We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming!”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“charming!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we stayed in a lovely family room with a fantastic sea view, Ive been to hotels before with "sea views" and got a strip of blue a mile away with buildings inbetween, this however is amazing you are virtually on the beach. The room was clean and comfy ,very spacious yes a little dated but charming.The staff were helpful and polite and the breakfast good value and very nice. This is a beautiful old hotel with modern comforts a real home from home, we will certainly return.

Room Tip: This hotel probably has the best sea view in norfolk, no little strip of blue a mile away, open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIRANDA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    131
    51
    17
    14
See reviews for
35
190
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel and I was not disappointed. I was fortunate to have an upper floor sea facing room, albeit with creaking floorboards. However, I found the customer service in the hotel was excellent, especially the Polish restaurant manageress. I would recommend this iconic hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: I suggest that the upper floor rooms are quieter, less creaking floorboards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for four nights in September (Monday to Friday) Reception staff very helpful on arrival but parking very restricted especially since the staff take up some of the spaces which should be reserved for guests. Hotel had obviously been recently redecorated but its age was shown by creaking floorboards. More noticeable at night when the people in the room above us moved around. Other than this the hotel was very quiet and the staff very pleasant and helpful. Our waiter Greg, was always cheerful and pleasant, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him. The room (49 at the back) was strangely laid out with a lot of space near the door and a little congested at the other end with not much room to get to the bathroom. Fortunately we are not very large so it did not prove to be that much of a problem and the bed was comfortable. Limited channels on the TV, but who goes away on holiday to watch the Telly? Food was varied with a good selection for evening meals and the breakfast was adequate for those who did not want to put on weight during their stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a sea view would probably be quietest but avoid the end rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpudRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Best location in Cromer by far, with an interior that has not substantially changed since the late 19th century when the hotel was enlarged. The view over the pier from our room on the third floor front was spectacular. It's an iconic building that the locals seem to be genuinely fond of.

Room Tip: Ask for the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here on 29th and 30th Sept 2013, and paid £90 per room per night for two people. The location can't be faulted as it's virtually on the sea front and the staff were very good, but....

- we asked for a room with a sea view and got it (Room 60), but could barely see out of the windows because they were so dirty

- the twin beds are very uncomfortable being too soft with the springs going boing with every turn. Also, the mattress covers are too loose for the matresses and ruck up after five minutes thus making the bed feel very uncomfortable to sleep in. Neither of us slept well on either night, which is a basic requirement for a hotel.

- the television was very basic with a poor picture and only five or so channels.

- the shower was very hard to adjust to get the right temperature - one slight move and the water was too hot and another and it was too cold.

- not a major issue but while I'm at it I'll include it. The toilet seat when raised does not go back past the vertical thus making the male user a bit nervous of the thing falling forward with dire consequences. It didn't fall forward but who designs a toilet like that?

- another niggle: the taps barely protruded out into the basin. Not a big deal but annoying all the same. Again, who would think that's a good idea when they're installing them (or overseeing them being installed).

- breakfasts were perfectly edible but minimal. Management are obviously very careful about portion control. Just one rasher of bacon - would two have broken the bank? The one sausage served was of the soggy bread variety - hardly any meat at all. Coffee was on the weak side too. We asked if we could sit by the window to look out over the sea, but were told by the waitress this had been reserved for a couple all week. We hadn't been told of any arrangements to reserve breakfast tables. Again., not a major problem, but annoying.

- as Cromer is very limited for restaurants, on our second evening we asked if we could eat dinner at the hotel. We were told no. Admittedley they had already started serving, and it was in the low season so may not have had enough food in, but at no time before or during our stay were we offered the chance to book a dinner.

- There's no room service by the way - at least I assume not as there was no telephone in the room, and no mention of it anywhere.

It's a real shame because it's an old historic hotel in a great location. It's been allowed to fade away basically. I don't think £90 per room in low season is cheap and I was expecting more. On the wall downstairs is a picture of Edward VII leaving the hotel to get into his car. I can only imagine he didn't have the same bed as me - or maybe he did, and that's the problem. He was rather a large gentleman. Either way, I'm sure he had more fun!

Dave

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in Room 60!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Going to a 40s weekend nearby this hotel took us back to the era straight away. A very grand spotlessly clean hotel friendly and helpful staff both at reception and in the restaurant. A very tasty breakfast brought to our table (no buffett) with lots of choices of menu.Adequate car parking and we were able to leave our car there before we booked in. Amazing sea views from many rooms.

Room Tip: Very narrow road to get to car park thought sat nav had got it wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Went with a friend on a 7-day trip with Alpha to Cromer - never been before so did not know what to expect. Hotel de Paris is a very old building so therefore it had creaking floorboards! We were on the 3rd floor, single rooms, with a sea view (mine looked out from the side of the building - sea view to the left and the church to the right. My friend's room was overlooking the pier and was smaller than mine. Very comfortable bed and room; it was also very quiet - no-one above you. The hotel is very clean, and the staff are friendly. The meals are quite good and varied, but the service is too quick (the older you get the worse is your digestion!). To eat a 3-course meal it only took about 30 minutes, unless you hung onto your plate! The bar was expensive - avoid large glasses of wine and opt for the medium size.
Not a lot going on in Cromer at this time of the year but with just a short bus journey you can reach Sheringham and Holt - well worth a visit. If you are an OAP don't forget to take your bus pass with you!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 3rd floor which is the top one. Much quieter, the floorboards only creak as YO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
711 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: High Street, Cromer NR27 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Paris - Cromer [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. A delightful and unique hotel, occupying the finest position in Cromer, close to the shops and historic parish church and directly overlooking the pier and beach. Superb reception lounge, cocktail bar, games room and TV lounge. Delightful restaurant with small dance floor and entertainment most evenings. All 61 bedrooms have central heating and private bath or shower and WC, most with excellent views. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Lift (few stairs to some rooms). Limited car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Paris Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing