We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory but charming”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Cambridge, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Faded glory but charming”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

The exterior of the building and it's position on the sea front are outstanding. Walk to the end of Cromer peer and turn back to look at the hotel and you will see what I mean.

In it's day it must have outstanding. In more modern times, it seems to have become a popular hotel for coach loads of elderly seaside trippers. It's got that smell about it too.

The interior has suffered from a brutal refit to meet health and safety regulations. It could make you cry looking at the fine architecture hidden behind crudely constructed fire doors and safety glass. I guess they must have had an accident or two a while back.

I would not recommend it as a place to eat. Not even breakfast. But it is good enough for a couple of nights next to the sea.

Interesting fact - Stephen Fry used to work here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snakelocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    135
    51
    18
    14
See reviews for
36
194
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Celebrating our first wedding anniversary, we booked a table for Sunday Lunch for a family meal hoping that the location and presentation of the hotel would be reflected in the quality of the food. Unfortunately this was not the case. Most of us had beef which was pre-sliced and bland. The 'vegetables' peas and carrots were soggy and had no flavour (probably frozen) and as for dessert, it was cold despite served with custard we all suspect the apple pies came from a local supermarket for £1 per pie which they got 8-10 portions out of! £9.95 for 2 courses DAYLIGHT ROBBERY!! Very disappointing and not a good example of British cuisine which sadly any tourist who eats here may get that impression.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine_Holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The building still holds the grandeur of many years past, high ceilings, ornate fire place, grand staircase and amazing revolving doors at the entrance, BUT this has the smell, feel and look of an old peoples home. HOWEVER - I would stay again, the sea views are second to none, the rooms a good size, and a central location. But you have to upgrade to a sea view for £8 per night or the magic I'm sure would dissapear. What can I say, it doesn't pretend to be anything but basic, but that's reflected in the price and it works. To future guests - have patience with the parking it's limited and guests block each other in at night on the advice of the hotel, enjoy the views and sea air while you're waiting to go.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Only stayed for one night but we received a warm and friendly welcome by the receptionist.
The location is great with wonderful veiws across the bay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

placed looked lovely from outside, over looking the sea. staff was helpful and gave us details of the room. As we got closer to our room, through the next set of door, the space got alot smaller. The best and only way of describing this area was old servants quarters. It was a pokie hole under the stairs, dull and dated. Not much more could be said for the room, not a nice sea view, just two v
VERY noisy pubs. The bath room looked like it was falling apart. One wall was wall papered lovely, the rest was terrible. We stayed a short time to catch our breath, but it was clear that we were never going to be able to sleep in this noisy room. We complained but they didint have another room, ever though it said on a website they did. There was a twin room, but we would have to pay more. We finaily found another
place to stay in a different hotel, but they would not give us all our money back. lost 30 for deposit and then another 10 as they said we used the room. To make it worse we gotb
blocked in the car park

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MPUDDING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Good ol Britain !
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

My husband and another couple decided to get away last minute to a hotel on our bikes we managed to book The Hotel De Paris in Cromer Left at lunch time on the Friday took the scenic route round the Norfolk Coast having a few stop offs on the way lovely. Arrived in Cromer around five at night found the hotel which does have a brilliant sea front location which no one could or can complain about, parked the bikes in the car park fine no probs, checked in staff were very friendly and informative so were the residence in the hotel. The room was quite bad it was very small very outdated the bed was very uncumfy yet i had paid for a superior?????( Apparently as i had a sea view which was lovely.) The decor of the inside building really lets it down, from entry at the hotel first impressions to the rooms the only thing thats modern is the lift!! But there is some lovely architecture pieces in the hotel !!
Breakfast well ive never experienced anything like it - Come on hotel get a buffet table for as you describe the starters!!!!! Then let people order the cooked breakfast, the sausage was terrible and the rest of the breakfast not good either in fact we went to the local cafe the next morning to eat. We noticed that they do a set everyday evening meal which again to us seemed quite old fashioned and out of date but there were quite a few older residence staying at the hotel who were more than happy and very chatty to us - there was a good atmosphere.
The hotel has the plus of being very central, brilliant sea views and parking even if small area, friendly helpful staff from the cleaners(who made a brilliant job of the rooms) to the management.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dona1667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Was quite dubious when read some of the reviews on various sites-but absolutely loved it. On arrival they could not have been more welcoming, even letting us view rooms before we chose. Ideally situated opposite the pier, beach on your doorstep and the shops etc around the corner. Creaky floorboards but that goes with the history of the hotel. Have stayed in a lot of hotels and would definitely recommend this one, so friendly and comfortable and very clean. Definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LincolnshireLizzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
511 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 27 in Cromer
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: High Street, Cromer NR27 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Paris - Cromer [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. A delightful and unique hotel, occupying the finest position in Cromer, close to the shops and historic parish church and directly overlooking the pier and beach. Superb reception lounge, cocktail bar, games room and TV lounge. Delightful restaurant with small dance floor and entertainment most evenings. All 61 bedrooms have central heating and private bath or shower and WC, most with excellent views. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Lift (few stairs to some rooms). Limited car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Paris Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing