We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Cromer B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed three nights; one of us on business, the other engaged in some serious loafing. It is, perhaps, rather more a pub with rooms than an hotel, but we found 'The Welly' to be a delight; an excellent pub with very comfortable rooms and good food in the courtyard restaurant. The welcome was warm, and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.

The previous reviewer mentioned the stairs; we are both in our fifties and of no more than average fitness and mobility and didn't find the stairs to be a problem; in a way their 'interesting' layout, the result of converting separate buildings into one, rather added to the charm of the place.

We only stayed at The Wellington because the original hotel of our choice was full, but when we come back to Cromer I hope it will be to The Welly.

Room Tip: If you get to stay in Room 1, an additional quirk of the conversion enables you, should they become...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haychundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    35
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
45
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Hi, stayed at this hotel for one night and it is really a hotel over a pub, the room was adequate and had an en suite shower. The beds were comfortable and The breakfast was nice.

One word of caution, as this is an old establishment there are no lifts and a lot of stairs so if you have trouble climbing stairs this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed at the Wellington on a Thursday night the area in general has been cleaned up since last time we were their. The pub itself is a teenagers pub, but by 11pm all was quiet. Room 2 was excellent breakfast was very good in the separate Court Yard Restuarant menu and wine list looked very good for evening meals all reasonably priced will have to go back again to try it.

Room Tip: be ware of the amount of stairs to some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We thought we might be taking a chance staying in a B&B above a pub.... noise, late night goings on etc. but not a sound, (it was a Sunday though).
Set within 20 paces of the cliff top and ideal for town and pier our family room (2+2) with additional put-u-up bed was perfect for our 1 night stop over. Breakfast served in the restaurant with a sunny courtyard setting was top notch and the traditional pub provided a friendly atmosphere after a long journey.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallPaul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

stayed for a weekend, the atmosphere was exellent, freindly and the food was super... would defo stay there again. The rooms where exellent providing everything you need :-) there was always someone around if you need anything .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the Wellington in Cromer. We went on a reccommendation from the in-laws who spent time in the Wellington during their visit a few weeks earlier. We took our little Jack Russell, Dexter who was welcomed everywhere! Ate in the bar in the evening and sat and had a few drinks with our dog, which is normally impossible to do. All the staff were really friendly and nothing seemed too much bother. The room was a little small but really comfortable with it's own on suite.
Breakfast was in the Courtyard restaurant at the back of the pub and we were allowed to take our dog in, who was give two sausages for his breakfast! Had a lovely stay and really wish that more places were as accommodating for people with well behaved pets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 294sarahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a one night stay at the Wellington as we were seeing a band on the pier (100 yards away). It was it was snowing with an icy wind but the pub, room and restaurant were warm and cosy, the staff also made us very welcome. It is a traditional lively pub but the room was quiet, simply but nicely furnished and the most important thing, spotlessly clean. The food in the courtyard restaurant was excellent and well priced, wasn't sure what to expect when we booked but in the end couldn't fault it, well done The Wellington.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
0.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.3 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 27 in Cromer
533 reviews
1.7 mi away
Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ogilvy House
Ogilvy House
#1 of 27 in Cromer
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Garden Street, Cromer NR27 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellington is a traditional town centre family run pub with four letting rooms. We show sky and bt sports, have a dart board and pool table. Food is not currently available at this time. We have four rooms available, one which is a family room sleeping up to four people, one on a camp bed. We also have two double rooms and one twin room. All our rooms are en suite with tea and coffee making facilites, fresh towels and television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing