We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but did not meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandcliff Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK but did not meet expectations”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Our room at Sandcliff was spacious, very clean and with a good sea view. However, the shower-room was unacceptably small and the decor was dated. Wi-fi throughout the hotel was advertised, but wi-fi in the room was not accessible at all during our stay and the signal in the public areas kept failing - we gave up. The location within Cromer is good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    155
    52
    9
    12
See reviews for
86
170
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Comfortable, large room with sea view . Very good food both at breakfast and evening meal. The staff were very friendly. An enjoyable relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilak65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

we stayed in a double room with our 18 month old daughter. Travel cot was set up, high chair provided. The menu selection was excellent and nothing was too much trouble to provide our daughter with her own mini version of the menu. The hotel is perfectly positioned to explore Cromer with wonderful seafront views. The staff were attentive and friendly. It was our first time in a hotel with a young child, we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: use hotel's own website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malpas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Everything about this hotel is very good, spotlessly clean throughout, lovely room, and good food. One slight criticism would be that dinner is served between 6.00 and 7.00pm which was a little early for us. Would I go back again,? I most certainly will.

Room Tip: our room was at the front overlooking the sea... t
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan6511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

ideally located: apart but still close to city, in front of sea side
very kind and efficient service
large, nice and clean rooms
well hold family hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochel_bernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Traditional medium-size hotel, clean and well decorated. Manageress keen to please and breakfast (also waitresses) were very good. Reasonable charges, especially compared to the others in Cromer which seemed far too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLK200k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed for three nights, great room with a sea view. Staff very friendly particularly the two young women who served at breakfast, very helpful and cheerful. Breakfast was excellent, particularly liked the fresh fruit salad!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerinhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 7 in Cromer
323 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcliff Guest House

Property: Sandcliff Guest House
Address: 37 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcliff Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandcliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcliff Guest House Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing