We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife booked a new years eve stay over at the Wellington as a birthday surprise, I would highly recomend this hotel. the room was very clean,the bathroom was spotless and modern and the staff very friendly.
The room was quiet considering its over the pub which is worth a vist. Breakfast was very tasty with locally sourced items and was served in the really nice restaurant just across the courtyard.
Overall a really nice experiance

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerman186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    34
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
41
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in December 2012 while on business in Cromer the first night I parked at the back of the Hotel in the limited car park , I doubt if any parking would be available during peak season. My room was at the top of the hotel (40 ish steps) the room was clean with tea making facilities a small flat screen tv and en suite bathroom.I went down to the pub below on the first night and was advised to try the steak pie which i did. At £9.00 I thought that it was a tad expensive especially as the chips were of the frozen variety.I was informed that breakfast started after 9am but I could come back at dinner time for it (which I did but only once as it took forever to arrive) The first Morning I had to ring an emergency number in order to find my way out of the hotel as no one had informed me which door would be open. I noticed that no emergency escape route was in evidence. This may look like I am nit picking but I assure you that I am not.
The staff were very attentive always happy and smiling , the pub has Sky tv on lots of screens and looks to be very popular with the locals. All in all the place is very nice but at £80.00 per night B&B TOO EXPENSIVE.

Room Tip: get one on a lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evoNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Myself and husband stayed in Cromer for the night at the end of October. The rooms we like boutique hotel rooms very tastefully done. We only ate in the restaurant once where we were told there was an offer on. We had to meals for under £12.00, the seafood chowder was awesome. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had a two night stay and would happily return again. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean, simply but stylishly decorated and the beds are very comfortable. We had a delicious breakfast in the courtyard restaurant and a drink in the traditional bar. The Wellington is one of the livelier pubs in Cromer with good reason. Don't let this put you off staying as you can't hear any noise from the pub when in your room

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is onthe front of the town, a few yards from the beach and pier, making it ideal for a family stay, they also provide a family room and having excellent evening meals, it is family run, and they are very accomodating to all their guests.
They have a lovely courtyard resturant, ideal for a drink/meal and the food is excellent.
They are ideal for visiting the carnival which is an experiance in its self and takes a week to come to the torch light /fireworks finale. if you have neaver been to cromer do give this hoel a try, i am sure you will not be disapointed.
The bedrooms are very very clean and all newly furnished, and the beds are so good.Could sleep longer there.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a very large room with a large double bed and a single, ideal for the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorpefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I have stayed at the Wellington in Cromer on a couple of occasions and have found it outstanding. Those running the pub are friendly, always smiling and take a genuine interest in people. I would highly recommend a stay here. The rooms are neat, tidy and clean. The pub has a great atmosphere and the food in the restaurant is exceptional. If you're going to Cromer, stay at The Welly!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I visited The Wellington in September during a week in Cromer. I was so blown away by the service, selection of food and wines and the hospitality that we ate there every night.
I've visited Cromer a few times and The Wellington is streaks ahead of the other restaurants and places to eat. I would strongly recommend a visit

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneAdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#7 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Garden Street, Cromer NR27 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing