We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will never stay here again”

The Knoll Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Knoll Guest House
Ranked #13 of 27 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“will never stay here again”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

on reading reviews we booked a 5 night stay with my dog. we were told there would be ample parking on the street which there wasn't meaning we had to pay £9 a day for parking and carry heavy bags! the room was so good size but very small shower room! the stand in hostess was excellent very friendly and helpfull, however on meeting julie the owner she made us feel unwelcome and like second class citizens! This got so bad we considered cutting our holiday short and she even made my mother crying!!! the room was clean at first veiw but soon found needed closer detail to out of reach areas! the matress was as hard as the floor and squeezed that much when I turned over we were constantly waking each other up. the breakfast is the best part about this guest house delicious! cromer is lovely and over all enjoyed our holiday the only thing that tainted this was the way we were treated!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripcommenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
21
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I turned up without a reservation and was very pleased with the service that i got from the stand in owner. She showed me the rooms before I confirmed my boooking. The rooms were clean and tidy and everything worked.The price was affordable and the walk to the town centre was not challanging.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms so not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

lovely b&b in a great location, 5 mins walk from the train station and pier/funfair a 2min walk away.
the breakfast was lovely with good quality ingredients.
we took our two young children with us and stayed in the linked family room which was great as we could shut the door once the boys were asleep and not worry about TV noise waking them up.
Julie, the hostess couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful if she tried, we are already planning when to book next year.

Room Tip: linked family room great for couples with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Julie is a great hostess. Our twin room was clean and comfy, lovely warm sunny room. Easy walk into Cromer which is well worth visiting. Breakfast is yummy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

knoll house is very near to the sea front, we felt very welcombe there, the lady owner was friendly the breakfast was the best we have had at a bed and breakfast guest house. we had the twin room at the front of the house the beds were very comfortable. we could arrive when we wanted and leave when we were ready, breakfast although between 8am till 930, you didnt have to say when you wanted it the night before, just came down when you were ready too. the room had two chaire to sit in and a tv tea and coffee, the room could do with updating and the bathroom was small but we felt relaxed there and would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerpowermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I and our cockapoo stayed here for one night. Although on the phone I was told we would be in the ground floor room overlooking the garden, which would have been easy for access for our dog, when we arrived we were led to a room right at the top of the house! The owner explained she had put us there as it was a linked room and would give us more space, which it did. We had a double bed room linked to one with two single beds. Our dogs likes stairs so was in her element!
Everything in the room was fine. The bathroom wasn't the biggest but was also fine. Out dog was made to feel welcome as well as us! Breakfast was good. The owner was very helpful. The location was good, just off the promenade.
Cromer itself felt in need of a spruce up. The shelters on the promenade are looking very tatty but the gardens on the promenade were looking good.
We would happily stay here any time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anndante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.5 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 27 in Cromer
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#18 of 27 in Cromer
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knoll Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knoll Guest House

Property: The Knoll Guest House
Address: 23 Alfred Road, Cromer NR27 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Knoll Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knoll Guest House Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing