We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views. Friendly Hotel.”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My friend came over from New Zealand, after living there fore 15 years and had decided years ago she wanted to stay at this hotel, when she lived locally in Swaffham. I live myself only 52 miles from Cromer. So, we booked a twin room with a sea and pier view for a weekend. I could only stay the one night, but my friend stayed two.
We found it to be very clean, warm, comfortable and very friendly staff.. The breakfast was lovely.
So much so, that I have booked to stay again for next weekend with someone else.
The only problem was the very tiny car park and was a bit hard to find, unless you have a sat nav.
The foyer was impressive with a lovely large clock and the chandeliers are beautiful.
As a photographer, I got some lovely images of the pier from our window at different times of the day and night. Looking forward to returning next week.

Room Tip: Room 37 is fine if you are wanting a twin room and a photographer
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C12jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

It hasn't really changed since 1981. I recognised the same style of carpet, furniture and - the only word for it - ambiance. Faded and run down, it's a home from home for coach parties and lacks the sophistication and gloss its name suggests. But it has a really lovely atmosphere and an appeal I can't completely put my finger on - from the lift which advertises 6 floors (there are only 3) to the evening entertainment provided by a Norfolk pig farmer, there's a genuine desire to give honest value and good service. There are other more bijou places to stay, but none of them has the same view over the pier or original Victorian stained glass windows. Gripes: clean the cellar pipes more frequently and you'll get more people staying in the sea front bar: sort the sash windows out in the bedroom. Likes: the lovely Australian receptionist, the hungover breakfast service (clearly there's an active club scene somewhere nearby) which valiantly served full English, and the faded charm.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and pay a little extra for a sea view - worth every penny.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a coach company week-end break and what an enjoyable time we had. We received a very warm welcome and our luggage was speedily transferred to our our room which was clean and comfortable. The menu for meals was wide varied and the food plentiful, again effeciently served without fuss or problems. For those who wished it there was evening entertainment and the usual bingo, but we preferred chatting to friends in the bar.
The Hotel is well run and as an air of old world charm but with a 2013 professionalism

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sectionleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms on one booking each to have two adults in.
We payed extra for sea view yet when we arrived one couple were on 2nd floor another couple on 3rd floor.
The higher floor had superb views yet the 2nd floor view was a side view of the sea & was a ridiculously small room.
Considering we both paid the same, the higher floor was far superior. I think the tariff we paid for the side room (33) was far too expensive for what we got. Our bed had springs poking out of it & the toilet door did not close properly.
We went into the cocktail bar & asked for a cocktail but were told they don't serve them !!!
We asked to bill drinks to our room but were not allowed to.
The staff were all very nice.
The food at breakfast was nice. Lovely bacon.....
The hotel seems to be aiming at the OAP coach trip crowd, not that there is anything wrong with that but when I get a rubbish room for more money than any OAP paid ( I asked them )....I get miffed
The setting sells this hotel BUT is it enough?????

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHOELADY1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

had alovely 4 day stay here. Staff very helpful food was good. great location overlooking pier, nice and quiet. oldy worldy. We had alovely waitress nothing was too much trouble.We had a large room with a sea view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dendy355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

From the moment we arrived the excellent service started, with our bags taken to our rooms and a quick and efficient check in. The rooms were spotless and mine had a lovely view.

The food was good, varied and plentiful and the waitresses were efficient and friendly.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned from cromer staying at the de Paris. We had a large comfortable sea-view room overlooking the lovely beach and pier. We've stayed here a number of times and love it. The staff are all friendly, biddy the chef cooks beautiful meals, very enjoyable. The hotel has a cosy television room and a large comfortable reception area, we will be returning in June.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are always good
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 632Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
749 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Address: High Street, Cromer NR27 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £69 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Paris - Cromer [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. A delightful and unique hotel, occupying the finest position in Cromer, close to the shops and historic parish church and directly overlooking the pier and beach. Superb reception lounge, cocktail bar, games room and TV lounge. Delightful restaurant with small dance floor and entertainment most evenings. All 61 bedrooms have central heating and private bath or shower and WC, most with excellent views. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Lift (few stairs to some rooms). Limited car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Paris Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing