We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandcliff Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a lovely few days at the Sandcliff Hotel, Friendly, smiling staff welcomed us on our arrival. There was a wonderful full English breakfast that kept us going until tea time..with a superb fresh fruit salad yoghurt, and cereals also available.
The hotel is a short walk from the centre of Cromer which has at least one excellent fish and chip restaurant. The hotel next door does a superb lobster if you want a more "up market" evening meal.
There was a junior school in at the same time as us, but so well behaved we didn't notice them and their manners were impeccable.
The room was comfortable, clean, well decorated and well appointed on the ground floor. It had an ensuite, very small but functional. There was hardly any road noise, although it is on a main road. We slept well. We would happily stay there again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Speak to the owners when you book, and you will be able to discuss your options and be clear about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bundilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked the Sandcliff very last minute but was delighted ,had a lovely welcome,the family room had a fantastic sea view, we took our Labradors cage and there was plenty of room,very clean and comfortable .The location is brilliant for the beautiful beach and a short walk into town, will definitely return .

Room Tip: we were lucky to book into room 9 a family room with a double bed and bunks ,for a couple with a dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy1sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A lovely welcome awaits. The hotel is a 3 star and is excellent value for money. The breakfast was great - the fresh fruit salad was spot on, and one of the best I've had anywhere.

It's an ideal location, we had never been to Cromer before, but will be coming back.

The down points? Well, not much. The pull switch in the ensuite has seen much better days a long time ago, and should be condemned, but everything else was clean - change that and I wouldn't have any complaints.

Also, the WiFi wouldn't connect on any of our devices, despite having reception and 2 alternative routers, nothing much but sort that sort of stuff and you'll have happier parents!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyQWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recommend booking through the hotel, not through a booking agency. You can speak to a real friendly human being, the rate will be the same and you can be sure what room you are getting. (All rooms are different in this old hotel, and some people have complained that they didn't know they had a shared/private bathroom, back view etc.)
We had a room on the top floor with a beautiful sea view. We had a pine four-poster plus a single bed in the bay window. The bathroom was VERY small - a sliver carved off the room, just fitting the shower and loo and basin. However, for the rate we paid, we thought the room was excellent value. Everything was very clean and the beds comfortable.
Breakfast was charged separately, but was very cheap. And better than that offered by the expensive hotel we had come from! A wonderful fruit salad, containing fresh strawberries and blackberries as well as the usual melon, grapes etc. Everything else you would expect too, good cooked options and friendly service.
Some people have complained about the bar being shut etc. Well, the Cliftonville Hotel is just next door with a good Bistro and busier bar. I would stay at the Sandcliff and nip next door for a meal or drink.

Room Tip: Call and discuss the options! Sea view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarJonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent the weekend in Cromer for the Crab and Lobster festival.Booked the Sandcliff well in advance at a really good value rate.Staff very helpful room clean tidy we were on the side of the building but still had a sea view,just. Sandcliff turned out really well for us the location is ideal.Top tip have the breakfast great value lovely fresh grapefruit, freshly cooked full English with really good ingredients. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheeseyryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Sandcliff Hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the town centre and from the beach and pier. (We were also able to walk to Sheringham from here! Though did get the bus back!) There are parking spaces attached to the hotel but free parking is available across the road and on the side streets. A friendly welcome awaited us and we were given the key to our room. Now we do have a few weekend breaks and we never pay the earth but the room we got was one of the best on our budget. in fact I think it was the best room in the hotel. Great spacious bedroom with views out to sea and of the pier. Very pleased with the room. We stayed a couple of nights and had no complaints with the comfortable bed. We enjoyed the breakfast. Usual choice of help yourself stuff and then a cooked breakfast. My partner had a little issue with the gentleman serving as she wanted decaf tea and then a poached egg instead of fried. He made a bit of an issue with this but I think he was only trying to be funny but my partner didn't see it that way with his off hand remarks!! The food was good and plentiful. A great place to stay for the price. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefastwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Clean room, convienient location and good value, nice people too. When we checked in the lady on the desk was most helpful in advising where we could park the car. They had also taken note of my previous email regarding changing rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashleyfairway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 7 in Cromer
344 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcliff Guest House

Address: 37 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcliff Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandcliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcliff Guest House Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing