We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is difficult to rate...as it is better than a 3 but not really a 4...but I am giving benefit of doubt.... Probably need own transport as somewhat away from Cromer...but doable by train/taxi.
Nice grounds, small hotel, rooms smallish but Okay.
We booked late, so therefor probably got one of the last rooms.....
There was no Weddings on whilst we were there, so nice and quiet.
Restaurant was Good and food well prepared along with good service.
Plenty of Parking spaces.
Breakfasts cooked to order and again well presented.
There is no elevator/lift and the stairs are a 'bit' narrow and rickety for those with mobility
issues....No sure if they have downstairs room.
Overall a pleasant stay - Yes would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    45
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
31
101
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just back from a one night stay with my husband, what a lovely hotel. Very friendly staff and the food in the restaurant was great. About a 5min drive into Cromer so near the shops if you need them but far enough away to give a peaceful break. Will definitely return if I get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Northrepps on 4th July prior to a week on the Norfolk Broads. We were a party of four who travelled down from Northumberland. The hotel is lovely and the staff are so professional. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our rooms were lovely, really comfortable with everything we could want. We dined in the restaurant and all enjoyed the meal and breakfast the next morning was equally good. The highlight of our evening was the Proms night of the local Academy. Sitting in the garden with a glass of wine on a beautiful summer evening watching the young people arrive in their finery was an experience we really enjoyed. This is a first class establishment run to a very high standard but without the snobbery that often exists in this type of hotel. We can't wait for next year for our repeat visit.

Room Tip: We had the Anna Gurney room which was lovely but I'm sure they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, the prom was a great success and i am glad you enjoyed the entertainment!
see you again soon
best regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights at Northrepps Cottage Hotel and loved it. Beautiful, comfortable room, very pleasant staff, good breakfasts and very attractive grounds.

Food a little bit stodgy for the very hot weather but only a minor problem. On our final evening and due to the extremely hot weather the menu had been amended to include "cooler" meals, ie salad.

I suffer from tension headaches regularly but for 5 days had no sign of them and also had excellent nights sleeps, should be on prescription!

Room Tip: We had Sir Humphrey Repton room which was first class - lovely bathroom and shower- excellent bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, your summed it up well 'Total Relaxation ' that is certainly the idea! What great weather you had, we try to change the menu daily with market specials and chef's inspiration. We hope to see you again, please call on 01263 579202 if we can help in future.

Many thanks
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been to the Northrepps Cottage on several occasions - at it is top class every single time.
Starting with the food: I have lived in the area for 10 years, and it is simply the best meal I have had in the county. You get the kind of meal you end up talking about for several days afterwards.
The Hotel: The rooms are modern and tasteful, and certainly feel special. The whole place is spotlessly clean, and the staff can't do enough to help you.

We also held our wedding at Northrepps, and we can't speak highly enough of the place. All our guests were singing the praises of the place - loving the food and the accommodation.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in North Norfolk - come here!

Room Tip: There is a room with a bath in the main bedroom! Worth a look for something a bit unusual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, it really does mean a lot to us here at Northrepps Cottage, your wedding was a splendid day and you put so much effort in to make it a great day. All your guests seemed to have a great time, the band Ignite are superb! they are back with us here on Saturday . Come and see us soon.

Best regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Fantastic stay. The Rooms are modern with all you need and still retain the buildings history. The surrounding grounds are stunning. With a lovely outside seating area. 5min drive from Cromer town. Food was splendid as was the service. Staff very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a visit.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, we love to hear back from our guest, the hard work we put in is being rewarded. Please have a look at our new website and look around the other rooms and see if there is an alternative choice for next time!
Best regards
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

When we finally arrived lack of signposts in village, we were a bit disappointed with the small room, not a lot of storage if you were staying more than a few days ,there is a desk there could have been small chest of drawers and a small item at bottom of bed which was only place to put anything. Bath with over head shower for hair washing as no screen. Lack of shampoo etc after first day. Had to ask for replacement coffee and milk .But bed was very comply but not used to 4ft6 bed nearly fell out. Cooked Breakfast was good but small variety of anything else.in house restraurant was good value and very good ,staff very friendly. But on whole a bit noisy slamming doors next to us and very noisy with the people above.

Room Tip: Not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blockflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for writing your review after your stay with us here at Northrepps Cottage, i have taken your points on board and will do whatever i can to improve where we can. I do hope you will consider us again if back in North Norfolk.
Kind regards
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel

Property: Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel
Address: Nut Lane/Northrepps Road | Northrepp's, Cromer NR27 0JN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Northrepp's Cottage Country House Hotel We are situated in the hidden woodland of Northrepps, North Norfolk. A 5 minute drive from the famous Cromer Pier, 15 minute walk from the fishing village of Overstrand and 30 seconds from our stunning garden! Among many, one of greatest assets is that we are in such quiet and beautiful surroundings, Cream Tea Heaven or Lunch on the lawn is unique in afternoon sunshine. We are signposted on all major roads, if travelling on the A149 turn for Northrepps and turn immediately left and follow the signs, if needed the postcode for navigation is NR270JN. The hotel consists of 8 delightful bedrooms, some with baths, some with showers and some with both. All are individual created with different themes and named after family members of the owners Mr and Mrs Gurney. Do check out our vast array of family pictures and the link to Elizabeth Fry on the back of your five pound note ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing