We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandcliff Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
New forest
Level Contributor
154 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Friendly, superb location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We love staying at the Sandcliff because of the fantastic location, sea views and excellent value. When we stayed this time, the owner could not have been more helpful in finding us the best room. The breakfasts are also very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    152
    49
    9
    12
See reviews for
84
165
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Two friends and I spent a weekend in Cromer 11th to 13th April 2014. We stayed at the Sandcliff. It is an excellent place to stay. The hotel is near the town centre, clean, good accommodation, good food and very friendly staff.
Cromer is a lovely seaside town, good coastal walks and nice beaches, The Pier is a gem with its great selection of end of pier shows throughout the year.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite so if that is a problem ask for one that is. My room was not but that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night. The bedroom itself was spotless and had a huge comfortable double bed. The breakfast was excellent and served very hot.
The only thing I would say is, try to get a bedroom on the top floor, we seemed to have fairy elephants above us which rattled the ceiling and bathroom door all evening and morning.
I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just spent a 3 day short break at the Sandcliff Hotel. Very cosy, good food and clean which is what I want from a stay.
Stayed in 2 rooms as we wanted a sea view but that wasn't available for our first night but we moved for the 2nd & 3rd nights to Room 23 which had a nice 4 poster bed and a fab sea view. Spare single bed in the room too so good for a couple and child.
Service the whole time was just as you need it, there when required but not intrusive.
Will definitely stay again and have recommended it to all my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew195031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I have just stayed at the Sandcliff hotel in Cromer for 1 night and couldn't recommend it more, room 12 had a lovely view of the sea, was clean & comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. A great value choice for a stay by the sea.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh G, Owner at Sandcliff Guest House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Very good value. Cosy, small room. Beautifully clean. Sea view. Breakfast delicious. Full English with lots of additional treats. Fresh fruit salad, strawberries, blueberries etc..
Free parking directly outside.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh G, Owner at Sandcliff Guest House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Me, my Grandparents and Brother stayed at the Sandcliff Hotel for a night and were very happy with the room. It was in a clean condition, was tidy and had very comfortable beds. However, It was very standard and probably needs some work done to it to update it and make it more modern. The people were nice but I felt they could've been more welcoming towards us and other clients. Food was outstanding and was delivered quickly to our table which was a bonus!

Overall, an okay stay but improvement would help and would probably gain popularity.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh G, Owner at Sandcliff Guest House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for leaving a review! We are updating in June 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#6 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcliff Guest House

Property: Sandcliff Guest House
Address: 37 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcliff Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandcliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcliff Guest House Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing