the pier. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    195
    47
    23
    20
See reviews for
81
441
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

we ate here on our stay in cromer and found the food very good although it's priced a little on the high side for a pub eatery. the seafood chowder was delicious as were the whitebait. good beer selection and nice views over the seafront. there are quite a few "gastro" pubs now in cromer so trot down the road to albion if you want an old school pub atmosphere to contrast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very enjoyable. The food was excellent both in the evening and at breakfast. Excellent choice of real ales, all in superb condition. Yes I did sample them all! We had a wonderful view of the sea which thanks to the marvelous British weather meant we could hear the sea as well as look at it , Believe me ,not a negative comment. It was great, really ethereal. Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: I understand most rooms have a sea view but I would definitely confirm this on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sel_Yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Red Lion for 1 night at the start of our honeymoon tour, and I can only hope that the rest of the trip comes close to the standard set here. We had booked a standard double, but were upgraded to a superior (room 14) because of the special occasion, and the sea view would definitely be worth the extra money. We opened our window and fell asleep to the sound of the waves breaking on the shore about 30 metres from us!

The room was clean and well decorated, as was the bathroom (complete with pebbles to remind us we were at the seaside!). As well as the normal kettle and instant hot drinks, we liked the fresh ground coffee and cafetiere for a better cup in the morning. There was also an honesty box in the room with Kettle Chips, wine, chocolates, etc which was a nice touch.

The staff were all extremely friendly and efficient, helping us with any questions we had.

The breakfast was amazing - there was the choice of a full English, omelettes and scrambled eggs among others, but we chose Eggs Benedict and Kippers with poached eggs, which were both delicious. The toast was brought to the table in a cloth bag, which kept it much warmer than a toast rack, and there was a table spread with a selection of cereals, homemade jams & marmalade, homemade yoghurt with fruit, and fruit juices - there really would be something for everyone & of a very high quality.

Overall, we were absolutely delighted to have discovered the Red Lion and will stay here again whenever we return to Cromer, and obviously we would recommend it to anyone else looking for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 14 is one of the Superior rooms, with a sea view & it was lovely, especially the modern bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyHCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion In Cromer having been before for Sunday lunch,We go to norfolk every five or six weeks to visit family and wanted to explore north Norfolk bit more. The Red Lion proved to be an ideal base. Sea view room was a bit dated but then so is the Red Lion, service in the busy bar was always quick for either food or drinks. We ate in the restaurant both nights and food was good The full English breakfast was absolutely massive and kept me going all day. However the best bit of the stay was the service putting many Hotels to shame.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked this hotel for a last minute surf trip and I could not recommend it enough, the staff were all very helpful, accommodating and friendly, the food was amazing (especially the breakfast menu!) and our room was beautiful, very clean and modern with a perfect view overlooking the sea, we were so impressed with the hotel we will be sure to book again when the surf picks up! Thank you to all of the staff who made our weekend away so memorable.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucylouMarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I know this will read like it’s been written by the hotel themselves but I cannot speak too highly of the Red Lion. I was there in May 2013 for the ‘Folk on the Pier’ festival and chose it because it was in the Good Beer Guide. I was totally bowled over by the quality of the room, food and service. Someone has spent a lot of money in this place and it has delivered. I regularly stay in hotels for work and pleasure and this is the first time I could be bothered to write a review. Cromer is a beautiful place and the Red Lion is a super hotel (well an Inn actually). Could it improve? Maybe one more person working the bar and a later licence, 11pm is too early to leave that lovely bar!
On leaving I booked for next year.
Niall, Oldham

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niall c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#6 of 7 in Cromer
301 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion
The Red Lion Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing