We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent quality b and b”
Review of Cromer House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cromer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cromer House
Ranked #3 of 27 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“decent quality b and b”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

booked cromer house only a week before going just a spur of the moment thing, easy to find managed to grab parking place right outside so car stayed there all the time,Decent standard room on top floor. that always suits me nothing worse than having a herd of rhinos in the room above you! Very comfy bed and a decent shower(one of my pet hates having a shower that just drips on you). Carol the owner was friendly and pleasant and does a good breakfast, good quality bacon and sausage. Well situated for town and station would definitely use again if back in Cromer

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    37
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
162
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Sorry to hear the last reviewer had a bad experience. We are going somewhere else this year for a change but have stayed at the property both with the current owners and the previous one and have always had a lovely stay. The B&B is very well situated and would recommend the family room with it's bay window and spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I would have love to write a positve review here but sadly due to the ceiling falling in our family room an narrowily missing my eldest son means that with regret it wont be... Not because of the event but due to how it was handled by the owners... A horrendous experience which would have seriously injured my son if it were to have happened a few hours later when my son would have been in bed... I was left at 6pm with 2 children in the car, plaster damaged items and no where to stay... As a single mum i felt incedibly vulnerable... We were offered a room at a relatives house but it wasn't a B&B... We were only told upon leaving that they had 2 boxer dogs!!! Ideal for 2 asthmatic children.... Originally i was asked to pay for the 2 nights we had stayed.. It wasn't until i pointed out shoes and case were ruined that i was offered a reduction of one night!!! Great customer service!!!! Not !!!.... Very disappointed i didnt even get a phone call after we had left just to check we were ok... Just an awful experience which brought a prompt end to our holiday and has left us very upset and my children now afraid that a ceiling will fall in on them again.... So to sum it up a freak POSSIBLY unforeseen event that was managed very badly by the owners who appeared more concerned that their room would be out of action and it was booked up for the next 5 weeks..... Very very sad....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyCromer, Owner at Cromer House, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
We would not normally reply to review but feel we must on this one. We realise what a terrible shock this must have been not only for our guests but for us as well. We did go up to look at the room, then we brought our guests down and sat them in the dining room and offered them a drink, which was declined. The children were ok and were playing on their hand held games- the lady was on her mobile phone. I then went up and down our road looking for alternative accommodation for them, but it was a very busy time of year and the other B&B's were fully booked. I then came back and got on the phone to call more places in the area - but again everywhere was booked. I then rang my sister, who lives nearby and she kindly offered to put them up in her house we offered to drive them there which was declined, and my brother-in-law also offered to come and get them, which was also declined. We then helped our guests down with their belongings and thought they had gone to my sister's house, but they came back and said they didn't want to go there as it wasn't a B&B and that they had sorted something else out. We said from the start that we would not charge them for the two night stay just for one, which they were quite happy with. We would just like to add that this was obviously UNFORESEEN. Our property is maintained to the highest standard always. We would also like to add that they would be welcome to come back for a couple of nights stay free to charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We came to Cromer House to meet friends who had driven from the north and my wife and I from the south. We stayed weekend and could not fault the B&B. It is ideally situated not from the town centre (5 mins walk) as well as being close to the espanade. We played golf on the Saturday which again was fantastic but the views and the whole weekend was made special by staying here. The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms at the top of the house with their private bathrooms are superb. Thanks very much for the lovely hospitality and we hope to return one day again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lofthouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Having left it decidedly late to book anywhere, Cromer House were very accommodating, particularly as we were looking for just a Saturday night stay. As an aside, it annoys me that some smaller guest houses and B+Bs levy a supplementary fee for single, Saturday night stays. If such a brief stay is problematic on a Saturday, then why not levy a similar charge for the rest of the week?

At £35/night Cromer House is pretty good value. Centraly located, the hosts are very welcoming and the property is spotlessly clean. Breakfast is also a plus. Decor is perfectly fine and typical of many B+B's country wide. The lack of a residents' lounge might bother some people if staying for more than couple of nights, but it is after all a small B+B property.

Overall, good value for money and certainly worthy of a repeat visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art4All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Our group of 9 took over this hotel for the weekend. We found it to be clean, comfortable and friendly - and an excellent breakfast was served!
A five minute walk to the pier and town centre made it a great location too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astons-groupies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Warm friendly service with great management.
Excellent Breakfast, modern, clean, fresh, comfortable well kept rooms.
Perfect location 2 mins from beach and town.
We really felt at home and felt that Carol & Charlie Maguire where there to help in anyway that was possible.
A lovely family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoniEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.5 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
516 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 4 in West Runton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromer House

Property: Cromer House
Address: 10 Alfred Road, Cromer NR27 9AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromer House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cromer House Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing