We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with super staff and tasty, hearty breakfasts!”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a very enjoyable 2 night stay in this hotel with a seaview room which was comfortable and exceptionally clean with good quality linen and towels. The upper floors are rather a climb as no lift, but the stairs themselves aren't too steep. We ate in the bar the first night, but not the second as the menu could have been slightly cheaper we thought - with a chicken dish being £12.95 and cod and chips the same price. Also there was a lot on the menu but not enough variation. Perhaps in the season the hotel does a specials' board too. The breakfasts were superb, with a very good selection of cereals, fruits,delicious glasses of home-made yogurts with fresh fruit at the bottom, the usual full English etc., and kippers. The staff were all lovely and very obliging. We had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying extra for a seaview room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeebeeNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TA, we are constantly striving to improve so all comments are welcome. Really glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer in our rooms and that the breakfasts you had were excellent.
In regards to the prices of the evening meals we know that we are not the cheapest but we do try to offer quality from source and we do try to offer a "full plate" so you don't have to order side orders with your main meals. We do also offer residents 10% off their food bills both at The Red Lion and at Bella Vista, I am sorry if the voucher in your guest information folder was not pointed out to you on check in. I will naturally pass on your comments to the Chef as he is currently changing our Main Menu.

Regards

Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here, great location, great staff, especially Alice and Stacey, two truly unique and gregarious individuals!!!!!! Great sense of humour, nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi, thanks for posting such a nice review on TA - I will make sure that the girls see the review and that all of their hard work doesn't go unnoticed by customers. We pride ourselves in trying to offer great service all of the time.

Thanks again and see you soon
Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My partner and I was in the area to visit a National Trust site. Our initial plan, as were are fairly local was to drive there and back in a day. We was running late and decided to make the short drive to Cromer for a drink and to look into the possibility of a hotel for the night.

We had a quick look on the internet, but as the area in remote struggled for signal. As a result we went into the first pub we could find for the wifi. Upon entering the bar, we could sense a friendly atmosphere and knew that if there was rooms available this is where we would stay. The internet said they were fully booked, but upon enquiring, not only did we get a room we also got a discount! The room was £110 but after asking they said we could have it for £80.

The room itself was small, but adequate with an en suite bathroom with shower and bath. Considering the price we paid, we couldn't complain. Inclusive in the price of the room was breakfast too, which was perfect. A choice of cereals then a locally sourced fry up with a great vegetarian option too!

With the weather being so dreadful recently, it was especially warm to meet such pleasant members of staff who were happy to assist you with anything you needed and such a welcoming bar. The bar is what attracted us to this venue and we spent the evening on a sofa overlooking the sea with a log burning fire next to us. Amble wood so the fire would never go out and a great choice of drinks.

Should you need to be in Cromer, this is the place to be! We will 100% return very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for such a nice review, we kind of wish it was colder all year round so we could keep the logs burning throughout the year!
Next time you are coming to Cromer give us a call and we will ensure you have a nice big room....such an old building - we have all shapes and sizes!
Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I am part of a small group of friends who visit Cromer on the 1st Friday of February every year. We enjoy a night ‘on the town’ to celebrate/remember the life of a close friend who died 4 years ago and to visit his grave the next day. For the last 3 years we have stayed at the Red Lion for our ‘remembrance’ night out.

The Red Lion, despite its blustery, central, sea front location, remains warm and welcoming. The service was again friendly and efficient throughout (from check-in/check-out to Breakfast/Dinner service). This year I did not manage to secure my favorite sea facing room and found the accommodation a wee bit pokier but comfortable and clean, nevertheless.

We have eaten in the hotel for the past 3 years and the ambiance and quality of the food has led to it being our chosen restaurant for our annual evening meal. The four Steaks (yes, rather unoriginal) were slightly overdone as ‘Medium Rares’ but good quality. The breakfast was again excellent and with a great choice of cooked options and a good buffet.

I look forward to Year 4 in 2015.

Room Tip: Request a Sea rather than street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for coming back to see us again! We love repeat guests and it's good to know we haven't lost our touch! When you are arranging your visit next year please ask to speak to one of the owners and we will organise a bottle of something or other to go with your Steaks!
See you next year
Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel was first class,the staff the food the rooms(ours did not have a sea view)were excellent.our room was spotless.the atmosphere in the bar made our short break enjoyable(three nights).the hotel has its own car park which is ideal.we can certainly recommend it and hope to return when possible

Room Tip: Our room 18 was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotthallLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Red Lion, we always do our best to ensure a relaxing stay.....see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed in room 7 for my wife's birthday, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Checking in was quick and informative. A very nice room with beautiful decor and a balcony. The best view was from the seated bathroom window, boasting an almost panoramic view of the pier and beach. The heated towels, fluffy dressing gowns, honesty box and plush lion were all lovey touches not to forget the personalised welcome letter. I also really enjoyed the surprise art in the bathroom. The breakfast was amazing too, with a large table full of treats and a gut busting cooked breakfast made just how I like it. There are many other options to pick from too. Thank you to all at the Red.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi, thanks for spending the time writing a review for us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Room 7, it's one of our personal favourites. We will be keeping the honesty boxes but plan to make them a little bit more "Norfolk" this year!!
See you soon
Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Wow, what a great find, just returned from a two night break with our dogs .We were all made very welcome, lovely room, comfortable bed, with a great sea view.
Cosy bar and great food.
Will be visiting again

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 14, lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munsterlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our rooms and public areas and it's always nice when people appreciate it.

Many Thanks

Red Lion Cromer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
956 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £120 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion
The Red Lion Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing