We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very average & felt 20 years out of date.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cromer Country Club
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very very average & felt 20 years out of date.”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Check that this place meets your requirements, it is not a hotel - it is a collection of self catering chalets, laid out in a housing estate style.

The check in process too way too long, the staff were friendly enough but there were lots of rules and regulations to go through and a pack of paperwork about an inch thick - over the top and not exactly a relaxing start to a stay.

The rooms need updating, very dated. The bed was comfortable and there were sofas and a TV so everything you need but it just felt like it was 20 years out of date. The shower was a trickle - people expect nice showers and fresh up to date decor.

No free wifi in the room - £2 for 20 minutes. Who charges for wifi nowadays?

Location good on the edge of Cromer and a nice view over the coast near a lighthouse, saw a nice sunset.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We are really sorry for the impression of the resort that you have gained on this occasion. We are concerned and disappointed following the reading of your review; we put great emphasis on providing excelled customer service and standard of accommodation. We would like to assure you that all issues mentioned by you will be addressed by our ongoing refurbishment program– please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced.
We sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you again and offer you an excellent stay; we wish all the best on your future travels.

Kelly Howe
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    215
    52
    18
    15
See reviews for
223
343
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Managed a timeshare exchange into here. Had villa 28. 2 bedder/sleep 6. Unusually 2nd bedroom a good sized twin (often find 2nd bedroom more suitable for kids which makes it difficult if its 2 couples sharing a holiday.
Plenty of space in lounge. Downstairs bathroom with bath/shower, w.basin & loo. Upstairs bathroom shower cubicle, w.basin, loo. Plenty of wardrobe space. Very comfortable beds.
Small but adequate kitchen unless you want to fully self-cater.
Quite a hilly resort with quite a lot of steps to some villas. Good sized indoor pool & fitness suite. Lovely cliff top position above Cromer.
Amber bar/restaurant on site offers choice of eating in busy bar or booking into adjacent restaurant.
Faultless Reception staff who really did seem to be there to help,everyone have good holiday. During our week there we had 3 visits from housekeeping staff. Everything immaculately clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in Villa 33 which was an excellent position as got the sun all day , when the sun came out ! The reception staff were extremely pleasant and very very helpful. Special thanks to Kate and Gemma. The restaurant we only used once , food good but very slow as was the takeaway facility. Lots of sports facilities which at the time no one was taking advantage of,nice pool jacuzzi and steam room etc. Although the resort has many levels and steps the staff go out of their way to help in any way they can with luggage etc. Very friendly staff on a very relaxed resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennydLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you very much for your gracious comments especially about the team. We hope to see you again soon but, in the meantime, we wish you safe travels!

Kelly Howe
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

After undergoing all sorts of problems with the sale/purchase of property we needed a night away from it all and boy did we have a nice relaxing time at Cromer Country Club! The pool area with sauna, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi were very well appointed and the villa had absolutely everything you could have thought of needing. The staff were knowledgeable and welcoming - we only live in Norwich so didn't need local area information but they were busy telling other people of the nice places to visit. Food was good and reasonably priced which made a change. Overall a very welcome place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems it might be hard to find the right accommodation but I am sure they wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at Cromer Country club. The accommodation was very good,
clean and warm. The warmth was welcome to begin with as the weather could'nt decide if it should be hot and sunny or cool - so we got both! All members of staff were very friendly.
It was self catering with use of hotel amenities so we were not limited to what day of the week to
arrive or leave.
We ate in the restaurant and bar on a couple of occasions and cannot fault the food or service.

Nice walks nearby along clifftop and local for the National Trust places we wanted to visit. All in all an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
It is a part of our ethos to deliver an exceptional standard of accommodation and customer care in order to create a home like experience, ensuring that all our guests can relax in a friendly atmosphere. We are pleased to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Kelly Howe
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Cromer Country club is very well situated just on the edge of Cromer with lovely cliff top walks, but may not be suitable for visitors with mobility problems.
The staff were,without exception, superb, nothing seemed to be too much trouble and service was always with a smile. Not something you get too often!
Our studio was well equipped with good self catering facilities including a dishwasher.
The bed and easy chairs were comfortable and the cleaning services very good.
The on site bar and restaurant offer very good value for money. The seafood platter consisting of half a lobster, Comer crab, prawns ,crevettes etc was very good value, especially with a portion of chips, LOL.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPlmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your lovely review - we are delighted to read that you had such a great stay here with us. We are especially pleased to read your comments referring to the great performance of our team - we strive to offer excellent customer service to all our guests and we are happy to know that we were successful. We hope to see you again soon!

Kelly Howe
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The one bedroom villa was not too bad for the two of us but this villa is designed to accomodate up to four people. The bedroom was so small that there was no room for any clothing storage, there was a small wardrobe in the lounge but most of our clothes had to stay in our suitcase on the floor of the lounge. It was a bit anoying that the villa behind us had our roof as a terrace, this would not normaly be a problem but the family in that unit had a young child who liked to run around on the terrace in hobnailed boots at silly times of the morning.
Now the moans are over the area was wonderful and the staff could not have been more attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cromer Country Club, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for your review and the compliments referring to our team and location, although we regret to read that you found your villa too small to your liking. We hope however that this has not marred your stay and that you will consider us for your future bookings!

Kelly Howe
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.5 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
856 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
880 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromer Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromer Country Club

Property: Cromer Country Club
Address: 127 Overstrand Road, Cromer NR27 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromer Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive leisure facilities at Cromer Country Club make this resort a lively, family destination. The children will enjoy swimming in the pool while parents supervise from the luxury of the poolside whirlpool. The busy bar serves a range of snacks and bar meals while the quieter, elegantly decorated restaurant offers a more formal choice of menu. Accommodations are equipped with all practical and modern conveniences and are furnished to a very comfortable standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cromer Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromer Country Club Hotel Cromer
Cromer Country Hotel
Cromer Country Club Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing