We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view..........”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous view..........”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I've come away with mixed feelings about this hotel. It is an impressive Victorian building positioned right on the front overlooking the pier. Once inside the lobby is also impressive but the decor is definately stuck in a 70s (and the worst of the 70s at that). The lounge has beautiful views but the wooden armed dark green seats placed around the edge of the room give it a nursing home feel. We travelled in a group of 3 ladies (well females if not quite ladies) in our 40s for a weekend away from kids, other halves and dogs. I shared a twin room, number 36, with one other. We have known each other a very long time and upon entering the room my friend exclaimed "This will be good practice for when we're in a nursing home together". The "home" feel continues to the rooms with their wooden armed chairs and plastic backed matress covers, no attention to detail has been left out although we didn't seem to have any rich tea biscuits for our lovely cup of tea. On the landing was placed a totally naff ercol effect table which my friend insisted was the night nurses station. Added to that the strict Coach company instructions on the notice board and guests playing dominoes in the lobby and you may get the picture.
But the view from number 36 was incredible and totally negated all of the above. A huge bay window looked out over the front and pier and the sunrise from our window was spectacular. We even momentarily forgot the prevassive smell of damp that hit us on entering the room. The rest of the hotel seemed immune from this smell, even our 3rd freinds small double with side sea view (number 51) did not smell of damp. But ours did. Strongly. The following morning we discovered one of the causes as a drip of water landed on me when I was standing outside of the bathroom. We investigated further to find drips coming down the door jam very near to the light switch and a drip forming on the ceiling. When we mentioned it to reception we were reassured that it was just someone having a shower above us!!! In fairness they did send someone up to investigate and they said they would report it and get it sorted. I hope they do as they're is an obvious danger, let alone the smell, of water getting into the electrics.
The staff were friendly and helpful, although initial contact had been a stressful interaction the receptionist turned out to be OK, we just caught her at a bad time. I did overhear a staff conversation regarding staff shortages and they are obviously doing the best they can.
The breakfast catered for gluten free (3rd friend) vegetarian (me) and eat anything (2nd friend) although we were a bit gutted at having to be down to breakfast on a Sunday morning by 9am. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was as stated on the tin, nothing to rave about but nothing to complain about either.
We laughed until we cried and had a good old girly time, there were other "younger" people there too and everyone was chatty and cheerful.
Would I go back? Probably, if they promised no damp and we had one of the front sea view rooms. I wouldn't go back if it wasn't for the price (£40 b&b) combined with the view.

Room Tip: Ask for front sea view rooms, worth the extra especially the bay windowed ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kyla40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    135
    51
    18
    14
See reviews for
36
194
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

just got home in derby after two days and nights at hotel de paris. can only give this hotel a glowing reference, i am coeliac and cannot eat wheat barley or rye its a gluten problem. i told reception on my arrival and throughout my stay the staff new and i never had to repeat myself time and time again . the staff were very very professional and polite cannot find anything wrong with this hotel whatsoever many thanks hotel de paris

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay, travelled with Alfa coach holidays, we would rate it more than a 2 star Hotel.Had a room on the third floor with sea view overlooking the pier, stunning view worth paying the extra money for this. Room was spacious,spotlessly clean and shower brilliant. Good choice of food, prompt service and it was always hot.Staff were very friendly and helpful, only minus was the floor boards creaking in bedroom but not really a big problem, we would recommend a stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cazandpaulutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Just returned from a 5 day break with Alfa Travel which was most enjoyable. The Hotel location couldn't be beaten, we had a great spacious room on the seafront overlooking the Pier.

All the staff were cheerful and friendly. Cleanliness was first class as was the food, with a good choice of meals and prompt service with a smile. The bar was well stocked with an added bonus of a choice of 5 house double spirits for £2,70. Happy days!

The overall coach trip with Alfa was excellent value for money. Day 2 was at leisure so we hopped on a bus for a ten minute ride to Sheringham, a lovely little seaside town, and you can catch a steam train to Holt if you are a railway fan. Day 3 we headed to Wells in the morning and in the afternoon visited Royal Sandringham - have a stroll through the gardens to the church, well worth a look. Day 4 we had a coach ride to Sheringham in the morning and then on to Blickling Hall in the afternoon - lovely gardens to stroll round, weather permitting.

All in all a very enjoyable and pleasant, relaxing holiday, would certainly recommend. Well done Alfa.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a seafront spacious room, worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Viv406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Never been on a coach holiday before but came to this hotel with Alfa. For a two star hotel it really delivers a service above its rating. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a wonderful view of the pier.
Food was traditional English no frills but decent portions and served hot which is a bonus these days. The bar was a little limited but perfectly ok for a short stay. The clientele mostly oldsters and wouldn't say it would be good for families but only because Cromer is a quiet resort with not a huge amount of night life. Lots of lovely original features, stained glass, panelling and quaint touches. We will be going back next year.

Room Tip: pay for a sea view....worth every penny also I gathered from other guests the second and third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just returned from a five day stay where we had a nice sea-view room on 3rd floor which was very spacious.The food was very good with a good choice of menu. The service in both the restaurant and bar was very good and the staff were pleasant and efficient. I would certainly return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: room 52 sea view and dual aspect with nice sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank granville19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here before.
Not the prettiest hotel from the outside but in an excellent location.
The staff are very helpful and friendly.
The hotel has visits from lots of coach parties and you need to look beyond this.
The rooms were spotlessly clean with crisp fresh cotton sheets on the beds and the views over the pier and seafront are definitely worth paying extra for.
The breakfast is as good as you will get in most places - more than adequate with choices to suit most tastes.
The evening meal was adequate. Not gourmet dining but acceptable and better than chips again!
We have already booked to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mummymoonmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
511 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 27 in Cromer
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: High Street, Cromer NR27 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Paris - Cromer [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. A delightful and unique hotel, occupying the finest position in Cromer, close to the shops and historic parish church and directly overlooking the pier and beach. Superb reception lounge, cocktail bar, games room and TV lounge. Delightful restaurant with small dance floor and entertainment most evenings. All 61 bedrooms have central heating and private bath or shower and WC, most with excellent views. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Lift (few stairs to some rooms). Limited car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Paris Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing