We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely short break”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Wow, what a great find, just returned from a two night break with our dogs .We were all made very welcome, lovely room, comfortable bed, with a great sea view.
Cosy bar and great food.
Will be visiting again

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 14, lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munsterlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our rooms and public areas and it's always nice when people appreciate it.

Many Thanks

Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Six of us have just returned from a fantastic weekend staying atThe Red Lion Cromer.good food , beer spotless rooms and friendly polite staff.
We will be returning and I highly recommend this venue as I am sure you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi,

Thanks for leaving a review online for us. We work really hard to make sure that the rooms in the Hotel are immaculate. The housekeeping teams are often the teams that get overlooked when it comes to Hotels, so thank you for pointing out how good a job they do do!

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Arrived after the hotel had closed but was expected and checked in without any problems. Really nice touch was that they had the foresight to leave the heater on in the room so it was warm and welcoming. Room and facilities to a very high standard. Even providing a cafetaire in the room. Fresh, ground coffee in your own room. Don't see that very often.
Breakfast was good also. Vegetarian fry up. Very well done, especially the eggs. So good I decided to have my evening meal there. I was lulled into a false sense of security!

Evening meal. Hadn't had any lunch so was looking forward to my cod and hand cut chips. As soon as I saw it I was dissapointed. Only a few skinny chips which looked as if they'd been reheated in the fryer - they were oozing oil and had been crisped to a dark brown colour The fish was just as bad. The batter was the only thing holding the fish together, Had it been microwaved to reheat it? I got the impression tha tthe kitchen staff thought they could get away with serving some left over chips and fish to avoid cooking some fresh.

Couldn't eat anything. So hungry I went to the local garage and bought a sandwich which I ate in my room.

So sad, Good hotel let down by the food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_n998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
It is always difficult to read when a customer has had an unsatisfactory experience. I can assure you that we do not re-heat or re-fry Cod and Chips and am truly sorry that the dish did not live up the excellent experience that you had with your food at Breakfast time. I will be looking into the issue you had with the Cod and Chips as it is one of our most popular dishes.
Really glad you like the extra touches you mentioned.

I hope that your poor Dinner time experience will not put you off from visiting us again.

Regards

Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Red Lion Hotel in Cromer. We recieved a warm welcome when we arrived. The staff here are very friendly and helpful . Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view. The bar has a good atmosphere with tables and sofas. The sofa in front of the log fire is very cosy on a chilly January night . You can eat in the bar or the restaurant. Both are comfortable and informal and the food is very good.Breakfast was also very good. We had a very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The building and location are lovely. The food is poor/average.
The staff are generally lovely but as the saying goes "there's always one"! I don't know if she was a supervisor or something similar but this lady was seriously lacking in customer service skills. Such a shame, we won't go back because of her. Let it be said that she was the only one with that attitude the rest were really polite and friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mattvinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This visit couldn't have been better, came into the red lion around 2 o'clock for sunday lunch, me and my partner had roast beef with all the trimming's, the restaurant and bar was very busy but all the staff seemed to be handling it all very well, when the food arrived everything looked very nice on the plate and tasted just as good as it looked, was very happy to see they were serving sirloin rather than your bottom of the line beef, all in all great food, we trained staff and will be back

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank newcastle1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I've stayed this twice over the last couple of years, both times in the summer to visit the North Norfolk Railway. The pub is great, with good pub grub and an excellent breakfast. Dogs are allowed in some rooms, which was great. My dog, a westie enjoyed staying there on both occasions, especially as he was given his own bed and water bowl. Our rooms both had a sea view, which while a little restricted still gave a good lookout to the beach and crab fisherman. The pub is very traditional, but with plenty of seating, including a separate room with funky pictures. Overall a great asset to Cromer.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite/sea facing room. If you get a parking space for your car look after it as there is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
7.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
663 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £123 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion
The Red Lion Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing