We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for us!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not for us!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Popped in to the HDP for the first time ever, for a drink at just about 12.00 one weekday. Bar closed but someone was inside so I pushed open the door to be met with a "we're not open yet" tirade from, presumably, the barman. What time do you open says I - about 12.00ish came the reply. What real ales do you have says I - none came the reply. We cater mainly for coach parties and they seem happy with our selection. Got the impression that this place could be a gem but, like so many places in Norfolk, is content with muddling along without too much effort and making - one presumes - a modest buck. We are not tempted to try out any other wares this historical place might offer unless or until radical change of ownership/management occurs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    114
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
32
165
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here recently with Alfa holidays, and had a very good holiday.We had a seaview room overlooking the pier, the view was marvellous. The first room we were given was on a corner and was very noisy, people outside making a lot of noise until the early hours. I spoke to the Manager who found us another room straight away, he was extremely helpful, and our new room was fine, although not all that large, it was very clean, and had a large shower room also spotless.The food was good, and the dining room was light and airy,the hotel itself was very interesting, as it is a large Victorian hotel with quite a lot of original features, the reception area was especially nice.Altogether we had a lovely holiday ,the staff were very friendly and helpful, our coach driver Dave was really good, and we loved Cromer.

Room Tip: The corner rooms overlooking the Pizza restaurant can be very noisy, we had room 15 ,I would avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delilah160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

stayed here at 1 night room 5 over looking the kings head beds comfortable room spotless , my one complaint was the bathroom very small . shower is great .
the bar is very busy and the prices are very resonable .
parking is limited and ypou might have to drop off and walk back after finding a parking spot .
really enjoyed the breakfast porridge smoked haddock and poached eggs .
enjoy i did

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the sea and the pier well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked into this hotel late afternoon,after we walked in and asked if they had a room, as a one night stopover after visiting family in Kent. The check in staff let us look at the room before we decided to stay. The room was clean and had shower gel, soap and white towels. There was a kettle and tea/coffee, but only 3 coffee, as the room was for three people not much coffee if all wanted it. However you could buy more from reception. The view from the window was of an alley, not much to see,( the hotel is on the sea front). The bed was the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in. The decor is in need of some work, but there are some lovely features to this old building. The bar was open at night and there was entertainment on. We enjoyed it, a man playing guitar and singing songs, mainly 50s and 60s . The breakfast was good, except the sausage, it was all rusk no meat. All the staff we had contact with were very friendly, and eager to please. The only downside to this hotel is the car park, it is very small, we had to park about half a mile away, not a problem for us but could be for some people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scaleytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 3 July 2013 for 4 nights on an Alfa coach holiday.We were 3 persons in one room,which was quite spacious,well furnished with a TV and tea/coffee facilities in the room.The bathroom was large with a bath/shower and plenty of hot water.The food was excellent with good choices for dinner.The hotel has plenty sitting areas with a nice bar with a sea view.All the staff were very friendly.It is also in an excellent location with great sea views and seating just outside opposite the pier.It was perfect for our type of holiday,so we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank I.W.S.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night. Hotel needed a bit of updating but the room was adequate, bedding clean, bathroom clean (No shower!!!!!). The staff need more training etc. The lady on reception seemed abrupt and we felt we were not welcome in the hotel. Even waiting on breakfast, which was stipulated by the hotel at 8-9am, we waited 25 mins, only in getting an orange juice each. My husband had to approach the staff for us to be served. They did get us our food but were not very helpful. They need to work on their people skills, manners and to be more courteous. The morning reception staff were helpful but did not have adequate training in their jobs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartCarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Had a lovely few days in a Great location. The hotel had a old unique style which is much different to going to a travel inn etc, one of the only negatives was the tight parking. The room could have been kept better e.g the windows in the room were filthy. Also would have been nice to have more than 4 channels. Would come again if we had the same view. The staff were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: High Street, Cromer NR27 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Paris - Cromer [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. A delightful and unique hotel, occupying the finest position in Cromer, close to the shops and historic parish church and directly overlooking the pier and beach. Superb reception lounge, cocktail bar, games room and TV lounge. Delightful restaurant with small dance floor and entertainment most evenings. All 61 bedrooms have central heating and private bath or shower and WC, most with excellent views. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Lift (few stairs to some rooms). Limited car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Paris Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing