We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent surprise !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent surprise !!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had meals in the restaurant over last nine years-always satisfied with but the hotel...amazing , what a surprise I was speechless after seeing our room-free upgrade AMAZING -my favourite was the bathroom with sea view
,very, very special hotel-if you are travelling Cromer direction that should be your choice ,I don't write reviews very often but I am writing this straight after coming back because its just worth it !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are always pleased to hear about our Rooms as we try really hard to please!

Many thanks again

Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    195
    47
    23
    20
See reviews for
81
441
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

First time at this B & B. The positives - great central location, premium views. We did manage to park ok. Dog friendly. After a long walk we decided to have a light lunch - both of us had fish cakes which were some of the best i've tasted - just wish i could have had a bit more hollandaise sauce. A good selection of real ales on tap. Wine pricey by the glass although there is a 'wine of the moment' bottle priced reasonably but on this occasion only if you like white - the red approx £19 a bottle. Whilst eating lunch we could see the specials and as we were having dinner - thought about what we would like to try, however by the time the evening came there were only two special mains left, somewhat dissappointing. Staff were friendly and at their best with the youngsters in the restaurant. Our room on the top floor - 3 flights of stairs - no lift but fine for us as we're relatively fit. Overall a good stay food in the evening fair to good. We would return for sure but may eat somewhere for the evening. Breakfast was really good. You can tell a good establishment by the quality of its sausages - produce locally sourced where possible

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for such a concise review, great to hear how you enjoyed your stay...we would love a lift but our building is Listed. Also sorry to hear about the Specials ... it's a bit first come first served with Chefs Specials! I will give him your feedback to see if we can increase his stock levels.

Many Thanks

RL Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Good choice of real ale with friendly staff. There was a wait of an hour for food so we went to the chip shop instead, the food we saw coming out looked good. Clean but lacking in atmosphere. Seem to be the best pub in former but the rest looked awful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review...sorry to hear the wait was prolonged during your visit, we cook all of our food to order so at busy times there can be a delay.

Hope you enjoyed your Chips!

Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I booked this hotel through late rooms off of tripadviser the booking went through i had an e-mail to confirm this some 2 hours later i had a message to call them of which i picked up 5 hours after the booking which i did to be told very rudely by a man they had no rooms even though on late rooms site it stated the contract was with me and the hotel ,the red lion blamed late rooms he told me they had closed the site off to bookings on going on tripadviser at 19-08 they were still advertising rooms with late rooms an travel republic and went on both to find it took me right through the booking process the man on the phone showed no remorse and wasn't interested in helping me out as it was there mistake

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GWP150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Sorry to hear about your experience with trying to book a room with us. I can assure you that this is not a normal occurrence and will be looking into what happened.

Regards
Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I stayed locally in Cromer to celebrate our 7th Wedding Anniversary from 26th April until 30th April.

We called in for a drink on the Saturday evening and the place was buzzing and had a generally good atmosphere, the restaurant was packed which was encouraging, we enjoyed a drink looking over the sea.

We decided to book for the Tuesday evening 29th April, and I chose table 23 in the restaurant which has the white chairs with a pretty bow around them, we were the only ones in the restaurant that evening but the bar area was busy. The food and service was FANTASTIC! I selected the Seafood Platter at £14.95 per person, it is a real showstopper! If you like fish, I suggest you chose this, it really is excellent, and presented beautifully. My husband chose the Belly Pork which was equally delicious, from the specials board. The lemon tart is to die for! I can recommend the Sauvignon blanc to accompany the fish.

We then sat on Table 12 to end our evening and looked out to sea whilst enjoying a last drink.

We are very picky and like good food and service and can not fault the Red Lion, wished we were staying longer to have dined her again.

Room Tip: We didn't stay there but a friend has and a sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review....we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

RL CROMER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a table booked on Easter Saturday and the entire party were looking forward to a return visit to the Red Lion. What can I say? It was such a disappointment compared to previous visits. The food is pretending to be something it isn't with over inflated prices to match. The vegetarian lasagne had no trace of either goats cheese or hazelnuts (as described in the menu) and it appeared to have been whisked from freezer to microwave via a ready meal packet. The same can be said of the "chocolate fondant", which at £6 was no more than a microwave steam pudding completely lacking in taste. We asked for the advertised red "wine of the moment" at £12.95 a bottle and they didn't have any ... it was Easter Saturday for goodness sake! We ordered the house tempranillo at £15.95 a bottle - this turned out to be a wine that we regularly see in the supermarket for a fiver - enough said! Two of the guest ales "ran out" whilst we were there - once again, what were they planning to do for the rest of the weekend? The staff were overstretched and it showed in the service. At £35 a head for two courses - including some very below par wine - we felt robbed. We did not let it dampen our weekend but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are really sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your experience when you came to dine with us on your return visit.
In response to your comments, we were sorry you were not happy with your choice of dishes, we have spoken with the Head Chef and he is aware of your comments and will look more critically at the way the dishes are prepared.
The Wine of the moment can be either a Red or a White but nowhere do we advertise which it will be in one specific week. The Tempranillo was of your choosing and clearly priced if you felt that it was not value for money then there were many other Wines to choose from. In regards to the Real Ale, they do run out at inappropriate times and we change them as soon as possible however this does take time and there were still four good choices of Real Ale available for the rest of that Lunch period.
It is such a shame that you did not raise the issues you were experiencing to the Manger on Duty at the time as we would of been able to address them immediately.

Regards
Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I did not stay in the Hotel but was attracted to the bar and restaurant by the attractive outside seating are overlooking the seafront at Cromer. This is high above the beach level but secure and comfortable.
On entering the bar area I was greeted by a tastefully furnished and decorated vista. This was further enhanced by the range of wines, spirits and real ales available in the bar. Hot and cold food was available and a sign said "please ask a server for a menu, your food order will be taken at your table". There was also a "specials board" on display in the bar.
I ordered a pint of "Grain best bitter" - a Norfolk brewer real ale which I had never come across before. The Barman explained that he only sources Norfolk or Suffolk ales as the Hotel likes to support local suppliers. I also ordered the Fresh Cromer Crab Salad which cost £12.95 but turned out to be well worth the higher than average price for A crab salad as it came with boiled new potatoes, two slices of wholemeal bread, a large well dressed cromer crab and plentiful fresh green salad.
Service was efficient, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff_grayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor, we are really glad you enjoyed the Crab Salad and the Grain Beer. The guys all work really hard to achieve the quality we expect and it's great when it doesn't go unnoticed...see you again soon!

Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#6 of 7 in Cromer
301 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion
The Red Lion Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing