We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good value for money”
Review of Albury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albury House
Ranked #14 of 27 Cromer B&B and Inns
Watford, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Good value for money”
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My friend and I enjoyed two nights at Albury House. Excellent value for money, very warm reception from Vicky and an outstanding English Breakfast. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The TV reception wasn't great but didn't matter. Cromer was lovely and we had a great mooch round Holt well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Rather last minute, we decided to book somewhere to extend our day out in Cromer, and to this end Albury House was just the ticket, without giving that extra pleasure to a trip away that comes from staying at a particularly special B&B. Our room, tucked up in the eaves, was light, spacious and clean, in good decorative order without having any very remarkable character; and was good value. The ensuite was small, though with a powerful shower. The service was pleasant enough without being personal, but with a guest house of a few rooms (five I think), it is understandable that perhaps the proprietor doesn’t have time or energy to befriends every guest, and one could say that there is a freedom to be able to come and go without having to engage in social chit-chat. Breakfast was good, though it is a shame that they don’t cater particularly for vegetarians; my companion’s veggie breakfast was just the same as mine, only minus the meat! It wouldn’t take much just to keep a packet or two of Linda McCartney sausages in the freezer. But still, if you are wanting to spend a night or two by the seaside, you could do a lot worse than The Albury Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eclair999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

The lady in charge welcomed us did not seem very interested. We were ushered up to the room and told when breakfast was available and then she left quickly. We had asked for a twin room and got a double bed and a childs/sofa metal bed. The windows were lovely and big until you realised that everyone can look in and no netting only curtains. The tv was terrible and the toiletries left a lot to be desired (no soap!) Huge deep bath with shower but I found difficult to get into it as so high and my mum who came with me couldnt do it at all and she is an able body 50 something! Luckily we remembered to take our own hairdryer and alarm clock as neither were present in the room. The little bed squeaked to high heaven and had a bad nights sleep as a result!

The breakfast i could not even stomach to eat it, very little care was paid to it or us. We quickly left the b&b. Such a shame as Cromer was so lovely.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scaredcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

A nice B&B run by Vicky who is very friendly and helpful. The double room was well-furnished with an excellent bed and a modern bathroom with an extra large bath. Well located within walking distance of the pier and parking was easy on the street. Nice breakfast and good coffee !!

  • Liked — Room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

A group of us stayed in this B&B in May.
The owners were polite but not overly welcoming.
The B&B was clean and quiet. The decor was the standard floral curtains and coloured carpets you get in many English B&Bs. It wasn't overly chintzy. Rooms were quite small. Breakfast was a nice English breakfast. Overall perfectly adequate for a nights stay and good value but nothing special.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Owner was a bit hostile towards a gay couple travelling with us.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Albury House B&B is a quiet B&B. Just a ten minute stroll from the pier, beach and amusements; it's very conveniently located for exploring Cromer's centre.

Vicky, the owner, is very welcoming and a very nice lady.

The B&B website doesn't give a huge amount of information, so in case it's useful to anyone, we found out that there are single/twin and double rooms available plus a family room on the top floor with a double and two singles. The singles are partitioned off in a separate area which we thought was a nice touch. Our room (a double on the top floor) was very clean and comfortable and included a tea tray and biscuits. The toilet and shower room was, again, very clean but very small. The room itself had plenty of storage space with a wardrobe, chest of drawers and bedside cabinets. No hairdryer in the room but one is available on request.

For breakfast there is a choice of cereals or cooked options plus tea and / or coffee. We had toast and the full cooked breakfast. Plenty of fresh toast was provided with butter and jams and the cooked breakfast was superb (beans, tomatoes, two slices of bacon, two eggs and a very nice sausage). It certainly set us up for the day!

As all the bedrooms are not located on the ground floor and there is no lift available (as you would expect in a B&B) this B&B would not be suitable for anyone who is not able bodied.

However, we would certainly recommend this B&B if you are planning a visit to Cromer. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, the superb breakfast and it's location
  • Disliked — The small toilet / shower room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynAndAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Fabulous bed and breakfast located very close to the sea front.
Our room was immaculate and very modern in design. The ensuite was very roomy.
We looked at a couple of other bed and breakfasts which were more expensive and nothing close to the standard of this one.
The breakfast was to a very high standard. Im very fussy where I stay. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a break in Cromer.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseeker076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ogilvy House
Ogilvy House
#1 of 27 in Cromer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellington House B&B
Wellington House B&B
#4 of 27 in Cromer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albury House

Property: Albury House
Address: 20 Alfred Road, Cromer NR27 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albury House Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing