We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cromer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Cromer B&B and Inns
Norwich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

this guest house may be a bit dated in the décor - but we had the room with a view of the sea and it's worth it. Breakfast was good honestly could not fault it, and the owners are friendly.
Will book this guest house if staying in Cromer in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Church Gresley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having arrived in Cromer without booking accommodation, the Western House was the first B&B I passed with vacancies. I popped in and Jo was more than helpful. Room 3 was available, though no sea view it was comfortable and clean. The dining room (in fact the whole house) is a quirky mix of china wares, fishing reels and memorabilia. Breakfast was delicious. Both Jo & John are very homely and welcoming and I would certainly choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very friendly Jo and John , lovely welcome and nice to chat to, Great breakfast , lovely fried bread and all the usual stuff , decor a bit dated but a wonderful view !
Very central for everything and lovely walks all around .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeT32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed at the western again as ever the breakfast fantastic, jo and john as friendly as ever, rooms were cold but hey it was febuary, good time had by all, central for everything, smashing views. Cath coventry 2014

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Western House occupies an elevated location overlooking the North Sea. As we were going to a concert on the pier it was perfect for a one night stay. Our room faced the sea with views of the pier. The room was OK but really needs some money spending on it especially decent secondary double glazing. Reasonably priced with friendly owners we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

let me start by saying the location is superb and the couple running it are very friendly and genuine people.On the down side it is marketed as a Victorian property, which in its self is a massive positive, however I doubt it has been decorated since Albert died and not thoroughly cleaned since Victoria passed away. The bedroom was freezing cold with lighting so bad you struggled to read after night fall, however the cob webs on the ceiling did add to the atmosphere.The breakfast was ok but quite small by todays standards Sorry to be so scathing but obviously other reviewers must have stayed during the summer months

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Sorry to say will not be trying Western House as the owners, though providing an email address have not replied to our emails.
If they are full on the dates requested why not just say so.
Its part of the expected customer service that would bring future bookings

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.3 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#7 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: Western House New Street | Westcliff, Cromer NR27 9HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Western House Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing