We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cromer holiday 28.6.2014 - 2.7.2014”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cromer holiday 28.6.2014 - 2.7.2014”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I booked with Alfa coaches for a five day break to Cromer. We had previously visited the town for lunch during a caravan holiday at Heacham beach 18 years ago. Our holiday started on the Saturday which was Barbara's birthday, and from Peterborough to Kings Lynn it rained all the way. The weather had picked up by the time we arrived at Cromer, and apart from Monday morning when we visited Great Yarmouth, we enjoyed glorious sunshine.

The hotel was excellent, with the large comfortable bedroom looking out over the pier, the food was plentiful and offered a wide selection. The entertainment was very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely cruise on the Broads with a delightful souvenir photo waiting for us when we returned. We also enjoyed visiting the parish church of St Peter and St Paul and visited the lifeboat shop on Cromer pier. We had a brief stop at Sheringham and watched a steam train leave the station. After this we went to Norwich and explored the magnificent cathedral.

An added bonus of the holiday was meeting two close friends who had booked a stay at the hotel without telling us, and had told some other friends who also kept us in the dark! We had two evenings with Des and Val before we came home on the Wednesday.

This is our seventh holiday with Alfa/Leisureplex and we have already booked to go to Scarborugh at Christmas and are planning for next year too. We thoroughly recommend Alfa/Leisureplex for their service and value for money.

Room Tip: Sea vie rooms worth paying for, great view of the pier. Bingo and entertainment usually finished ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    126
    51
    17
    13
See reviews for
35
184
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful old hotel built in 1820 as a house, with an absolutely brilliant team of staff, willing to help with a smile. Big problem is the lift... it keeps giving up. Despite efforts by the hotel, it is taking the engineers days to get a part in from Germany & to fit it. Reading other reviews this is an ongoing problem and as the hotel seems to have a lot of older clientele some with mobility problems, it is a worry that their service provider is a tad slow in solving the lift issue. To be fair the hotel contacted me to offer a room on the 1st floor as the lift broke down on the Saturday of arrival as our original room was to be on the 3rd floor. I am staying with my very soon to be 87 year old mum, who is finding it a constant struggle to get up the stairs. We are still enjoying the hotel & its excellent location very much thou so would come again. Hopefully the lift will be more reliable with a permanent fix. Lots to do in the area & Cromer has both bus & rail links. Parking at the hotel is limited but most guests arrive by coach through Alfa Travel. It is now Tuesday evening, part for lift delivered to reception today but no sign of an engineer, 4days & counting is it going to be fixed before we leave?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I agree with nunx, this Hotel stands proud overlooking Cromer Pier. A wonderful relaxing Hotel. All the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had two waitresses during our stay and were impressed with both of them. Not great entertainment compared with other Alfa Hotels and a lot of the guests went to bed early but then they are going out on the coach every day. We did our own thing and caught the local buses. Sheringham is a lovely little place with lovely individual shops. We also did the cruise on the Broads which is a must. I came home very relaxed and although there is not a lot to see in Cromer I enjoyed the walks along the front and watching the children crabbing on the pier. I was a single traveller going with two other friends and my room was great everything I needed and plenty of drawer space because I cannot travel light! I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: My room was number 27 and overlooked the lane down to the sea. It was a double room because of overb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboo039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughter and I have been staying here for almost a week, in three different rooms (not because we were dissatisfied; we'd booked too late to stay continuously in any particular one). Thus, we have a good idea of the hotel's accommodation.

All three of the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. (A fourth, which we looked at but declined, wasn't quite so large.) All had large bathrooms with long baths and plenty of hot water. Most of all, each room was different. This is not a chain hotel where your room either faces the car park or it doesn't, but is otherwise identical to every other; at the Hotel de Paris, even the "sea view" rooms differ from one another. I give as many details as I can later on in this review.

The most distinctive feature about the hotel is its clientele: I'm 68, and I'm one of the younger guests. Last weekend, two coach-loads of new guests arrived so, when the dining room is converted to entertainment in the evening, the crooner covering Elvis and the bingo caller can be heard where I'm sitting in the lobby (this being the only place in the hotel where there is internet access). On the other hand, the noise doesn't reach the rooms and, in any case, the entertainment ends at around 10 pm.

As I write this, the lobby is a bit more crowded than usual: the lift (elevator) is out of order and, although the hotel has put extra chairs on every landing to accommodate those having trouble with the stairs, many guests seem to have arranged to meet here in the lobby, to play cards or just to chat. On the positive side, I've just heard the Yorkshire expression "ey, up" - it's been a while.

The hotel could hardly be closer to Cromer Pier - it's right in the middle of the seafront - and the centre of town is perhaps fifty yards away. To swim in the North Sea you really need a wetsuit, which neither of us had, so we limited ourselves to watching the sea and wading. We've enjoyed staying in Cromer, walking along the cliffs to Overstrand on one day, taking the bus to Wells and Walsingham on another (and the local bus services are great) then, today, visiting Norwich.

Getting back to details about the hotel: the breakfast offers great variety, with not only the traditional "full English" but also the possibility of kippers, or smoked haddock (I even had the full English AND kippers one day). You are looked after by waitstaff, but they are very efficient even though they're dealing with a lot of people, and you can enjoy a full three-course breakfast in half an hour.

More details: in our first room, the lavatory kept running all night, drowning out the noise of the sea; in our latest room, two of the side lights don't work, presumably needing new bulbs (but there is a central fixture which provides more than enough light to read). Taken together with the broken lift this sounds like a run-down establishment but that's far from the case; rather, it's like having an old car which, though lovingly cared for, does have its occasional idiosyncrasies which are part of the package.

To sum up: this is a hotel I'd be happy enough to stay in again.

Room Tip: #23, our first room, was the best, being right in the middle of the front and having a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank botafogoblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A lovely old building commanding views over the pier. We stay in B&B in Cromer every year at Whitsuntide, but always make a point of visiting this wonderful old hotel for an evening. The atmosphere is olde worlde and the staff are friendly and helpful. The bar meals are excellent and it is lovely to sit in the bar having a (reasonably priced) drink and watching the world pass by on the pier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

She stands in a prominent position in Cromer, overlooking the Pier. The feeling of a bygone age exists in the walls of this old Queen.
If you want to feel the charm of a bygone age, in a great location, then stay here. Don't expect it to be immaculate throughout, as this building needs some care & attention, but look through this, & imagine if the money she deserves spending on her, could be done.
Regarding the staff, every single one of them was polite & courteous.
The room was a lovely size, overlooking the Pier & sea. Again, not the most salubrious of rooms, but more than adequate.
Breakfast in the morning was great. No buffet, with people all clambering around, but traditional values, where the food is brought to your table. So much more relaxing. Would we stay here again? Definitely. Would I like to see money spent on this Hotel, to bring back it's grandeur? Yes.
We tried to book again for June, but she was full. Long may this continue, for the Queen of Cromer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank AFrogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have not stayed here, but have dropped in many times over the years to use the bar or restaurant. [Oddly enough, it was here that we saw the terrible events of 9/11 happening live on television.] On this visit to Cromer we only had time for a drink, but couldn't help noticing the delicious pub grub being eaten by the other clients (especially the fish & chips). And the building itself is a joy to behold!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank G and B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: High Street, Cromer NR27 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Paris - Cromer [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. A delightful and unique hotel, occupying the finest position in Cromer, close to the shops and historic parish church and directly overlooking the pier and beach. Superb reception lounge, cocktail bar, games room and TV lounge. Delightful restaurant with small dance floor and entertainment most evenings. All 61 bedrooms have central heating and private bath or shower and WC, most with excellent views. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Lift (few stairs to some rooms). Limited car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Paris Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing