We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brooding structure with archaic notions of hospitality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brooding structure with archaic notions of hospitality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We arrived at the Hotel de Paris after a particularly arduous late Friday night drive to find the tiny exterior car park rammed with cars. As most of inner Cromer is a playground for double yellow line artists, we finally found an all night stay space about a mile from our intended location and proceeded to walk through rain lashed streets to book back into to the grand old pile
. By the time we got to the hotel de Paris, we were exhausted and thoroughly soaked and simply wanted to encounter a modicum of hospitality. No chance. After walking through reception like a couple of drowned rats we were confronted by a somewhat po faced receptionist who proceeded to ask, in a dry condescending manner, why we had not bothered to simply park outside the Hotel to avoid the rain. Finding her question somewhat subversive (as the carpark outside was the size of postage stamp and visibly packed), we ignored her and proceeded to sign in. As we were tired and wet, we were snappy with each other, so naturally we were then quite alarmed to see that the receptionist appeared to be cracking a smile at our discomfort!
Now thoroughly perturbed and realizing that we may have inadvertently entered some kind of bizarre Shinning style horror film, we were led up to our room by one of the hotel assistants. The interior of the hotel was pleasantly archaic and very clean with strong original architectural features. The atmosphere was one of charming otherworldly creepiness. On being finally introduced to our room, we found a clean if not somewhat spartan arrangement consisting of a historic creaky old bed, a bathroom with hints of limescale and a few bits of pre-war furniture that looked like it had been donated by a somewhat senile elderly widow.
Duly unpacking, I took a bath and spent time soaking and listening to the creaks and clumps of the other ghosts - er - guests that may or may not have been sharing the adjacent rooms. On finally settling for the night, we spent the best part of the next 4 hours trying to insulate our ears against the incessant groaning of the floorboards above us while trying to avoid permanent spinal damage on the concrete hard bed.
After surviving the night, we made good our preparations for breakfast. The serving staff in the dining hall were actually very friendly and found us a table promptly and courteously. I did observe at this point that the cutlery looked in very port state. Holding up my cornflakes spoon I was somewhat shocked to see that the metal looked like it had been slashed and scratched by a million dentures which kind of put me off breakfast. Having said that, breakfast, when it was served was good, with the waiting staff constantly on call to answer and serve almost any whim.
To summarize, the Hotel de Paris is a magnificent structure that is in desperate need of internal modification. Wifi anyone? The younger staff at the hotel were great, but the older ones clearly need to be sent on an NVQ hospitality course.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Burlington B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    120
    49
    17
    13
See reviews for
33
177
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

The staff were so miserable only one nice person there was the young lad who served our breakfast, when we arrived we were interested in the story of the ghost in the windows and asked to be placed in this room, upon asking at reception we were told there are no haunted rooms by the coldest unfriendliest receptionist I have ever come across. The only ghostly cold spots that can be found around the hotel would be where ever this staff member was. The beds are rock hard we hardly slept a wink all night, the only eerie moans, groans and creaks will come from your bones after trying to sleep on those beds and the rooms are so very basic especially considering the price we paid. I have been in much nicer hotels with much nicer staff for half the price. its a great location but an old out dated hotel with old outdated (not as in nice antique but as in shabby and could do with a damn good clean) furniture and décor. The whole time we were there the games room was out of bounds which seemed to fit in with the staff, i am sure games might actually make someone smile which is seriously frowned upon in my experience. I am not surprised it did not have any haunted rooms you would not catch me here again for dead.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mandsandadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were told this Hotel was good,and in our opinion its worth 5 stars. The staff are lovely, very helpful and Margaret went out of her way to help us, food was way above 2 star standard that the hotel is rated ,plentiful and hot,service was a tad slow at times but no complaints, Raj was a wonder at calling Bingo we all enjoyed it, the entertainment was well up to standard. Thanks from the Sinfin Seniors to Steve and all his staff.we had such a good time we have booked our Turkey and Tinsel break with Steve and staff at the Hotel de Paris.

Room Tip: Wonderful views and a lovely parish church close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thizle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire U.K.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Managed to return to the de Paris Hotel after two years (couldn't get a room last year at the time we wanted). It has to be remembered that there are two types of guest at this hotel - those who have booked with Alfa/Liesureplex coach tours and those, like us, who book privately. There is no difference in the standard of service between the two groups. I was really glad to note that there have been improvements since our last visit: new carpets in our room and corridor areas, fruit juices freely available at breakfast and nicely browned sausages! (see my last review). I can only re-echo the many superlatives about this lovely hotel. Spotless cleanliness, friendly helpful staff, good food (not haute cuisine but generous and excellent value), the unrivalled position and sea views........I could go on. But for me it is the building itself which will bring me back. Such a feast of late Victorian architecture to enfold and delight all who relax in its beautiful spaces. So tragic that two other George Skipper hotel masterpieces in Cromer were demolished in the 1960s.
Well done Alfa/Liesurplex for keeping the Hotel de Paris alive and lovely!

Room Tip: A sea view room is well worth the small supplement - all floors are served by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thechoirmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester and trondheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Alfa have a hotel and staff that is a credit to their organisation.The food is better than most 5*hotels we have stayed in.Spotlessly clean throughout,we had a sea view room and our friends stayed in a standard room which was as good as ours but without the view.Dave the Alfa driver knew everything about the Norfolk area.

Room Tip: sea view worth the extra,but in some rooms the windows will not open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank norwegianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

For excellence at a bargain price but no compromise in quality this is the hotel.Perfect setting with unrivalled sea views,every area of the hotel is scrupulously clean,the food perfect and all staff encountered friendly helpful and,professional.

Room Tip: Sea View,with excellent views,rooms to the rear do not have this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have just had a coach holiday and our hotel was Hotel de Paris. This hotel is excellent, beautiful rooms, spotlessly clean, not only bedrooms but all public parts as well. The food was very good, with a selection of dishes, all well presented. The staff through out the hotel, from reception to cleaners were most obliging with ANYTHING you required. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honestlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: High Street, Cromer NR27 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Paris - Cromer [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. A delightful and unique hotel, occupying the finest position in Cromer, close to the shops and historic parish church and directly overlooking the pier and beach. Superb reception lounge, cocktail bar, games room and TV lounge. Delightful restaurant with small dance floor and entertainment most evenings. All 61 bedrooms have central heating and private bath or shower and WC, most with excellent views. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Lift (few stairs to some rooms). Limited car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Paris Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing