We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, almost an ideal hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandcliff Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal location, almost an ideal hotel.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A lovely welcome awaits. The hotel is a 3 star and is excellent value for money. The breakfast was great - the fresh fruit salad was spot on, and one of the best I've had anywhere.

It's an ideal location, we had never been to Cromer before, but will be coming back.

The down points? Well, not much. The pull switch in the ensuite has seen much better days a long time ago, and should be condemned, but everything else was clean - change that and I wouldn't have any complaints.

Also, the WiFi wouldn't connect on any of our devices, despite having reception and 2 alternative routers, nothing much but sort that sort of stuff and you'll have happier parents!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyQWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    157
    54
    10
    14
See reviews for
92
173
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recommend booking through the hotel, not through a booking agency. You can speak to a real friendly human being, the rate will be the same and you can be sure what room you are getting. (All rooms are different in this old hotel, and some people have complained that they didn't know they had a shared/private bathroom, back view etc.)
We had a room on the top floor with a beautiful sea view. We had a pine four-poster plus a single bed in the bay window. The bathroom was VERY small - a sliver carved off the room, just fitting the shower and loo and basin. However, for the rate we paid, we thought the room was excellent value. Everything was very clean and the beds comfortable.
Breakfast was charged separately, but was very cheap. And better than that offered by the expensive hotel we had come from! A wonderful fruit salad, containing fresh strawberries and blackberries as well as the usual melon, grapes etc. Everything else you would expect too, good cooked options and friendly service.
Some people have complained about the bar being shut etc. Well, the Cliftonville Hotel is just next door with a good Bistro and busier bar. I would stay at the Sandcliff and nip next door for a meal or drink.

Room Tip: Call and discuss the options! Sea view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarJonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent the weekend in Cromer for the Crab and Lobster festival.Booked the Sandcliff well in advance at a really good value rate.Staff very helpful room clean tidy we were on the side of the building but still had a sea view,just. Sandcliff turned out really well for us the location is ideal.Top tip have the breakfast great value lovely fresh grapefruit, freshly cooked full English with really good ingredients. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeseyryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Sandcliff Hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the town centre and from the beach and pier. (We were also able to walk to Sheringham from here! Though did get the bus back!) There are parking spaces attached to the hotel but free parking is available across the road and on the side streets. A friendly welcome awaited us and we were given the key to our room. Now we do have a few weekend breaks and we never pay the earth but the room we got was one of the best on our budget. in fact I think it was the best room in the hotel. Great spacious bedroom with views out to sea and of the pier. Very pleased with the room. We stayed a couple of nights and had no complaints with the comfortable bed. We enjoyed the breakfast. Usual choice of help yourself stuff and then a cooked breakfast. My partner had a little issue with the gentleman serving as she wanted decaf tea and then a poached egg instead of fried. He made a bit of an issue with this but I think he was only trying to be funny but my partner didn't see it that way with his off hand remarks!! The food was good and plentiful. A great place to stay for the price. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefastwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Clean room, convienient location and good value, nice people too. When we checked in the lady on the desk was most helpful in advising where we could park the car. They had also taken note of my previous email regarding changing rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleyfairway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked a one night stay last minute. The owner was very friendly & helpful. We booked an ensuite room which was very clean & had comfortable large bed.Hot & cold Breakfast was excellent with cerials, big bowl of fruits, yogurts etc. I had the full English with all the trimmings. This was our third night in Norfolk, we should have had all three here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hatch1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Just booked in.
Great room, very clean, warm & cosy.
I opted for non ensuite room, toilet is a few steps away, shower in on upper floor, this doesn't cause me any issues.
Trip is for sea fishing so don't want all the frills of a bog and a bath.
Hosts wonderful, will be keeping a note for my next trip to this area.
Parking on site & free on roads around.
Free wifi, separate lounge with a large TV.
Well worth a visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank NN201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
516 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 27 in Cromer
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcliff Guest House

Property: Sandcliff Guest House
Address: 37 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcliff Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandcliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcliff Guest House Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing