We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable welcoming.”
Review of Thornybank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornybank
Ranked #6 of 27 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable welcoming.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for 1 night with our 2 dogs in the poppy room, everything was great, Ronica is a fab host and catered for all our needs and the breakfast was just great, would defo stay again and recommend Thornybank to others, Val Nigel Stanley & Kc

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
87
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited recently with my hubby and 18 year old daughter. Well what can we say.... Ronica made us so very welcome, a great experience to be in a B&B that feels like a true home. Just sitting at her breakfast table chatting with others whilst Ronica cooks the most hearty breakfast was just so relaxed and all in an open plan setting with pets (Jennie the dog and Archie the beautiful bengal cat). A fab location with a fab host who truly makes your time here just perfect - thank you :@)

Room Tip: We stayed in a large sized family room with lots of space at the rear of the property but all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaxley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in cromer last month, and the welcome, rooms, food and doggie cuddles were all great, ideal stop over close to cromer, beach, Felbrigg, sherringham, holt steam railway, we will be back had a great stay, thanks for looking after us and a perfect cooked breakfast that keeps you fuelled all day, thank you, Maureen, Chris and Sue
P.S. Tooth is on the mend after my emergency dentist appt, was root canal, tut :-/

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mozza-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and could not recommend this b&b enough. Our family room was lovely and Ronnie made us feel so welcome & Jenny the dog is the best! Beautiful scenery and 10/10 for breakfast. Thanks for a lovely stay (apologies for the noisy child!)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Thornybank for 3 nights, my wife and I, along with our son who was approaching 2. We couldn't of asked for a better place to stay Ronnie was the most friendly host imaginable and the property was fantastic. We stayed in the balcony room, Ronnie had prepared a cot for our son and the balcony gave a great view out to the wonderful garden. The room was huge with a Jacuzzi bath which our son as well as us enjoyed greatly. Our son loved ever minute at the hose, Ronnie has grand children of her own of a similar age to our son so was brilliant at helping to keep him occupied with plenty of games and toys both inside and out for children to play with. The breakfast was faultless, everything you could want and again, child seat provided in advance and Ronnie prepared whatever our son fancied that morning!! all delicious!

Archibald the cat and Jen the dog help give the place a real homely feel and they're both so friendly, with our son falling in love with Jen!!

We will certainly be back, and can't recommend thornybank enough, its location is perfect, we went to cromer, well-next to-sea, hunstanton beach and dinosaur world, all within reach from the property with cromer being less than a mile away.

certainly worth a visit!

Room Tip: all the rooms are fab, but for a family I recommened the balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kudela01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornybank, Owner at Thornybank, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, it is the nicest one's I have ever seen anywhere. Having been here such a short time, I am amazed at how many wonderful people have stayed here, with their families and dogs. It has been like having a huge extended family, with so many promising to come back and visit. Once the season has quietened down I think I will start a blog so everyone can stay in touch and see what's going on at Thornybank, and what Jenny and Archibald are up too.(Hopefully thye chicken coop will be Archie proof) Still awaiting the arrival of Jenny's half sister Jojo, hopefully over the weekend, will post pictures.

Thank you once again you were a pleasure to have in my home and hope you come back soon.

Love from Roni, Jenny and Archie xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really fab break with my husband and son (who fell in love with Jennifer the dog, who was his lifelong friend after a bacon treat after each breakfast!) Roni made us so very welcome and always had time for a chat and a story to share! Such wonderful hospitality, it was like staying with family. Fantastic breakfasts on the terrace in lovely peaceful surroundings and a quaint room! Set along a little country lane just a short enjoyable walk to the seafrony. Hope to come again next year and hopefully meet the new pup!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

An absolutely fantastic place to stay. Very welcoming, comfortable, excellent hospitality, excellent food and we were really made to feel at home, even Pepper enjoyed playing with Jenny and especially enjoyed the sausages!

We will certainly be back for another visit within the near future.

Thank you Ronnie

Gill, Mick and Pepper xxx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ogilvy House
Ogilvy House
#1 of 27 in Cromer
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 27 in Cromer
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornybank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornybank

Property: Thornybank
Address: Thornybank Hall Road, Cromer NR27 9JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B residence nestled in an acre of National Trust woodland and within walking distance of the town and seafront of Cromer, North Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thornybank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornybank Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing