We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Carrot Cake”
Review of Cafe Main

Cafe Main
Ranked #27 of 84 Restaurants in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Carrot Cake”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great Carrot Cake and Good Cappuchino. Excellent Service with a Smile, Good facilities, very professional.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for a great review

The carrot cake is one of our biggest sellers and the recipe is a guarded secret !!

Thanks

Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    49
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sculthorpe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly family run”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we had lunch at cafe main. Very welcoming, friendly owners and staff. Had ploughmans today with Norfolk ham. Very nice at £7.95. Only downside is that toilets are upstairs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thankyou very much for a positive review
See you again

Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly Cafe”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We called in quite late in the day but still received a great welcome. The Cromer Crab sandwiches are a must but I found the bread had been sliced rather too thickly for me, you can ask for thinner slices. Tea comes in proper pots which pour without spilling water all over the table.
This is an unpretentious seaside/High Street cafe with a friendly owner. Call in if you're in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladytraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thankyou for this positive review

See you again

Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Quality Food and Good Service”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We really enjoyed our meal in Café Main and found the service excellent too. My husband had the Cromer Crab Salad and my daughter and myself had the Chilli Bowl. The meals were delicious and we have no hesitation in recommending this café. Couldn't fault the hygiene either. Oh! and after the healthy meal we had a delicious piece of lemon cake. Will come here again whenever we are in Cromer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thankyou for the time taken in reviewing Café Main

We are delighted with your comments

Thanks

Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dog friendly!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I plus our two dogs visited Cafe Main today and could not have been made more welcome. It was a chilly and breezy lunch time and we were just getting ready to take a seat at one of the outside tables with our dogs when the owner welcomed us and asked whether we would prefer to sit inside in the dog friendly conservatory, this was a most welcome invitation and once inside we saw that it was immaculately clean. We enjoyed a lovely hearty lunch, I had the bowl of homemade chilli and my husband the chilli burger - both were delicious. One of our dogs likes to bark once or twice to new people to elicit a stroke but the owner, who has dogs of his own, was very tolerant and it was most appreciated. I would definitely recommend this place and we will return when we're next holidaying down here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieJoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Cafe Main, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for this excellent review

Handsome dogs!! and friendly owners (the perfect combination)

See you soon

Thanks

Mark&Maxine Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Main also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing