We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking pub with rooms”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Cracking pub with rooms”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I've stayed this twice over the last couple of years, both times in the summer to visit the North Norfolk Railway. The pub is great, with good pub grub and an excellent breakfast. Dogs are allowed in some rooms, which was great. My dog, a westie enjoyed staying there on both occasions, especially as he was given his own bed and water bowl. Our rooms both had a sea view, which while a little restricted still gave a good lookout to the beach and crab fisherman. The pub is very traditional, but with plenty of seating, including a separate room with funky pictures. Overall a great asset to Cromer.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite/sea facing room. If you get a parking space for your car look after it as there is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    196
    49
    24
    20
See reviews for
85
449
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Earlston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had read many good reviews of this place but our experience was dire. The service was appaling and the food genuinely laughable. £30+ for a lunch with soft drinks oh dear oh dear won't do it twice, go to the Rocket Cafe instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHIL949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We went in for a pre theatre drink and were so impressed by Callum and Jason that we decided to stay for supper. They were both so friendly they warmed up a cold winters night with their enthusiasm and love of their work. The food was good, the wine reasonable and all served on time as they knew we had a time deadline.
The hotel was spotless, the loos clean and the bar inviting.We would recommend the Red Lion to anyone visiting Cromer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We came here twice while in Cromer for the weekend, once just for a drink and once for something to eat. We sat by the lovely fire on both occassions. The pub is lovely and cosy with big comfy sofas and fab christmas decorations. The drinks were reasonably priced and the food was delicious - liked how they had a wider menu on a Sunday as well, as a lot of places only have a roast available on a Sunday. A ploughmans was £10 so not cheap but kept me going all day and I felt it was worth the money. Love how it is dog friendly as well as we got to meet some really cute well behaved dogs. Staff were polite, not massively friendly but they were really busy. I would recommend making a reservation for food as we found it hard to get a table when we were eating!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed one night. The hotel is clean, well furnished and my room had the bonus of looking out to the peir / sea.My 2nd floor room was nicely decorated, warm and I slept extremely well. The breakfast was served in a lovely festive room being a combination of self service and a 'just right portion' served full english breakfast which i can not fault.Special note for the quality of the sausage and coffee served. Staff were very helpful and polite.My stay was excellent value especially as booked last minute and received a 50% discount.The hotel has its own car park which is a bonus and in an excellent location on the sea front and just right of the peir.I can not see why you would not recommend this charming hotel & will definately be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveeNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our third stay at the Red Lion and was even better than before.

We were given an complimentary upgrade (thank you) to a suite. Lounge area had a sofa by the window so you could sit and look out over the sea. Bedroom was nice with a very comfortable bed, bathroom good size and spotless. Lounge and bedroom both had flat screen tv's.

Hospitality tray, including hot chocolate, complimentary toiletries, wi-fi etc all included.

Staff are really friendly and helpful.

Good location on the front.

Hotel has a good bar and excellent restaurant, nicely decorated for Christmas. What more could you want!

This is a wonderful hotel and will definitely be returning (again).

Room Tip: Room 6 - overlooking sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have enjoyed meals in the Red Lion over the years so suggested it to a group of 8 women to have our Christmas get together there. We opted for two courses £20.00 each. Sounds good value but it wasn't. The portion sizes were very mean and forgettable. Unfortunately 3 of our group had to cancel on the night therefore our group less than 6 we were denied a complimentary glass of wine. No tea and coffee included in price. I am not being tight but I have enjoyed Christmas meals in other hotels where for this price you get 3 courses plus tea or coffee and entertainment. Oh and to charge £7.25 for a class of house red is ridiculous. Will never book a Christmas meal here again. The service was ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishlass7710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion
The Red Lion Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing